We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't tell everyone”
Review of Liana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liana Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Agios Prokopios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Let's keep this wonderful small hotel on the beach at Agios Prokopios just between ourselves, shall we.
I stayed here with my two teenage chldren for 6 days in the heat of August 2012. It is a beautifully kept , family run hotel, with very welcoming staff.
The setting is just across the road from the beach right at the far end of Agios Prokopios beach, where is it a little quieter. The hotel has sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach - they do charge, perhaps surprising that they charged hotel guests, but having said that they only got round to charging us once anyway.
You can have breakfast inside, on your balcony or in the shady hotel garden right next to the beach. Breakfast itself could be described as standard ( basic) greek style , but was ok - I loved the coffee.
Definitely, definitely hire a vehicle and explore the island. The hotel staff arranged a day's car hire for us (thank you, Kyria Maria) Most of the popular beaches are on the West side of the island, down from Chora The rest of Naxos is much quieter and the scenery inland is spectacular, Fliloti , Apiranthos villages are lovely. The incredibly hairy road down to the tiny East coast village of Moutsouna is worth it ( but not for the faint-hearted) for a quiet sun-bathe, swim and leisurely meal in one of the 3 tavernas - gorgeous
Naxos is wonderful, Liana Hotel is a gem ( shhhhhh!)

Room Tip: We had a sea view balcony which was great - but pool view rooms also looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comeon U Quins C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 232 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in nice location, not too crowded. Very clean and good organized. We actually don't need the towels and sheets to be changed everyday (who does it at home???) so it was ok for us to have them changed every 2-3 days.
The view from our balcony was great as promised (see view) so we could enjoy the breakfast and the aperitivo everyday. The hotel is in any case surrounded by very well maintained garden with a special area with tables and chairs.
There's also the swimming pool belonging to the hotel which is a good option if you don't feel like to stay on the beach.
The beach is just across the road, fully equipped with umbrellas and long chairs, 6,00 € per day. It's not expensive but my opinion is that it could be included as a service for clients of the hotel (same owner).
Breakfast is good but kind of same everyday. Homemade cakes are excellent. What's missing is a good fruit juice (the one offered wasn't very good).
The thing I don't understand is the price: double bed studio 135,00-140,00 € per day. Comparing to the prices in this area it was high. Anyway we have had a very good stay and that's important.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pisces71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a great experience at this hotel. It is clean and the rooms are spacious. We had a room with a sea view which was fantastic. The staff are friendly and helpful, providing a good level of service. It is just over the road from the beach, set back from the road by a lovely garden. Even though it is on the main road it is quiet. The pool is not big but just right for cooling off in. The sea was so calm that it was easy to swim in and has a gentle slope out. It is not far from Naxos town which is easy to get to on the bus. There are also plenty of good places to go for food near the hotel. The only thing that wasn't great was the buffet breakfast but then Greek hotels in general don't tend to have great breakfasts!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked through Fantasy Travel in Athens (great local travel agent). I asked for a relaxed, non pretentious, clean and comfortable hotel, close to the beach. They highly recommended Liana Hotel on Agios Prokopios beach and it turned out to be perfect. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had a room overlooking the pool which was clean and spacious with a small balcony where we had our breakfast every morning, before either heading out on our rented quad bike to one of the numerous beaches close by, or just walking over the road and relaxing on the hotel deck chairs on the beach in front. The island is well known for kiteboarding and windsurfing, but the side of the beach where the hotel is seems to be sheltered from the wind. Whilst it is pumping on other parts of the island, there only seems to be a slight breeze near the hotel. We were traveling as a couple and most people staying there had young families, which didn't affect us and I would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dannycanalonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

What a great hotel. My family - husband, me and two teenagers stayed here the first week of July in 2012. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful. The location was astoundingly beautiful and it was very relaxing. I was out walking and swimming every morning. My son was swimming and hiking and horsebackriding. My husband and daughter were out swimming and exploring the island by scooter. We loved to walk out to the sea and relax the beach. Beautiful clear serene water - not too cool and not too warm. Then we would relax at the hotel pool or on our porches to our rooms - beautiful, clean, simple, very Greek. We would walk into town every night for dinner - absolutely delicious and very good prices. We would breakfast in the lanai with other guests from the hotel every morning, looking out to the sea. And those sunsets! We would leave the window to the porch open to watch the sun set over the sea. Pretty flowers everywhere and a well-kept hotel. Very nice. No one in my family wanted to leave.

Room Tip: No help is needed. All the rooms are good. I do like to look out at the sea, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at the Liana for 12 nights in mid June this year and really enjoyed every minute of my stay. I booked direct as a single traveller and found all the communications leading up to my arrival more than satisfactory and all questions were answered. My room was a twin room facing the pool and was very spacious well equipped, lovely bathroom and spotlessly cleaned every day. The beds were unlike a lot of Greek beds I have slept in and were really comfortable. The shower was a quadrangle shower unit with the glazed doors, unlike any of the other showers I have had in Greece as well!

Breakfast was lovely. Usual cereal, cakes, savouries, Greek yoghurt and fruit etc. All self service and really nice.

The hotel is located opposite a really beautiful beach where I spent most of my time! It's not crammed in with sunbeds like some beaches.

I hope to return one day. I loved Naxos and would like to explore more and the Liana was the perfect base. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Neisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We recently completed a trip to Naxos and stayed 7 days at the Liana Hotel.

Property: The property is located across the street from the Agios Prokopios beach - regarded as 1 of the top 5 beaches in Greece. It is also only a <10 minute walk to the beach at Agia Anna which is also fantastic. There is a small pool in the back which is private and very well kept - we spend a lot of time there. The grounds are pleasant and there is a small grassy area for smaller kids to play. There is also a seating area overlooking the sea which is really nice in the evenings.

Agios Prokopios area: The beach is excellent and there are many very good restaurants to choose from. We especially enjoyed Nikos Pizza (unfortunately named since much of their menu is not pizza), the Mojito Beach Bar (good Mexican food), and Anisos Spiros. There is not much shopping, but there is a convenience store that met our needs. There are numerous vehicle rental shops which are reasonably priced. We rented from Nikos - only 2 doors down from the hotel and they were great. There is also a small bank ~2 blocks away that has an ATM. Grade: A

Rooms: We had a 2-room "suite" (Euphaestus) that also had a small kitchen. The room was very nice and always clean. We were on the 2nd floor with an incredible view to the sea and beach. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional. The only complaint is that the beds were a bit hard. The wi-fi in the rooms worked well and our kids put it to the test. We had a nice balcony with a table and 4 chairs that we also spent a lot of time on at night. Be sure to get a room with a sea view on the upper floor. Grade: A-

Staff: The staff were very friendly and always accomodating. They gave us some great recommendations for things to do. We also had a problem with our ferry reservation and they really stepped up and worked there local contacts to help us - I can't thank them enough. Grade: A+

Amenities: Not many frills at the hotel, but that is not what we came for. The wi-fi was good and there was a small, but nice, exercise room. There are also 2 computers in the lobby for guests to use. Breakfast is the only meal served and it is modest, but OK. The hotel also rents the chairs and umbrellas at the beach. I believe it was 5 euro per day for 2 chairs and an umbrella which we simply charged to the room (our room was Euphaestus, but others had easier names to remember...). Grade: B+

Location: Again, the location is fabulous. If you want to stay in Agios Prokopios, this is the place! It is only a 10 minute ride by scooter or cab to Naxos Town (Chora) and there is shopping and other sites there. There is also a bus stop ~100 meters from the hotel, but we never used it (many others did). By all means you should rent a vehicle (we rented a scooter and a quad) and see the island. The village of Filoti which is nestled in the mountains is stunning and only a 45 minute ride by scooter. This is a mountainous island and the interior is nearly as beautiful as the coast. The food further inland is also more authentic and absolutely delicious. Many of the farmers were running surpluses while we were there and giving us bags of fruts. Grade: A+

In summary, the hotel, staff, and location were all excellent. I highly recommend renting a vehicle to see more of this compelling island. I can enthusiastically recommend this hotel if you are staying on Naxos for any length of time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view on the upper level. There are only ~20 rooms at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Prokopios
2.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 57 in Naxos Town
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agios Prokopios Hotel
Agios Prokopios Hotel
#5 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
379 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 57 in Naxos Town
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Villa Marandi Luxury Suites
0.4 mi away
Mitos Suites
Mitos Suites
#4 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naxos Island Hotel
Naxos Island Hotel
#11 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liana Hotel

Address: Agios Prokopios 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Agios Prokopios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Prokopios
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Prokopios
Price Range: $103 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Liana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liana Hotel is located in Agios Prokopios, on one of Naxos most famous beaches. The hotel is positioned in front of the beach and right next to all resort amenities, commanding stunning sea views. The combination of white and blue is the characteristic of the Cycladic architecture which defines the exterior and interior areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Liana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liana Hotel Naxos/Agios Prokopios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing