We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuteness overload!”

Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chestnut Centre is an escape from the bustle of life, in a secluded natural valley in the Peak National Park. The centre is home to 4 species of otters including the rare Giant Otter, 15 species of owl, tame fallow deer in the deer herd, foxes, pine marten and the elusive, endangered Scottish Wildcat etc. Truly a ‘Hidden Gem in a Hidden Valley”.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cuteness overload!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was my second visit here and I took my friend for her 40th Birthday as she is a massive otter fan/stalker!! I sponsored Chablis as a birthday present for her and the keepers were great informing us about his progress and pointing out which enclosure he was in etc.
The location is fantastic and the walk down to the otters is spectacular with scenery all around. Nature at it's best, deers posing for photo's too!!
The otters are very amusing in their ways, their body clocks set to feeding times is a sight and sound not to be missed. The only improvement I could suggest is that all the enclosures have glass fronts like the giant otter enclosure. This would make the enjoyment of the experience go from fantastic to outstanding.
I will definitely be visiting again and again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazzlebooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    153
    35
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful and memorable ”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This place is just great, the staff are amazing and really helpful. We got to feed the deer which was truly magical. The otters are just beautiful. The owls are so cute and majestic. We had jacket potatoes for lunch which were fresh and tasty and so were the scones. I am so happy we visited here as it really was a once in a lifetime place to go and see!! Thank you so much for an experience we won't ever forget!

Helpful?
3 Thank The1bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lovely place to visit nestled in a valley. Stunning scenery and lovely exhibits using the river and valley to great effect. Little confusion over feeding times and keeper talks but it was a very quite day (a Monday during term time) and it was poring with rain.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ADonny1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Distress”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The centre is in a beautiful spot and the enclosures for the otters are attractive! After watching the beautiful Asian Short Claw otters for what must have been 2 hours I became distressed at their distress! They screamed and cried hanging on the fence and calling they repeated this over and over again! They had OCD tendencies walking the same path over and over, nipping each other in frustration! They were obviously hungry and I felt sad that these beautiful creatures had no enrichment in life and were just there for human entertainment to "perform" at feeding times like a circus captive! Moving on to see the rest of the otters, they were in much the same state! After another hour we went back to the Asian Short Claw they were still hanging on the fence and calling! What a sad existence they have if the only thing they live for is feeding times!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
This review does not make any sense at all.
It has either been posted incorrectly or there is something more sinister occurring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A FANTASTIC DAY OUT”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We went to Chestnut Park as a family and the park is fantastic and I would recommend to everyone. my 6 year old is planning his next visit and hasn't stopped talking about it. He has taken photos into school and has written about it for school. I have been telling everyone about this place and how it is well worth the visit. Thank You Chestnut and see you again soon

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sherian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Owner at Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
So very pleased your 6 year old enjoyed himself on your recent visit. Who knows where it may lead him in the future?

Thanks for the lovely, warm review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park also viewed

 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing