We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house, wonderful location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Belmont House

Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Front of House
Back garden
Patio 1
Grindslow Knoll in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Edale, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caitgo
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic house, wonderful location”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Belmont House is the perfect place to stay if you want to explore the Peak District and come back to a warm, comfortable, homely setting. We were a group of 16, and there was more than enough room for everyone. We had the log burners on, ate dinner together around the beautiful oak table, and generally had one of the best weekends of our lives.

Morgan, the owner, is great too. Really responsive and accommodating.

And as for the location: it couldn't be better. The house is in easy walking distance of two great pubs. And at the foot of some splendid walks.

Couldn't recommend the house more!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen W
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class house!”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just back from a wonderful stay at Belmont House, Edale, with family and friends. The house is spacious and well appointed with all amenities. Rooms are large and airy. The house has ample space for all ages, a great bookcase and DVD collection, rooms to relax in, spacious bedrooms and family spaces.. Edale is well positioned for walking and there are 2 great pubs, we especially enjoyed The Ramblers Inn. Great location for venturing future afield such as Buxton and Bakewell. Morgan provides lots of invaluable local information and is on hand in the event of any problems or issues, although our stay was problem free! We would not hestitate for recommend Belmont House.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Dear Eileen, thank you so much for the lovely review. I only wish I could have sorted out the weather for you... no risk of sun-stroke this August at least!!
Thanks again
Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D6195LPel...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed at Belmont House in Edale as it was a friends get together (12 of us) Absolutely beautiful, house is so welcoming and homely. Gorgeous views and walks, also it's easy to get to other places u want to visit. Morgan who owns the house is a very easy person to deal with and should u need anything (which we didn't) he is a stones throw away. I highly recommend this property to everyone. Fantastic

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangejone...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MAGICAL REMOTE BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE WITH A VIEW”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at belmont house for a girls weekend away (with 15 of us in total)
The cottage itself was Beautiful, extremely clean, beautiful decor, everything you'd need provided, all in all a very homely feel to the cottage. All the girls in the group commented on how beautiful the house was, and not to mention where the house sat, beautiful Edale, which can only be described as magical. Beautiful walk and scenery. The cottage overlooks the hills and wow what a view to wake up to.
Morgan who I organised the stay with was extremely helpful, what a genuine, caring man, who really showed an interest in ensuring you had the most comfortable of stays.
Would love to come back sometime to stay. HIGHLY RECCOMMEND!

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luchyswan...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A jewel in the High Peak”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very well equipped, tastefully decorated 6 bedroom home. Belmont House, in the heart of Edale, is the best place in the Peak District to get together for large parties. The bedrooms with their en-suite bathrooms, very comfortable beds and good quality, crisp beds and fluffy towels are a joy to come home to. The living room and kitchen have great woodburning stoves and Morgan, the landlord provides unlimited wood to keep them stoked up.

The fully equipped kitchen, with everyday and 'best' crockery for more than 20 people is perfect for big dinners and full Englishs.

A wonderful place to make wonderful memories.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolene13
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic New Year getaway”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Belmont house was great, high quality accommodation for our group of 4 families. The house is spacious and very well equipped with everything you could need and more. Location is perfect for great walks on the doorstep and easy access to days out. Would definitely stay at Belmont again. Morgan has done a great job of providing a home away from home.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Many thanks for a lovely review. Really glad you had a good New Year stay, no snow this time round but white hills in Edale today. Hope to see you all again sometime. Cheers Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete A
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend for a University pals meet up”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

10 of us descended on Belmont House in Edale for a weekend in November. The house was perfectly presented and contained all we needed to cater, sleep and relax for the weekend. The fireplaces in lounge and extended kitchen were most welcome and formed a focal point for a cosy get together.
The area had attractions for all - hiking for the energetic, attractive local towns to peruse plus plenty of caverns to explore. The weekend we were there was Bonfire Night and it was described by one of us as 'best fireworks display ever'.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and it would be the perfect UK-central location for another meet up.
The lasagne/pies produced by the local farmers daughter and organised by Morgan were also well worth having!

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2016
Many thanks for the lovely review. I'm very glad that you enjoyed our village bonfire night and "best fireworks display ever" is an accolade I'll certainly pass on. Hope to see you all again sometime. Cheers Morgan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing