We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Greek hotel with a friendly homely feel”
Review of Lagos Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lagos Mare
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Once you get over the 'shock' of the difference between the atmosphere suggested on the website and the hotel, you will be able to enjoy this hotel. It's homely, warm and friendly. Good, relaxing atmosphere. The food is excellent and for a very good price. This really makes this a good hotel. The room we had we clean and with a typical hotel decor. Nothing special. The shower was very basic, but worked. The staff all were very helpful, warm and really friendly. All in all a good experience!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goalgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 351 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

This place is one of the more luxurious places in Naxos, but completely worth it I think. We booked a standard room, but were upgraded to a suite - I suspect because it was a quiet time of year. The room was amazingly comfortable and the staff were very friendly. They even allowed a 4pm checkout which allowed us an extra day at the beach. It's a bit of a walk to Prokopios beach, but we rented a scooter so it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lanesend332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We celebrated out 30th wedding anniversary on the Island of Naxos. This island is truly magical, one of the hidden gems of the Cyclades. We stayed at the Lagos Mare for six nights and had a fabulous time. From the moment we walked into the lobby and was greeted by Nancy and the General Manager to the end of our stay six days later we could not have asked for anything more. The wait staffs provided excellent service especially our favorite Elena, always with a smile and the response, after serving us, what else can I provide for you. Great Service! Our room was superb (two balconies one with a very large hot tub). The housing keeping staff was very efficient in cleaning our room and changing our linens/towels twice daily. The hotel served us a private anniversary celebration dinner on the hotel patio: the chef created a wonderful meal (our best meal on the island) and Elena stayed until 10:30 pm making sure everything was perfect. Tippi (a member of the staff) helped arranged, coordinate and interpreted the blessing of our marriage at the Greek Orthodox Cathedral in Hora. We were sad to leave the Lagos Mare but we needed to move to our next adventure on Santorini. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Naxos is definitely the island to bring your family to. The hotel had a play ground for the kids and a kids pool. The view could have been better . Our view was of another hotel, Nancy, who welcomed us was very helpful and showed us on a map the places to visit on the island. There is a nice beach 5 minutes down the road with restaurants that will serve you under an umbrella. The bus right outside the hotel. For 1.60E it brought you right to Naxos town which was only a ten minute ride. Great sunsets from the restaurants along the water in town. If you rent a car to explore the island, make sure you have a full tank of gas. Gas stations are few and far between.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmc2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel is new & beautiful, located only 300 meters from the gorgeous beach of Agios Prokopios. Our room was very nice with plenty of space. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the early evening. The staff was wonderful! They accommodated our every request. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert32341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June.

We arranged a transfer from the ferry port to the hotel, and the driver was waiting for us with a smile and a friendly welcome. The greeting when we arrived was fabulous - very friendly, warm, helpful and it even included a freebie taster of the local firebrew, whose name escapes me right now but it was a livid green colour and pretty strong !

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We paid for a front sea view room, and there was a small balcony too, just big enough for 2 people true but it did have a sea view in the distance !

Breakfast was a good selection, and the freshly prepared orange juice was worth getting up for every morning.

The pool was nice to sit and laze around, the pool bar staff friendly - in fact, all the staff were friendly.

Locationwise, just a short stroll got you down to the beach, and there was a good array of beach bars and restaurants to choose from, which meant you didn't have to eat at the same place twice (although we did because we found a place we loved - Mojito Food and Bar serving awesome mojitos and mexican food!).

I really loved it here, and was actually sorry that we only had 3 nights, and not 4.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I was taking a few days break in the middle of a month long hectic business trip and this was the ideal place.

About 15 minutes walk to my favorite beach bar and a bus right outside to go to town 8 euro if you decide to take a taxi. However the food at the hotel was excellent and I ate their more than I would normally have. The staff were very helpful and the massage therapist they organised for me was very good. Over all very enjoyable I felt very looked after particularly as a women traveling alone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#4 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iria Beach Art Hotel
Iria Beach Art Hotel
#18 of 123 in Naxos
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Naxos Island Hotel
Naxos Island Hotel
#11 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kouros Art Hotel
Kouros Art Hotel
#8 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagos Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagos Mare

Address: Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#13 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range: $111 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagos Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience absolute comfort and undiminished personal care in the chic ambiance of Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos.Discover the elegance of the Lagos Mare 4-star hotel in Naxos and experience an unparalleled stay with the special attention you deserve in a truly splendid environment designed to cater to our eclectic guests' particular needs.Lagos Mare is a luxury Naxos hotel situated in Agios Prokopios, ideally close to one of Europe's most wonderful beaches with soft sand and crystal clear water. Created to reflect Cycladic finesse with its clear lines and smooth curves, this Naxos hotel manages to fulfil your holiday dreams in its supreme setting. The Lagos Mare Naxos Hotel luxury rooms and suites only succeed in providing you with upscale Naxos accommodation and an unsurpassed level of comfort in their delightful spaces decorated with fine furnishings making it one of the finest Naxos hotels. Even more, the gracious, ever attentive staff will go out of their way to make you feel at home.In Lagos Mare Hotel in Naxos Greece every spot gives you a chance for unwinding and rejuvenation. The beautiful swimming pools, the pool bar and the well-cared garden, as well as the exquisite "1924" restaurant and the beauty and wellness spa centre, make our hotel one of the most bewitching luxury Naxos hotels, where you will enjoy life's refined pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lagos Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagos Mare Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Hotel Agios Prokopios
Lagos Mare Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing