We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Overall we were quite disappointed and our 6 night stay was not at all what we expected from a 5 star resort. We do not recommend this resort and encourage you to look elsewhere.

First there are some positives, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the view from our room was Stunning (careful there weren't too many rooms with our view), the extra service by the pool was excellent (cold towels, ice cream etc), the spa was good and the advice on where to eat/see was perfect.
Second, however is why we would not return or recommend, our bed was two twins poorly made into a double and quite uncomfortable, our room was far from sound proof or private (we could hear people talking in adjacent rooms and hallway and people walking around in room above), the restaurant and bars were very disappointing and the grounds of the resort had not been prepared for the season (lots of empty flowers beds and weeds). Unfortunately this resort is not worth the time or cost.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Critique-ByCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos-Grand-GM, General Manager at Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Critique-ByCharlie
We thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort
We are pleased to read that you have found our hotel staff incredible friendly and helpful. We always try to meet our guests ‘expectations and your comment is a real reward for all of us. We are also pleased to read that you found the view from your room stunning. Many guests comment on the glorious sunsets behind the sacred island of Delos which is visible from almost every angle of our resort.
We were glad to hear that you have enjoyed our pool service with all the free amenities we offer to sunbathers for relief from the hot sun rays, the treatments at our Althea Spa center and all advice given by our guest relations team concerning dining options. Please note that our guest relation team has detailed info on most Mykonos restaurants and their recommendations are based on their own experience and not just references.
However, we have taken to heart your comment regarding the bed situation and the poor preparation of it. It is most disappointing that you had 2 twin beds prepared as a double bed and I wish to apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have also sent our maintenance team to inspect the insulation of your accommodation, especially the door and windows and we found out that they were not properly insulated as per our architects specifications during the renovation of this specific wing that took place during last winter. Action has been immediately taken.
As for our restaurants quality, it is difficult to follow up on generic statements. More precise information on where you felt that our restaurants were not satisfactory would be helpful to assist us on improvements according to your opinion.
Finally, the stronger-than-normal winds that were blowing during certain days in May had delayed the gardening of certain areas of the resort which is now completed.
We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to show you that your comments have not been expressed in vain and enable you to change your opinion about the standard of our resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    116
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
165
764
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Room 127, premium seaview. OK decor, very small balcony and no privacy. Could hear noise from other rooms, walls thin and music from hippie fish bar kept us awake. Air con good.

Internet slow and intermittent.

Pool unheated so unusable. Could never sit around pool as people are allowed to reserve sunloungers for hours without sitting on them. On the beach, easier to get a lounger. One day 3 loungers were reserved for 6 hours until beach attendant took towels away. Beach is stoney and gritty,difficult to get into the sea so not good for young children.

Breakfast mediocre. Long wait for eggs and even longer to wait for coffee. Made the mistake of booking half board. Menu very limited , just 2 choices and then they ran out of a main course one day. Had lunch at pool bar instead, not much better so make sure you eat in town.

Shuttle bus to town only runs in evening and every hour.

Overall, not a 5 Star hotel.not

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kld771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos-Grand-GM, General Manager at Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ms. Kld 771
Thank you for your recent review however we were concerned to read your remarks regarding your recent experience at our resort. All of us had hoped to be able to create a wonderful experience for you during your stay and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us.
At Mykonos Grand we offer many room categories from standard rooms to luxurious suites suiting various budgets. The outdoor area of each accommodation (balcony/terrace) is not connected to the room type, but to the local architecture, on which we are obliged to follow. If guests find our balconies small (2.20X4.50m) we are glad to propose another room with a terrace instead as soon as we are informed and especially this time of year that the resort is not running on its maximum capacity.
Concerning our complimentary internet service we are in the process of upgrading the service and the internet speed should increase soon, as we see most our guests carry 2 wifi devices.
Referring to your comments about the sunchairs reservation, we do allow our guests to reserve their preferred sunchairs till 11:15. After that time, all unattended items are removed by our pool and beach service team.
We were sorry to hear that you found our Champagne American buffet breakfast mediocre, especially as this year we have enriched it with more hot and cold dishes and we emphasize on locally sourced products. Concerning the eggs, we do provide daily an egg dish at the buffet in addition to the egg station with our chef Eva to prepare your eggs on the spot according to your preferences. Even a dedicated waiter is assigned to deliver the egg orders so our guests do not need to wait while their preferred eggs are being prepared. We have also passed your comments about the slow coffee service to our F&B manager to review timings.
Concerning the meal supplement (half board) when promoting this service we clarify that this is a 4-course dinner with 2 choices per course which you were not informed by your travel agent as you explained to us. Since this menu is different every day, our executive chef plans and orders on a daily basis the menu ingredients to ensure their freshness and high quality. Numerous times hotel guests order the half board of the day on the spot due to its quality and value. Apart from the fixed menu, our wait staff is trained to offer options in case one of the courses is not available any more, just as it happened with you and your were given other choices which was not mentioned in your review. Another option we offer to our guests is to order from our a la carte menu and offer an allowance.
Finally your comment about the Hippie Fish noise, kindly note that this is not a bar, but a local tavern that belongs to a very hospitable Mykonian family. It is the same place where Shirley Valentine was filmed. Indeed on Hippie Fish tavern there was an event to celebrate the Christening of a local family and that night was the exception and not the rule.
We sincerely hope to have another opportunity to show you that your comments have not been expressed for nothing and to enable you to change your opinion about the standard of our resort.
We would therefore be honored to welcome you again among our valued guests, should you consider to give us the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week to attend a wedding.
Hotel was lovely and the staff so friendly.
Would love to return there in the future!
Great little restaurants off the beach for lunches.
Mykonos is an island that just grows on you by the minute!
Shirley Valentine- No wonder you stayed!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nice place. Excellent & secluded from Chora. Quiet. "Decent" Breakfast. Dining with Sea view. Actually quite nice ......................................................................................!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeInDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel driver picked us up from the ferry station and we traveled up winding roads to the Mykonos Grand Hotel. At the reception, a staff welcomed us and took us into a VIP lounge where she oriented us to the hotel and Mykonos as we sipped champagne. We didn't expect to be offered breakfast before checking into our room, but we accepted the offer. Breakfast is a large Greek feast, with traditional dishes, eggs and a Greek coffee set up. The dining room overlooks the pool, and beyond it, the water. What a gorgeous site!
The rooms are specious and we had an outdoor jacuzzi and patio, with a partial water view. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom well appointed, with L'Occitane products. The hotel has wifi and provides an hourly shuttle into town.
Other guests were from Europe, with a sprinkling of Amercans. The staff is very friendly and responsive. The hotel is open from Spring until October.
We had a wonderful time. The only thing I would change is the numbering and direction system for locating rooms. We have finally figured out how to get to our room, the pool, etc and we leave tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lvles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have just spent three days at the Grand Hotel Mykonos. From the excellent helpful wonderful staff, our most obliging tour guide, the cheerful ever helpful receptionist, the bar tender/ waiter to the room service, wonderful view, lovely rooms, we could not fault a thing. Absolute please to stay there and can not recommend highly enough. Thank you!!!!! Patrine

Room Tip: Just ask but they all seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel, the hotel itself is very well maintained, and very clean. We spent most of the time by the pool which has a number of more secluded areas and also had a walk down to the beach though the sand was a bit course.
Though as expected most of the in-hotel drinks/food were a bit pricey they were not excessive.
If being overly critical, some of the staff may need some brushing up on their service skills but a majority were outstanding.I would definitely revisit
A few tips: €13-€15 Taxi from airport, €7-€9 Taxi from Mykonos town, a shop and great Italian are within walking distance (near the bar from Shirley Valentine), as is Ornos beach, though the walk back is up a hill.
There is an evening free shuttle bus into Mykonos town and a €1.60 bus during the rest of the time.

Room Tip: Ask for best available in your price range. Our non-sea-view room, had a slight sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank este19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
3.4 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
1.6 mi away
Boheme
Boheme
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Myconian Ambassador Relais & Chateaux Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
Nissaki Boutique Hotel
#1 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palladium Boutique Hotel
Palladium Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.5 mi away
Myconian Villa Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort

Property: Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort
Address: Ayios Yiannis, Agios Ioannis Diakoftis 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#1 Family Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#1 Spa Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mykonos Grand is a unique resort on Mykonos, on one of the island's most famous beaches Ayios Yiannis known for the glorious sunsets. The resort's Cycladic architecture of cube shaped whitewashed buildings linked by pathways and terraces is combined with classic interior ambience. The hotel offers 96 bedrooms and suites including Superior rooms and luxurious Suites with private pools. The resort's facilities include an outstanding spa, tennis and squash courts, an impressive stone-built amphitheatre for inspiring yoga sessions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mykonos Grand Hotel And Resort
Mykonos Grand Hotel Agios Ioannis
Mykonos Grand Resort
Grand Hotel Mykonos
Mykonos Grand Hotel & Resort Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing