We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families and Couples”
Review of Birikos Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birikos Studios
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We returned home 3 days ago having spent a perfect 14 days at the Birikos Studios.This is a lovely friendly family run property with spotlessly clean rooms and swimming pool. We were greeted by Maria offering us refreshments and a snack and the hospitality offered by the whole family was second to none during our stay. There are beautiful grounds which are well maintained.
The property is perfectly located close to beach , laundry, supermarket and pharmacy but set back from the main road.. The village has bars and tavernas to suit all tastes and budgets. The local bus stops outside the property which you take to visit other beaches and Chora.the capital of Naxos.
.
We noted during our stay that many couples and families had stayed more than once before a clear indication of the high standard provided by Maria and her family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hellasJRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Birikos Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 164 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from a 12 day stay at Birikos apartments, with Maria and her wonderful family. Studio - we stayed in self-catering accommodation room 307, which was large and spacious, view towards the back of the property to the mountains, although other rooms had view across to the sea and sunset to the front of the property. As other reviewers have said - you can get the bus from Naxos port straight to Agio Prokopios (destination on the front of the bus - ask to stop at Birikos - they will stop for you for only 1.60 euro each, stops right at the end of the driveway, we got a taxi (15euro), but used bus to get back to the port (run every 30mins, can buy tickets from Maria at reception).

Pool area clean and spotless. Rooms clean and certainly adequately equipped for simple self-catering meals-pans, kettle, toastie maker, grill, and coffee maker. Supermarket at end of road-has all you need, lots of fresh veg, bread, and even a small deli counter. 2min, flat walk to the best beach in Naxos by far, long sandy beach, crystal clear waters, sun loungers 6euro for two with shade (compared to 12euro on Mykonos), and an excellent selection of restaurants/bars to have a drink at. Only a short walk round the bay to Agia Anna, and then can either scooter or grab the bus down the coast to Plaka and Mikri Vigila beaches if you want (although Agios Prokopios was our fav of the larger beaches).

Such a warm welcome from hosts, large glass of ice cold orange and some home grown cucumber and local naxian cheese as a welcome before being taken to the room. Whole family so happy to help with advice about where to visit, how to get around, relaxed and quiet complex set back from the road, no noise at night (mainly seems to be Scandis and Dutch/Germans who stay), we looked at other studios including Nikoletta and Alykes, but in terms of location, quietness, access to pool and friendliness I think Birikos fits the bill, would strongly recommend if you're looking for good quality accommodation, at a reasonable price, with warm hosts, and a great location. So many great restaurants, not pushy like in Naxos town, still with a very greek feel.

In terms of getting to Naxos from UK, we took a flight to Mykonos and stayed a couple of nights in Vienoula's Garden : excellent, friendly hosts, super clean - also highly recommend, and got the Hellenic Sea Ways high speed to Naxos, this is a BIG dual hull catamaran which was super comfy and extremely easy to organise locally (we were there 21st-5th July), bought tickets for 28 euro each from travel agent in Naxos town (again easy to do). On arrival Naxos harbour you can then get a taxi, or as I said get the bus which stops right at the end of the harbour. Its about a 15 min drive from the harbour to Agios Prokopios. Couple of things - it is Meltemi season July and August, this is a strong wind that blows 3-4 days out of 7, Agios Prok and Agia Anna are both relatively sheltered, BUT the wind can be SO strong that the ferries - even the big ones can be cancelled. We changed our plans to travel a day early back to Mykonos because the winds seem to be getting higher, we were due to travel on Saturday morning to get the 20:25 flight Mykonos-to London gatwich that evening, but spoke to the travel agent in Agios Prokopios (right hand side as you head to the sea) on Wednesday who said to come back Thursday and then decide, at that point it looked like Friday and Saturday would both be bad, so we kept the tickets to travel on the small Seajet catamaran, however Friday morning the wind was really strong so we popped in again at midday and sure enough a lot of ferries (including the small ones weren't running), and the only ones that was definitely running were the big slow Blue Stars and the Masterjet (the larger Catamaran in the Seajet fleet, but still a lot smaller than Hellenic), but there were major delays. We hot footed it back to the apartment, and packed up and bought the tickets for the Masterjet. It was an hour late, and the roughest sea crossing I've had in a while (I suffer with sea sickness, and so did 80% of the other passengers......), but we got in to Mykonos safely and picked up some accommodation at the port (small hotels/studios tout for business, and we got a room with a fab view, free transport (in owner's car), and airport transfer the next day all for 80 euro. Saturday 5th July - NO FERRIES CAME IN TO MYKONOS, including the big ones because of the conditions, so please if you're considering DIYing it as we did keep an eye on the weather, but don't stress - the local agents are honest and happy to take time working out your best plans, and the availability was great so I would be prepared to be flexi. Maria was very understanding and only made us pay for half the Friday night instead of the full night (considering we left at 2:30pm on the Friday.....).

Top tips:
Water from the supermarket in Agio Prokopios - 35 cents per litre
Rent your scooters from Nikos on the sea front - not Moto bike on the corner
Go to Kastraki beach for a really paired back experience
Visit Halki and taste the citron if you dare
Eat lots of Naxian cheese!
If you like water sports get a one on one windsurfing lesson from Jerome at Plaka beach, as a complete beginner I windsurfed and turned and stayed up by the end of my first, HIGHLY recommend
Walk to Avgli restaurant and watch the sun go down across Agios Prokopios over a half litre of the local white wine - food ok, but not great (the far end of the beach as you face the sea, right hand side!)
Do what the greeks do and have iced coffee - Nescafe Frappe - on the beach
Get inland and see the marble and the REAL naxos, you and only a handful of others will be doing it, whilst the scandis top up their tans on the beach
Go to the Kouros and visit the little garden that has lots of fresh fruit and vegetables nourished by the fresh spring water .......
Colosseos restaurant for a pizza and beer - if you overdose on Greek Salads and fresh fish like we did!
Naxos, - walk up into the old town and catch the view of the porta from the castle. have dinner at the restaurant on the harbour wall, amazing, fresh calamari, and away from the crowds of the harbour side, as the sunsets. But beware, the sea may give you a freshing shower as you head back if the wind is up.

I can't recommend Naxos enough, all the locals recommend June as the wind is down and the weather is great, certainly our first week was less windy (last week in June), but Agio Prok is relatively protected at the beach side.

Enjoy (it's certainly different to Kefalonia, Crete, Zante, Paros, Santorini and Mykonos, and the prices for food and drink are much cheaper than the latter!)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank doctorcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We got a taxi to the hotel however there is a bus which stops right outside.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a free fresh orange and we checked in. They upgraded us to a 2 bedroomed apartment free of charge and it was huge. We had a fully furnished kitchen area with everything you need for self catering. A bathroom of decent size, 2 bedrooms one a double one single, we had aircon upstairs and downstairs and 2 balconys one front one back.
The hotel was clean and extremely spacious, only downside was the wifi didnt reach out room very well, either that or it was just a bad connection.
The pool was amazing and very deep, not too cold though. Nice menu for snacks and idealy located for the beach, about 5 min walk to main beach and restaurants and 2 to the supermarket.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a great experience! The Hotel is amazing, with big rooms, clean, the location is perfect, 1 minute walking from the best beach in Naxos, right next to everything you need from Pharmacy to restaurants. The swimming pool is fantastic! Perfect place to chill. Maria is a great host, we had a amazing time on Birikos, the breakfast with the fruits she has on the backyard is something different, just great! Thanks Maria for everything!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murilo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Warm friendly family run complex. It is situated in a nice part of the island and you are 5 minutes from the beach which has some nice cosy bars and eateries. There is also a pharmacy just in case, small supermarket , launderette and Yannis is very welcoming in collecting you from the port and returning you back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEZA2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel/apartment was fantastic, clean, fresh, more than we expected, big swimming pool very clean just lovely. Every day the family will share their own garden fruits with us etc... very close to the beach, 20seconds walk to the local shop, restaurants within walking distance, .. Thank you Birikos hotel for a lovely holiday, lovely family and very helpful, we would love to do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just spent 2 wonderful weeks at Birikos and would recommend it to all. The family who own the hotel were all welcoming and couldn,t have done anymore for us . Maria supplied us with homemade cakes, garden produce and wine from the family vines, Sophia her daughter was always on hand to answer any queries and help in anyway she could.There is a lovely pool with more than enough sunloungers,and one of the best beaches in Greece 4 minutes walk away.I wish I could go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: We had the superior apartments in the new block which could not be faulted.However the cheaper apart...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurlystones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
0.2 mi away
Anna Studios
Anna Studios
#13 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liana Hotel
Liana Hotel
#3 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colosseo Star
Colosseo Star
#14 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#1 of 1 in Apollon
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semeli Hotel Apartments
Semeli Hotel Apartments
#12 of 21 in Agios Prokopios
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birikos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birikos Studios

Address: Agios Prokopios,Street, Agios Prokopios 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#11 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range: $33 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Birikos Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birikos Studios and Apartments is situated in Agios Prokopios, Naxos, Greece. The hotel covers 7 acres. The whole area belonged to the parents of the owner Maria Kavoura.In 1985 the Friendly Double Rooms were built.All of them are equipped with bed,balcony,tv,a/c and a bathroom.The half of them are equipped with a double bed and a kitchen.In 1995 the Standard Studio Apartments were built.They are completely equipped.Some of them have also sea view or at our swimming pool view.In 2005 The Superior Apartments were built.These are entirely equipped with a beautiful bathroom,1 or 2 bedrooms,2 nice balconys and they have also a nice view at our swimming pool or at Agios Prokopios sea.In 1996 the heart shaped swimming pool was built.The chief of the business Dimitrios Kavouras has made since 1985 a gorgious garden with lot of species of flowers,plants,fruits and vegetables.I think that i have correctly described our beautiful hotel in Agios Prokopios.I'm looking forward to seeing you in our hotel.Thank you very much for your attention ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birikos Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birikos Studios Agios Prokopios
Birikos Studios Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing