We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definetely good, but overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lagos Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lagos Mare
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definetely good, but overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 1 week this August. The hotel is definetely good, but I think it does not deserve 225 EUR/night. Generally, it is one of the best hotels you can find in Naxos island, but with this price you must be able to compare it with a Hilton or Sheraton standard hotel. In my humble opinion, the hotel does not have this standard. In the pros, I would say that the staff is very helpful and polite and they will do their best to support you in any possible way. The rooms are spacious and clean. Satellite TV is also there and you can enjoy a variety of english, german and french channels. The hotel also offers various services after demand (such as massage, spa, fitness center, hair stylist etc) as well as an excellent restaurant. I dined there and my experience was very positive. Last but not least, the hotel has excellent surroundings (beautiful swimming pools, nice and well-cared garden etc).
On the negative side, the breakfast (although good) could have been better (no fresh orange juice for example and relatively limited variety). The greek channels were not working properly in the TV (the received signal's quality was really bad). Moreover, the furniture in the room is decent, but not what you would expect from a room of this price.
If money is not a problem, you should definetely stay there. You will enjoy one of the best accomodations in Naxos.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntsaousis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    86
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
69
175
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had great service and rooms were kept very well. The only areas for improvement are that breakfast should be different each day or have a larger variety. Also the house keeping service needs to be more decreat as they were an interference with getting ready for the day and waking up. Had a great stay and enjoyed the pool area. Connie and Kaz.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazim_Reza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our family thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at the Lagos Mare in Naxos. From the time we were picked up at the port to the time we were transported back, every person with whom we came into contact demonstrated a wonderful attitude of respect, service, and kindness. They easily helped us to overcome the language barrier and made sure that we felt welcomed. Upon our arrival, the women in our group were even presented a rose. The hotel is very close to the gorgeous Naxox beaches either by foot or bus. Also, our rooms and the physical property of Lagos Mare were beautiful with exceptional pool areas. The food was excellent, and we felt so well cared for by the restaurant staff. The management staff was also very professional, gracious, fully engaging, and extremely helpful throughout our stay. Our entire family would love to have the opportunity to return to this wonderful vacation paradise!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirate2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

When we arrived at Lagos Mare, we were pretty tired after an early ferry from Mykonos. Unfortunately our room was not ready, didn't expect it to be as we arrived in the morning and so they offered us breakfast and promised us a wait of no more than an hour.
They had a lovely breakfast buffet and as my 14 year old son is always hungry, it was welcomed. Within the hour we were escorted to a lovely large room. That afternoon our son slept (jet lag had finally caught up) and my husband and I enjoyed solitude at the pool. No other guests around. It was wonderful.
That night we dined at their restaurant. An extraordinary menu and delicious food beautifully plated. I wish I could have ordered one of everything as the focus was on local produce.
The manager assisted in faciliating a private tour with a photographer. I'll write a review of this tour separately as I highly recommend it.
We took the local bus (stop right outside the hotel) to Naxos Town and climbed up to the Castle. The town is quite a busy place at night, especially during the World Cup!
I wish I had another day or two to explore this island. The food here is fabulous. The scenery beautiful and Lagos Mare outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We travelled with our 2 children 9 and 12. We loved that the hotel was close to the beach but not on the beach (that made it a little quieter). The 2 pools were great; when we weren't swimming in the ocean we used the pools. The staff was second to none. The hotel is small enough that all the staff know who you are and cater to you. The restaurant was great - we had 2 dinners there. The breakfast was a buffet by the pool - great food. The rooms were spotless and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hotel is modern, the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, and our room had a great modern bathroom and was spotless (we stayed in the executive suite). An unexpected surprise for the foodies: they try to source all their restaurant ingredients locally and have had a celebrity Greek chef consult on their menu. If you know what you are doing when making your choices, their breakfast buffet is very good. We also had good luck with the appetizers for one dinner, but less luck with the mains (but we were ordering the food at an odd time, so that may be an unfair assessment). Our room also had two relatively nice balconies (one had a pool view, the other a mainly rural view). It has good access to a terrific beach (not excellent access, you have to walk 5-10 minutes, but it is good access--we enjoyed the walk).

That part of the review is easy. The more difficult part is assessing the value. The hotel is not a luxury hotel. The price we paid was a little less, but not much less, than the price we paid for a truly luxurious hotel room in Positano, Italy and in Athens. Maybe that is just the price you pay for visiting Naxos? This was our first visit, so it is hard for us to say. We did pay much more for true luxury in Santorini, so maybe good accomodation on Greek islands is expensive?

It would be much easier to recomend the hotel if it was on the beach (which would have improved the views and been more convenient) or if it cost less. If it was cheap, it would be a great "cheap and cheerful" clean hotel, but it is not really cheap.

So, I suggest you continue your research. It may be, that like us, you conclude that obtaining accomodation on Naxos involves compromises. If you want a clean, modern hotel close to a terrific beach and not too far from town, then you might have to pay the premium and stay at the Lagos Mare. Ultimately, we enjoyed it as a good "base of operations" and would certainly consider staying there again. There is no doubt that the staff try hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. As long as you are not expecting a luxury hotel, and you are OK with the price you are paying, then you will be happy. Once we got over the fact it was not a luxury hotel despite the price (and afterall, for a family of four the price was not that bad), we were happy, and enjoyed our stay. Naxos is great. Our first impression of Naxo was not that great, but once we pressed past the first tacky port street and into the real streets of Chora, or rented a car (easy to do from the front desk of the hotel) and drove into the mountains, or walked for kilometers along the beautiful beach, we realized Naxos was indeed great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toute_le_Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Very friendly staff catering to all your needs so that you can enjoy your vacation. Proximity to one of the best beaches in Europe is a big advantage. Large rooms with all the comforts available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispanatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
Nissaki Beach Hotel Naxos
#4 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 59 in Naxos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.4 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#2 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagos Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos Mare

Property: Lagos Mare
Address: Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#13 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagos Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience absolute comfort and undiminished personal care in the chic ambiance of Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos.Discover the elegance of the Lagos Mare 4-star hotel in Naxos and experience an unparalleled stay with the special attention you deserve in a truly splendid environment designed to cater to our eclectic guests' particular needs.Lagos Mare is a luxury Naxos hotel situated in Agios Prokopios, ideally close to one of Europe's most wonderful beaches with soft sand and crystal clear water. Created to reflect Cycladic finesse with its clear lines and smooth curves, this Naxos hotel manages to fulfil your holiday dreams in its supreme setting. The Lagos Mare Naxos Hotel luxury rooms and suites only succeed in providing you with upscale Naxos accommodation and an unsurpassed level of comfort in their delightful spaces decorated with fine furnishings making it one of the finest Naxos hotels. Even more, the gracious, ever attentive staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home.In Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos Greece every spot gives you a chance for unwinding and rejuvenation. The beautiful swimming pools, the pool bar and the well-cared garden, as well as the exquisite "1924" restaurant and the beauty and wellness spa centre, make our hotel one of the most bewitching luxury Naxos hotels, where you will enjoy life's refined pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagos Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Hotel Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing