We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend stay”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Hope
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We have transformed the Old Hall and the service you will receive. My aim is to provide a relaxed atmosphere for family and friends to eat and drink with comfortable accommodation. We offer all your favourite classic pub meals from our experienced chefs using fresh ingredients and also have a variety of specials with a twist. We also have a tea room where you can enjoy breakfasts, a quick bite for lunch or afternoon tea and coffee. You must try our famous Old Hall Hotel Derbyshire Breakfast! The tea room can be hired for a special occasion with a variety of options catering for your needs. Please do come and visit us for a meal, drink or stay in one of comfortable bed and breakfast rooms. You can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Old Hall Hotel in Hope, Peak District.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Saturday to Monday and had a lovely time. Food in the restaurant was pretty average but being a vegetarian quite limited, but my boyfriend had a very nice steak. Good value for money and some lovely Rioja wine at a very decent price. Sat round the open fire and got very tipsy. Rick the owner very nice welcoming and the rest of the staff also. They recommended a lovely Italian in hope and also organised a taxi there for us. The room was extremely comfortable, big four poster bed and a large bathroom and gorgeous shower. The tea rooms for breakfast was very nice, and also during the day for delicious coffee and cake.
The locals were very friendly. We will definately be returning here again and would highly recommend for anybody wanting a nice relaxing weekend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becd1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    69
    25
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday beer festival”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited this pub two nights running as we were camped close by, On the bank holiday weekends it has a traditional beer festival with up to 50 guest ales and ciders also BBQ and hog roast. Live bands during the day and night, great atmosphere and welcoming staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, and good atmosphere”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

A party of 4 of us visited for lunch on 14th May. It was our first visit, and we really enjoyed it here. The menu choice was good, and good value too. One of us had the fish and chips, another pie, and two of us burgers. We all thought the food was great, and the homemade chips a bonus. Too many pubs offer low rate frozen chips which spoil your meal. The cask beer sampled was very good. We found the staff to be very friendly. We will definately be visiting again for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torremendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Large portions, average food, try Castleton instead”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Called in here prior to a big walk up to Mam Tor.
Service was ok but far from friendly. The food came quickly and was very large portions but the quality was disappointing. The burger was tasteless and the pie felt like a microwave meal from Tesco. I'm not one to ever really talk about chips, but if a pub can't do chips then you have a problem. Here they were soggy with fat and not crispy at all, we all left them.
We saw better looking places in Castleton nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK_BANDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst fish and chips in the world?”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We called in on the way to the railway station to have a meal and really fancied a traditional fish and chips. Unfortunately we were given probably the worst fish and chips in the world. Greasy, limp chips which may have been heated in a microwave but couldn't have seen a chip fryer in days. The fish wasn't much better and the mushy peas were cold!

How could any self respecting chef or pub allow such poor food to be offered? We wouldn't recommend it based on our poor meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hall Hotel also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Hope, Hope Valley
Hope Valley, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing