We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Fallow Deer - CLOSED

Fallow Deer
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is in a convenient position and a lovely setting. We had a friendly greeting on arrival and the food was good and fairly well priced. Our waitress, Charlotte, was very attentive and looked after our children really well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drewbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    71
    60
    77
    134
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been to this restaurant many times for food and drinks and it never disappoints. The food is always lovely and great value, it has a great range of beers and soft drinks and most of all the staff are friendly and happy to help. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and will be going back again myself soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop
2 reviews
“Poor Value”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Don`t go here.
8 of us have just come back from having a meal and I just don`t know where to start listing everything that was wrong with our visit. there were 2 drivers in our group so they were on soft drinks. When theses finally came they were flat. a 2nd lot were brought and these were flat so they had to go onto bottled soft drinks. The food took over an hour to arrive and was very poor quality. The sweets were awful. The bill was incorrect. We found we were being charged for things we didn`t have
I have also just noticed we have been charged for two child meals when "Kids Eat Free" We missed that one
All in all I think we are being generous in giving it 2 out of 5

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frostie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dreadful.....”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Just had the worst meal ever! Don't go! The girl behind the bar was their best asset and she tried her best but we had 3 attempts to get a fizzy pepsi, lemonade and soda water and then gave up. The girl serving the food needed to smile more and move glasses from the table, especially after we had filled the tray for her. The risotto can only be described as boil in the bag rice with a few hard frozen peas thrown in and lashings of lemon juice to mask it all. The scampi were like rocks, the pizza was disgraceful and the custard tart was inedible. Definitely a "once only" visit. Don't waste your money. Go to the Beehive at Combs instead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family pub- I don't think so!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just got back home from the Fallow Deer, I suggested that all of our family meet here for an afternoon get together for a drink as there is a decent sized play area for the grandchildren. It started to rain, so we all went into the pub where we were informed that as we were not eating, there was nowhere for us to sit. Yet the pub was half empty, they did however, offer us a very small area which consisted of two small tables with bar chairs. Under health and safety, we could not let the kids sit in them as they were far too high. The kids ages ranged from 10 to newborn. We therefore had to leave in total disgust. We will not be returning! This is not a family oriented pub.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michelmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fallow Deer also viewed

Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing