We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again... another superb meal and service!”

The Hanging Gate Pub and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yet again... another superb meal and service!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is not my first review of this place. I have eaten here many, many times. The place is that good, I feel that I have to review it again. Each time I go, I almost doubt myself that the food live's up to the standard I am used to here. Do you know what? It passes all my expectations everytime!!! This Pub is super and ideal for any age from Baby's to the elderly. You will never, ever leave this place unhappy - ever! Well done to all who work there making this place one of the best - Thank you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missesdreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    77
    37
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caden, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

After a good walk with the dogs and friends we called here for lunch, it was good pub grub and better than most pubs I have visited on my travels this trip.
Service was good the food hot and tasty ideal after a good walk in the cold February air. Two courses for less than £10 good value aswell.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deeb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great value for money!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We use this restaurant regularly and are always impresed by the good service and great food. People come from miles around to see the Christmas decorations and those for Halloween are amazing too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten Free Friendly!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great service from Mark the owner. He responded promptly to an email enquiring about whether they are able to cater for coeliacs and took the time to come out and speak to me personally on the night of our visit to assist with menu choices.

Overall a great family meal enjoyed by all, will definitely visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“mmmmmmmmmmmmm”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Noisy and food is cold. The girls never smile and you have to wait a while for your food and then it is not welpresented

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank janet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanging Gate Pub and Restaurant also viewed

 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Hanging Gate Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing