We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30 years out of date”
Review of Coopers Camp Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coopers Camp Site
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location for walking the area, and the campsite is your normal field location. Becareful where you pitch a tent as most of the field is on a slope. The washing facilities are very poor and 30 years old. The sinks have an open drain system running into the ground which on occasions kicked up a real bad smell. The showers are hot but are nothing more than a concrete box with a mat on the floor and there are only 5 so can get very busy if campsite full. I would strongly advise flip flops for the showers. The pricing policy is questionable, you get quoted a price per night, per person on the phone but when you get there you find you have to pay to take the car on the field and pay a £5 noise deposit !! Never heard of such things when I have gone camping in other places. The grass is left to grow so if it's wet you do end up with really wet footwear. Take wellies and waterproof walking boots.

The surrounding area however is beautiful, great pubs and great walks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Coopers Camp Site
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 108 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

I first stayed here in 1978 on a D of E trip with the school. Top 40 hits at the time were......"Rockin' all over the World by Status Quo, "No more Heroes" by The Stranglers and "Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft" by The Carpenters. Heady days indeed!
Mr Cooper used to stalk the campsite like a hawk looking for misdemeanours and miscreants and they were dealt with swiftly, usually through the poor teacher in charge.....who probably had better things to do in his spare weekends than spend a wet weekend in the Peak District being bawled at by a Derbyshire sheep farmer.
Anyway, talk about going-back-in-time?? It was just the same.....but this time (with 8 year old son), absolutely great fun. Better than ever. The lovely Mrs Cooper welcomed me back after all these years and warned me about BBQ heights, ball games, where not to park the car, etc, etc.....and sure enough just before dusk Mr Cooper was up the field to check. Luckily all-was-well and I got a nod and a "How do?" which is not bad going, let me tell you. OK, so the wash block, outside cleaning facilities and bogs had not changed since 1978, but were still in tip-top order and the water was hot, which is more than we got in 1978. The entire site also has arguably the best location of them all. I like this place and was chuffed to bits that Mr and Mrs Cooper are still going strong.......and there's a smart Cafe there too now!
And the best bit.....everyone there (evening of the 25th May 2014) looked as if they were having a lovely time.

Room Tip: Don't break any of the rules - he'll catch you!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TStanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I should know better than to read reviews before I go somewhere. As we all know there is no pleasing some people! This is a working farm that allows people to stay and pitch their tents. Shame the vehicles were not allowed near the tents but absolutely understand why. Just walking over the sodden grass made it become very muddy. Stayed here for 2 nights in a tent on my own with a dog. Walked up Grindsbrook on the Saturday (in the rain) and had a lovely hot (20p) shower on my return. Yes the facilities are basic but I've been to far worse. In fact I had to stand under the lovely hot shower and wait for it to turn off! 5 mins is more than adequate. Always toilet roll in the loo's which is unusual. Lots of noise on site on Friday night, sounded a bit like a construction site with lorries reversing, not sure what that was. Lots of DofE groups use the site and were no problem with most in bed by 10.30pm. I didn't like the fact that a couple arrived on site and pitched behind my tent at 11pm, taking well over an hour to pitch including running the car airbed pump for about 20mins and with the full beam on the car to see their way. "Trevor, is that airbed up yet" I thought this was a little inconsiderate of them really!

Would definitely stay here again without any hesitation due to location and great pub opposite.

Room Tip: As others have said, make sure you sleep with your head at the top of the hill :-)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scuby_Dooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night this weekend to do 2 full days of walking. We just wanted a basic campsite, literally somewhere to throw the tent down, have a quick wash up after we'd finished walking and be able to take the dog so this ticked all the boxes for us. If we had come for a week I may be would have stayed at one with more modern facilities as the toilets/shower block could be a little more welcoming but for a weekends walking...perfect!
Farmer and his wife seemed perfectly friendly as well - I've seen a couple of reviews saying he's not the most accomodating but we found him to be pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Phillippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Leicester, United Kingdom
1110
Reviewed January 25, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Weve been to this campsite many many times, its just lovely. We have just returned from a 2 week holiday over the xmas and new year period, we stayed in our touring caravan in all the recent stormy weather and just thoroughly enjoyed it.

The scenery is outstanding, with plenty of walks to be had. There are 2 local pubs, good food, good ales, very friendly staff and your dog can go along for a few pints with you too.

The site is very clean and tidy, the shower and toilet blocks are clean and functional "why people moan about the showers not being up to date is beyond me"! you don't spend your holiday in the blocks and it is a farm afterall.

The farmer Mr Cooper is really a very nice and helpful fellow, if he has come across grumpy to you, then you have probably moaned about the site way too often (some people just go away to complain). Mr Cooper takes pride in his campsite, he's not strict he just wants to keep it nice.

We cannot wait to go back. We love this place. there is another campsite in the village, but its not half as good and your dog is not allowed on that site, silly really as dogs are familly members afterall and that other site isn't even a farm!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The campsite was nice, good pitches and basic but clean and working facilities. The location is great for anyone who wants to explore Hope Valley. There's a good walk over Kinder to Blue John's Mines which I thoroughly recommend. Overall a basic but lovely campsite.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lemonade321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edale
2.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#7 of 39 in Buxton
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonecroft Country Guest House
2.1 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopers Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Camp Site

Address: Newfold Farm Grindsbrook Booth, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Edale
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Coopers Camp Site Hotel Edale
Coopers Camp Site Edale, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing