We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough walking in Derbyshire”
Review of Coopers Camp Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coopers Camp Site
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tough walking in Derbyshire”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wanting some serious walks in Derbyshire I chose Kinder Scout as the place to go. I chose Coopers campsite for the best location because you can walk out of the campsite and be on your way up to Grindslow Knoll within minutes. The walks speak for themselves.
The campsite is quite average and with all the usual amenities including electrical hook-up if it is required. I have visited this site before camping in a tent, but this last couple of nights (7th & 8th March 2013) I visited in my camper van. On first impressions Mr Cooper appears stern and unfriendly but when you get to know him a little he is quite friendly and will go out of his way to be helpful. I found the campsite to be satisfactory and with a cafe where you can have breakfast. The 2 local pubs are brilliant with the Nags Head (with access to the Cloud) just a minute or two from the campsite and The Rambler about 10 mins with free wi fi. Both pubs have a good selection of Real Ale and good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
30
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been going there for over 20 years and shall return for the next 50 if possible :o) its a campsite NOT A TEN STAR HOTEL...
safe secure and beautiful area !
Thankyou to the coopers for allowing us all to share their home :o)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 717marieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been to Coopers a few times now and love it there. Sure the owners won't win any prizes for being cheerful but you really only have to speak to them when you check in and out! The surroundings more than make up for a bit of grumpiness. The pub opposite the site entrance serves great real ale and the food is ok. Your best bet is to buy steaks from the farm shop in Hope and bbq. Best steaks ever. Fantastic location for walking or climbing. Toilets and showers are basic but clean enough and loads of sinks for doing dishes. The on site cafe is also really good. Will go back again and again for a great weekend's camping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TialisHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a very basic campsite run by a farming family, but it doesn't pretend to be anything else.
Overall we enjoyed our time in a tent there and we would go back.
As mentioned the ground is on a slight slope but that was no problem, generally free to pitch where you want. They open up extra fields when busy but seem not to let it get overfull (which is good).
As a basic site there are no soap dispensers in the toilet block, also on our busy weekend there was no loo roll at 8:30am (but was replenished by 9).
Generally a families and walkers site.
Cafe and shop near entrance, Nags Head pub across road and Ramblers Inn 400m towards train station.
Lots of nice countryside surrounding and great views from the site, a great area for walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBNorthWest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just stayed at Coopers for a bank holiday weekend (3 nights). We picked it as it was the only one allowing late arrivals and we had a 4 hour drive from London after a work day Friday. The site is actually comprised of four separate fields. On arrival we payed for the whole stay plus £5 deposit "for good behaviour", which was refunded when we left. We were told to drive through the first field and pitch anywhere we liked in either the second or the third one. Note that all fields are on slopes and finding a level area is a problem.

The most important thing to note is that there is no mobile reception anywhere on site or even in the pub near the site. We were meeting another couple at the site - and at 10:30 pm under the rain, on a large site, without mobiles was rather painful. Apparently, there's no reception on ANY of the UK networks (we tried 3, orange, t-mobile, o2 and voda).

Once we found each other and pitched up, the rest was pretty much what we expected. Open fires are not allowed on the site. BBQ is allowed by only with charcoals and only raised at least a foot of the ground. We were advised to keep the noise of the minimum after 10 pm, but we never had problems with the noise and neighbours didn't complain either.

We didn't get any nagging from the owners, as some other reviews mention. The owner came once on the morning after our arrival to check the ticket. In three days we were there we haven't had any problems.

The major letdown is the facilities. They are very basic and probably haven't been updated in 20 years or so. Toilets are rather old but still sturdy. There are only 4 stalls in the men's toilet and I don't expect many more than that in the women's one. Toilet paper was almost non-existent, so always carry a roll with you. For a 20p coin you get about 5 minutes of hot shower, but in the shower cabins there is no room to hang your clothes or the towel - best is over the door and even there it gets a bit wet. Sinks for washing up are decent size, but the taps are a major letdown. They are of the push-button type. Separate hot and hold taps, each of them only provides water while you are pushing it down. As soon as you release the push-button, the water flow stops. There is no way to properly wash your hands. The sinks for washing pots and pans are the same. There's no special "drinking water" tap, but there's some tap just in the middle of the first field. We boiled that water and it was drinkable after that.

We didn't use the cafe at the entrance or the pubs around, as when on site we cooked and when out, we were too far out.

Overall, this is a nice basic camp site. If the facilities are improved it could easily become a 5-star affair rather than a 3-star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aleksandr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

On arrival we was met with a grumpy old man, which was obviously sent out by the dragon at reception. The site is in a great location, close to a couple of nice counytry pubs and and the tip of Kinder Scout and Mam Tor. The toilets and shores are ok, better than some. The fields are on a slope so make sure you have ramps if your in a campervan. There is a nice cafe which is at he entrance to the site which is excellent and ran by happy and pleasant people, who are not related to the Dragon. The dragon did come out at around 10pm doing her checks like a prison guard, which got our backs up as she was very ignorant. A good site and decent weekend, but the dragon and hubby took the shine off it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spiteri-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Didn't even get so far as booking as a brief conversation over the phone with owner was enough to keep me away. What a rude, arrogant man, unfriendly man. What a shame he owns a site in such a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Stay away, just don't bother.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandiebarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edale
8.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
2.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
287 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Buxton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopers Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Camp Site

Property: Coopers Camp Site
Address: Newfold Farm Grindsbrook Booth, Edale, Peak District National Park S33 7ZD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Edale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Edale
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Coopers Camp Site Hotel Edale
Coopers Camp Site Edale, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing