We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing spot by the beach”
Review of Hotel Katerina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Katerina
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“relaxing spot by the beach”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great location and staff; premises kept immaculately clean. They went out of their way to make us feel at home, including holding the baby so we could finish breakfast! We like that they varied the breakfast options from day to day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    70
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
159
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a very well situated hotel for the beach and local tavernas, with a level walk to both. The couple who run the hotel are a delight as is their young daughter Georgia. They were most attentive and helpful. The hotel has some amazing flowers and is well maintained. The pool is a good size and has a reasonable number of sunbeds. Breakfast was adequate. Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the pool, cleaned everyday with clean towels if you wanted them. I have two minor complaints, one the corner shower was very small and the bottom sheet on the bed was too small, I often woke up to find I had been sleeping on the bare mattress. I must say the couple we were travelling with had a different experience with a walk in shower and no problems with the bed sheet. It appears the owners are in the process of updating the rooms and we got unlucky. It certainly did not spoil our stay of 5 nights. This is a good place for families and couples, I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Based on our experience ask for a room that has been updated, if you go next year maybe you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pongopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014

we took our 6 yr old to Agios Prokopios where i have been many times in last 15 years. i chose Hotel Katerina due to its location so very close to the best beach and local taverna's and other facilities. i wish i had stayed here every visit. the pool - deep and spotless was just great and the rooms are very private within a very pretty courtyard type set up. our room was perfect and the bathroom brand new and beautifully decorated with 2 types of shower head very very modern. the staff were so very lovely - a real family business which offers friendly 5 star service and great breakfast/lunch/cocktails - really whatever you need.
no negatives and i am fussy. if you want the beauty of a greek island with comfort and service then do choose this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are great- air con is super effective and silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky-white1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Hotel Katarina was delightful mainly due to the lovely couple that run the hotel - George and Maria.

They were very warm, conversational and accommodating.

The hotel itself was very clean and well presented.

You couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay at such a great price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MAJD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent one night at Hotel Katerina in early May 2014. The room was very nice, breakfast was good, and location was great. It is one block from the beach. We were very early in the season and many of the shops/restaurants were closed. We were basically the only ones on the beach. It was a great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a brief but enjoyable 2-night stay at Hotel Katerina in late May 2013. Although we had been to Naxos three times before, this was our first time at a hotel in the main Agios Prokopios resort area. We had previously stayed in the Stelida district near Agios Prokopios beach each of our previous vacations.

I had not heard of Hotel Katerina before, and discovered it while doing online research into Agios Prokopios accommodations. I made a reservation through the booking form on the hotel's website, then contacted the hotel a few days later with some questions. (We had booked one of the website's special offers, and wanted further information about it.) George, the hotel proprietor, responded promptly to my email inquiry.

We arrived at Naxos by ferry and took a taxi from the port to the hotel (at a fare of €12) because I wasn't completely certain where Hotel Katerina was located. I felt like kicking myself when we arrived at the hotel and saw how conveniently close it is situated to the Agios Prokopios beach bus stop -- less than a three-minute walk away. It would have cost the two of us only €3.60 to take the bus instead of the taxi. That's not a huge sum of money, of course, but with the hotel being so easy to reach by bus, the cab ride had not been necessary. Maria gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived at the reception desk, and quickly completed the check-in process for us. We were inside our hotel room less than 30 minutes after stepping off the ferry.

We had booked a basic double room, and were assigned #317, located on the second floor in one of the hotel buildings toward the rear of the property. When we opened the door, we were surprised to see that our room actually had three beds, and was equipped with a kitchenette. The room was spacious, was furnished with a desk, side tables and wardrobe cabinet, and had a balcony with a partial view of the swimming pool. The bathroom was small but bright and comfortably sized, with a stand-up shower cubicle and a vanity cabinet with shelves providing plenty of space to store toiletries. (I mention this mainly because the bathrooms of many hotels we have stayed in barely provided enough space to store a toothbrush and a tube of toothpaste!). The water pressure was excellent, and there was always plenty of hot water. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.

The balcony was enclosed on the two sides and ceiling, and was equipped with a small plastic bistro table, three chairs and a clothesline. Because Hotel Katerina is situated about 60 meters inland from the beach, the rooms and balconies don't face the beach or sea and don't have any scenic views. Our balcony overlooked part of the hotel's landscaped grounds as well as the rear sides of some buildings next door, and gave us clear views of four other balconies at the hotel. We personally didn't mind that we could see people on the balcony across from ours, and be seen clearly by them, but we could appreciate how someone who enjoys their privacy would be unhappy with the balcony set-up. We found the balcony was a very pleasant place to sit and read and enjoy a glass of wine before heading out to dinner. We actually were glad that the balcony was so enclosed because it was extremely windy during our time on Naxos, but the side walls and ceiling sheltered us from the winds.

Our room was quiet and the beds were comfortable, so we slept very well both nights.

A breakfast buffet was provided each morning (included in the price of the room). It was a typical Greek island hotel breakfast with a small but satisfying selection of hot and cold items, plus coffee, tea and juice. Guests can either eat breakfast in a dining area next to the buffet tables, or dine at tables on the swimming pool terrace. We chose to eat outside every day even though it was breezy...we preferred sitting next to the pool instead of being indoors.

Because it was so windy at the beach, many of the hotel guests spent the afternoons at the swimming pool, which was fairly well-sheltered on three sides by the Hotel Katerina buildings. All the lounge chairs on the deck were occupied by sunbathers anytime we went down to the pool or passed by, but only a few people went into the water, and just for quick dips, so we practically had the pool to ourselves whenever we went swimming. We actually spent quite a bit of time in the water, which was a cool but refreshing temperature.

Although George and Maria said the hotel was not fully booked, it looked like most of the 30+ rooms were occupied. Most guests were from Europe, while at least four were from the USA. Almost all age groups were represented -- from people in their 20s to senior citizens, and a few couples with babies and young children. Some of the guests told us they had been to Hotel Katerina at least once before; several, including one of the Americans, were regular repeat visitors. Everyone we chatted with said that they enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it to others.

On our departure day, Maria made arrangements for taxis to take us and several other hotel guests to the Naxos airport to catch our flight to Athens. (Our taxi fare from the hotel to the airport was €10, by the way.) Maria also let us keep our rooms for an extra half hour past the regular 12 noon checkout time.

We give Hotel Katerina top marks for: convenient location, friendly helpful staff, exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms, and reasonable prices, and we highly recommend it to anyone seeking accommodation that meets these travel requirements.

Some other observations:

* All of the people working at Hotel Katerina were very personable and pleasant, and eager to help anytime we or other guests had any questions. We often saw George, Maria or other staff giving people directions to major sites and attractions on Naxos, or explaining how the bus system worked. When we asked if we could borrow an electric kettle so we could make coffee in our room, George quickly located one for us.

* The hotel has a poolside bar and snack bar where beer, alcohol, non-alcoholic beverages and light snacks can be purchased. The prices are reasonable.

* Several mini-markets are located just a short walk from the hotel, and stay open until very late at night. They offer good selections of snacks, food, beverages, souvenirs and sundry items (including anything you might need for the beach).

* Also just a short walk away are numerous restaurants, snack bars, cafes, ice cream & dessert shops, a ferry ticket/travel agency, an automated bank machine, laundrette, supermarket, gas station, and several agencies that rent cars, Jeeps, ATVs, scooters and mountain bikes.

* Beautiful Agios Prokopios beach is just a short walk down the road, while Agia Anna, Maragas and Plaka beaches are within reasonable walking distance also. There is a row of very good restaurants along the Agia Anna beachfront, an excellent beach taverna at Maragas, and a number of bars and tavernas at various places along Plaka beach.

* Wi-fi service is provided at the hotel. We were able to get online when using our laptops in our room and on our balcony, but the people staying in the room beside ours could only get wi-fi reception if they took their computers out to their balcony.

Room Tip: If you cherish privacy, ask if there are any rooms available with private balconies. Most balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent a lovely 4 days in the Hotel Katerina staying with George and his lovely family who run the hotel. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel part of the family, George had arranged for us to be picked up from the Ferry Port by taxi at the hotel rate of 10 euros, very cheap we thought also included in our hotel room rate was the rental of a scooter for getting around the island, this was a great offer. George and his wife who was 8 months pregnant at the time took time out to plan routes for us to see the sights of the island even telling us were to eat and buy fuel and drinks on our days out, this really was such a bonus we cant thank them enough because everything went like clock work on our days out and we managed to see most of the island, the roads were really very good even on a 125 cc scooter. The hotel was comfortable and we had a room in the basement, don't let this put you off though, the room was basic but had a small veranda looking on to the pool. The bedding and towels were changed daily. We asked for a kettle to make coffee and this was supplied without any problems.The hotel is very close to the beach and places to eat and buy small gifts, beers, wine and milk etc. We found the small supermarket very cheap also. Buses to town stop at the end of the road and are also very cheap. We cant wait to return to Naxos Katerina and George and his lovely family. We hope everything went well with you first child. Once again many thanks. Martin & June.

Room Tip: the block looking onto the pool looked very nice and we would ask for one next time we stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaycee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.1 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#3 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anna Studios
Anna Studios
#12 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Grotta
Hotel Grotta
#1 of 58 in Naxos Town
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katerina

Property: Hotel Katerina
Address: Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#2 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Katerina 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Katerina is located in the best and most famous beach in Naxos Island in Agios Prokopios, just 5 km. from Naxos Town and only 2 minutes (60 meter) walking from the sandy beach of Agios Prokopios with the crystal clear waters. The hotel is built according to the Cycladic architectural style with all the comforts, in a picturesque tranquil ambiance, for all types of vacation. The mild and breeze of the surrounding fields, among flowers and trees, offers your the opportunity, for real unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Katerina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katerina Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing