We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a wonderful friendly safe place”
Review of Birikos Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birikos Studios
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful friendly safe place”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

This was just the most wonderful place to stay. We could walk everywhere and the lady Maria who runs it was just so sweet. She was always around to offer drinks or food or snacks and spoke very good english. We enjoyed our stay so much and would highly reccommend this hotel to all travelers. It's nothing fancy or glitzy but extremely clean and cozy. We loved our stay and can't wait to return. We spent 5 nights and hated to leave . Thank you Maria and Family for such a great vacation. Janet & Brad Dallas Texas

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analisasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    43
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
62
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Our family of five returned from 5 days / 4 nights on Naxos (end of June 2008). We stayed at the Birikos Studios-Apartments in Agios Prokopios, a small beach village not far from the main town of Naxos (Chora).

We stayed in one of the new (built in 2007) apartments to the left side of the main entrance. The previous reviewer Travel08greece has posted a photo of these units. The front patio faces towards the small orchard and pool area, the rear balcony has a view towards a large farm field and the mountains beyond. Our unit had a full kitchen, the largest and best-appointed of any we found in our Greece travels. The bathroom was large and modern, and the furniture, air conditioning and flat-screen televisions were all top-rate. A plug-in mosquito repellant device was provided, which worked very well -- once we realized what it was!

The pool is an obvious and attractive asset of Birikos Studios. It’s quite a large pool, very deep with a small diving board, and with restrooms and showers at the entrance. Actually the pool facilities are the size and quality you might find at a large health club or major hotel. There’s enough room for kids to play and make noise, without disturbing the adults lounging peacefully.

We agree with all of the comments made by previous reviewers here. The hospitality shown by Maria Birikos was exceptional, she clearly enjoys having visitors and goes out of her way to make you feel like a family guest. Every time we were just hanging out in one of the common areas, she would appear with a snack or fresh drink. In this way we tried the local cheese, homemade wine, homegrown produce, etc. There’s an orchard and extensive gardens on their property, overseen tirelessly by Maria’s husband Dimitrios -- in fact we only saw him coming and going, with a wave and smile.

Birikos Studios is located on the main road into Agios Prokopios on the left side, opposite the gas station. It’s just a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants, and the lovely beach beyond. Each morning we would stroll down to pick up fresh croissants from one of the roadside cafes, and pick up supplies at the supermarket just next door. We found that the mini-market in the village gets a fresh bread delivery first thing in the morning, even before the supermarket opens. The village has an ATM, two laundries, and several places to rent a car or scooter.

Other small highlights: our kids loved playing with the Greek cats outside, and the morning/evening symphony of cicadas, roosters and donkeys was a charming reminder of the rural setting.

Maria takes the room deposit by wire transfer, the traditional if cumbersome method used by many Greek hotels. But she does accept credit cards, which we used to make our final payment at check-out.

Maria had suggested we take a taxi from the port on arrival, but we preferred to rent our car in Naxos Chora and just drive to Agios Prokopios. It’s a bit tricky navigating the roads in and out of Chora, so study the map closely before starting out. Once you’re out of the main town it’s an easy and pleasant drive to Agios Prokopios. This village is a good base for driving to other parts of the island, you will typically not have to go back through Chora.

Overall we had a wonderful stay at Birikos Studios, thanks to the excellent facilities and Maria’s warm hospitality. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Top-grade facilities, excellent hospitality.
  • Disliked — Really nothing to dislike, would prefer they accept deposit by CC or PayPal.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernCal-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Oslo: Birikos studios and apartments, Agios Prokopios: "A beautiful place to stay!"
Date: July 24, 2008
We had a 10 days vacation at the Birikos Studios in July, '08, and we will wholeheartedly recommend the hotel for other guests of Naxos. The family that runs the hotel is extraordinarily welcoming towards their guests. The studios are very clean -- as are the outside areas of the hotel, which is also thoroughly taken care of, as you'll see of all the green plantation around there. As a whole, the hotel sports a great standard in all respects. It is of course advantageous that this hotel has the modern type toilets, contrary to what you'll find at many other places on the Greek islands. The swimming pool is large enough and popular for both children and the older ones.
The other guests we talked with noted that they appreciated the fact that the hotel area is quite open, without other hotels or buildings annoyingly placed close by. Not far away from the hotel, you have what you need of restaurants, car rentals, laundry, small grocery shops, etc. It'll take you approx. 5 minutes to walk down to the beach (which is only a plus, as you'll need some exercising due to the consumption of good food all day!). However, you can also enjoy the lunches and dinners at the hotel -- their Greek salad is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travel08greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

I was there with my wife last summer on second half of September. It is fantastic place for holidays. Very friendly owners: Maria&Dimitros. Very good beach,a lot of restaurant, market, car rentals in walking distance. Busstop to Chora just opposite to hotel (gasoline station also ;-))).
Fine swimmingpool and exciting surrounding on island.
Best regards to all family
Waldemar (52,Poland)

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — room internet
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wpeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2006

We stayed at the Birikos June 2006. I would highly recommend this hotel. When we arrived by taxi, Maria was waiting for us. She greeted us with a smile and an offer of something to drink. This is truly a family run hotel with the whole family involved, and they take pride in their work! We had a two bedroom superior apartment that had a fully furnished kitchen. The bathroom was very large and had a huge spa tub. It was all marble and very clean. We could tell this was a very new building as they were still working on the interior of the apartment below us. We paid 55 Euros a night.

Our friends had a studio apartment in the other building. It was very nice and had a small kitchen as well. They paid 28 euros a night.

The day we got there Maria mentioned that they were having a little party for the guests that night. "Some souvlaki and wine" is how she put it. We weren't sure what to expect but thought it sounded nice. Throughout the afternoon we realized that it was more than just a little party. They were cooking and setting up for hours. It ended up being a HUGE feast. Salad, potatoes, bread, meat and vegatable balls, souvlaki, wine and dessert. All of the vegetables came from their garden right there by the hotel. They just kept bringing out the food and wine. It was amazing... and all at no extra charge to the guests. When we mentioned the next day how nice it was and how much we appreciated it, she said that they like to do that during June. She said that July and August get so busy they can't do it then. I have no idea how often they throw these parties, we were just lucky to arrive at the right time though.

I highly recommend this hotel. The beach is a few minutes walk down the road, the views from the balconies are beautiful, there is a grocery store just next door as well as a car rental place. It's easy to get into town via bus and there are many restaurants close by.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Birikos in June 2004.

This hotel reminded me of a nice, family run Motel. We had a large 1 bedroom room with a kitchenette. The room was very clean and the air conditioner was great. The bathroom was clean with a bit larger of a shower stall than we had seen for awhile. The double/queen (hard to tell) bed in the bedroom was not our favorite - I think it had been around for awhile, but it was not enough to ruin our pleasant stay. We really enjoyed sitting on the balcony (that was all marble) and had a great view of the pool.

The grounds are lush and beautiful - there were amazing plants and trees everywhere. We enjoyed spending time at the pool. There were no "pool" towels, but our request for extra (bathroom) towels was met courteously and promptly.

Our stay did not include breakfast, but it did seem as though some refreshments were served in the office area - I'm not sure if there was an extra charge. However, there was a lovely grocery store a short walk down the road so we were able to get yogurt, cookies & juice for breakfast one morning and the other we walked to a taverna for a hot breakfast. There is also a fast and cheap laundromat a short walk away that we made handy use of!

The area is quite nice. Quite a little resort town, away from the hustle of Naxos Town.

We enjoyed our stay at Birikos - room was clean, service friendly and it was a nice, quiet place to stay. This is not a luxury hotel, as I said, much more like a nice motel - the kinds that you would want to return to every summer.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PurpleNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

My Partner and I ended a 3 week island hopping trip with a week in Birikos Studios in September 2005. Firstly, the beach at Aghios Prokopios is quite simply the best beach I have encountered in Greece. Long, soft, golden sands and crystal clear, totally calm waters makes it an ideal place for sun, sea and sand lovers (especially with children). Birikos Studios is a 5 minute walk from the beach and centre of the village. The studios were clean, well equipped and peaceful with a gorgeous pool and the complex is surrounded with brightly coloured exotic flowers and lemon and lime trees. Maria, who runs the complex with Dimitrios, was very hospitable and friendly.The local buses to the Main town of Chora (3 kms) run from outside the hotel regularly. There are a handful of tavernas/cafes running alongside the beach and a great supermarket 2 mins from the hotel. Birikos Studios seemed to be the nicest hotel in the area and was excellent value. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
6 Thank Ashlea1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.2 mi away
Anna Studios
Anna Studios
#12 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colosseo Star
Colosseo Star
#13 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#3 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Proteas
Hotel Proteas
#14 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birikos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birikos Studios

Property: Birikos Studios
Address: Agios Prokopios,Street, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birikos Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birikos Studios and Apartments is situated in Agios Prokopios, Naxos, Greece. The hotel covers 7 acres. The whole area belonged to the parents of the owner Maria Kavoura.In 1985 the Friendly Double Rooms were built.All of them are equipped with bed,balcony,tv,a/c and a bathroom.The half of them are equipped with a double bed and a kitchen.In 1995 the Standard Studio Apartments were built.They are completely equipped.Some of them have also sea view or at our swimming pool view.In 2005 The Superior Apartments were built.These are entirely equipped with a beautiful bathroom,1 or 2 bedrooms,2 nice balconys and they have also a nice view at our swimming pool or at Agios Prokopios sea.In 1996 the heart shaped swimming pool was built.The chief of the business Dimitrios Kavouras has made since 1985 a gorgious garden with lot of species of flowers,plants,fruits and vegetables.I think that i have correctly described our beautiful hotel in Agios Prokopios.I'm looking forward to seeing you in our hotel.Thank you very much for your attention ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Birikos Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birikos Studios Agios Prokopios
Birikos Studios Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing