We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Chestnut Centre is an escape from the bustle of life, in a secluded natural valley in the Peak National Park. The centre is home to 4 species of otters including the rare Giant Otter, 15 species of owl, tame fallow deer in the deer herd, foxes, pine marten and the elusive, endangered Scottish Wildcat etc. Truly a ‘Hidden Gem in a Hidden Valley”.
Longhorsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Brilliant afternoon spent here, Lovely walks around the sanctuary where you get to see the otters, owls, polecats, deer and other wildlife herre. We were lucky to be there at the time of feeding of the giant otters. This sanctuary is in a very picturesque part of Derbyshire - one of the best santuarys we have visited. Good value for money (@ £7.50ish per adult) - and for those with children its very informative with information on the animals and surrounding plants etc. This isn't very well signposted - and there is a small carpark so would suggest you know where you are going before you set off and I am guessing this does get very busy in the summer (we went on a damp April afternoon so not busy at all). There is a restaurant, toilets and small shop there too. Would go back again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank clf2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    157
    37
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kids Loved It”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went last Sunday, smallish car park already full at lunch time. Nicely laid out paths with a good range of owls, otters and deer, which came down off the field ant the kids loved stroking them.The centre is in a very picturesque location with nice walks out from the centre. The centre is very hilly and uneven in places so if you have mobility problems probably worth giving it a miss.

My one gripe its not very friendly for photographers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a few hours here with friends and their children, feeling very close to the wildlife and their habitat, Nice walking around in a lovely area.

Helpful?
Thank AMRGlossop_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“An interesting day out”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited on a chilly (but sunny) Saturday at the beginning of March and although the car park was fairly empty when we arrived, it was very full when we left at around 2.30. If you visit in the summer, especially during school holidays, make sure you get there early!

Look out for Barnie in the visitor centre behind the paydesk. At first glance he looks like a toy owl sitting there on his perch - until he turns his head around to look at you!

There are lots of lovely woodland walkways and plenty of informative signage about each of the birds and animals. I loved the otters, but thought that the polecats were even cuter, scurrying around from one cage to the other. My 7-year old grandson's favourite was the Northern White-Faced Owl, which had an amazing trick of being able to transform into a long-eared version of Count Dracula!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Exellent!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon and although it was busy, the park was more than big enough to be able to see everything. Beautiful views and animals, the otters are amazing. Great value for money, its lovely to see the animals have so much space and are clearly well looked after! Would recommend for family days out, will definitely be going again soon!

Helpful?
Thank Shauna87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to Chestnut Centre Otter, Owl and Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing