We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is the best beach in Greece for sure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agios Prokopios Beach

Agios Prokopios Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pop up store
Toronto, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Is the best beach in Greece for sure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Is the best beach in Greece for sure, the water vas vary clean, the sand was very clean too , and near to this beach you can find every thing about your vacation.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gariell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    283
    78
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Crystal clear waters and lovely, golden sand...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This beach is one of the best that we have ever been to, in fact it runs only a close second to the beach on Koufonissi (italida), and run in just ahead of Koukounaries. The water was crystal clear, nice and warm. The sand is golden in colour and was unmarred by rubbish or other debris.

We walked back up the beach a little bit, backtracking the bus route, and managed to find a totally secluded spot where we could relax (hopefully the picture of our umbrella gives you some kind of impression!). This part of the beach is verging on the nudist part of the area, which to us was barely an issue and should only be taken into account if you have strict morals or are easily offended.

There is a little cafe/taverna nearby that serves nice snacks to keep you going, the omlettes are pretty decent there. The bus service is regular but there is generally some jostling, or we found this to be the case in July at least, to get on the bus which is pretty annoying and tiresome; it was worth it though for the crystal clear water!

We'll definitely be going back again this year!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lholt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large golden beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This beach is beautiful and very large laying next to small Agios Prokopios. The water is pure clean and crystal blue. The sand is almost like flour some places. Some restaurants by Agios Prokopios where also the bus stops right by the beach.

I recommend the Barbounis restaurant on the corner by the bus stop for lunch, but definitely dinner. In the middle of the beach there is an area where nudists are, you see small flags sticked in the sand when you get walk along the beach. I didn't notice it at first, untill I suddenly stared right at some nudist. People normally walk by there, no problem for these nudists.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidTravelFeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“close to town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great beach and very convenient location, Close to NAxos town and easily accessible by bus fron Naxos town, the bus stop is couple of steps from the beach ( keep inmind, you need to buy your bus tickets ahead of time as the bus driver does not sell them). Lots of small restaurants selling traditional greek food and fast food gyros. Dive shop close by, clear water, nice sand. Great for kids and adults alike. I visited at the end of August, it was quite busy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jolajarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unforgetable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Peaceful.

In may/June and Septembre it is the best time to be at the beach.
There a only a few people around

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank abbi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agios Prokopios Beach also viewed

Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Agios Prokopios Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing