We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is stuck in the dark ages”
Review of Amazing View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amazing View Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Agios Stefanos
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This hotel is stuck in the dark ages”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

While the hotel does have a nice enough view that's all this hotel has going for it. The location that gives way to this view is fairly inconvenient. The hotel is situated at the top of very steep hills that you need to walk up and down multiple times per day and the hotel is 8 Kilometres from Mykonos town up and down hills, or the bus comes only once every hour at the bottom of the hill. This is not the type of hotel that you can just sit back and spend your time at as it has absolutely nothing, so don't expect a pool or modern facilities. In terms of meals you need to fend for yourselves, unless you want to spend 15 Euro per person for breakfast- a total rip off even in the very expensive Mykonos. There are only 3 restaurants in this town, everything else is miles away in Mykonos town, and the restaurants in Ag. Stefanos are not great and the supermarkets here not have a lot to purchase either. The room is way out-dated and cluttered with ugly dirty ornaments and half burnt out candles that collect dust. There is old dirty furniture in the room and a small old looking kitchenette.The bed is really hard and for a hotel that mostly accommodates couples our double bed was two old metal framed singles pushed together. The bathroom is also old, unpleasant, smelly and feels dirty. There is no actual shower, instead just a shower head stuck on the wall that just sprays water straight onto the floor and all over the bathroom, meaning that after you have showered the entire bathroom is wet so after you have dried and you go back in there you come out and pick up all the dirt that's on the poorly cleaned floors because your feet are wet again. Don't expect a functional balcony if you are on the upper levels, the balcony is tiny (barely 1mX0.5m) and the owner has filled it with furniture so that you can't even shut the door properly or move around out there, not to mention you can practically touch the people on the next balcony over. The owner is very odd with use of electricity, you can only turn the hot water on 10 minutes before you need in then it has to go off again and there is a trip on the aircon so if a door or window is open it won't work- so if like us you go to sit outside while the room cools (intending on closing the door behind you to cool the room) it won't work because the aircon will turn off once you open the door to step outside. The owner will pick you up from wherever you come into Mykonos, however even though the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and there are not enough taxis to service the island you need to find your own way back to the port or airport. Also be aware that if you do get in the car with the owner when she picks you up to use the seatbelts in the car because she is a pretty crazy driver and tried to take on a bus while we were in the car with her and told us how rude the bus driver was because he wouldn't let her through. On check in the owner will take your passport we thought this would be kept somewhere secure but once she collected it to return it to us on the way out it had just been left in her laptop bag among other peoples passports, so be aware of this. The worst thing about this hotel is that you can't make your payment for your stay until you are checking out and this hotel has not made it into the 21st century and does not make use of modern technology and eftpos facilities. So come time for us to check out the owner had a hissy fit at us because we didn't know that she would have to make a phone call for us to use our card to make our payment like any normal person would- really who is going to carry hundreds of Euros in cash on them- also be aware that there are no cash machines in this part of the island (only in Mykonos Town). So anyway the woman was able to take our card payment by making a phone call, but apparently the small effort that, that took required a 10 Euro fee. The whole time she was sorting this out she was being so rude to us just because we weren't paying cash and calling us names, and claiming she told us we could only pay cash but she never did or if she did we never understood her as her English is not fantastic. Anyway as we were leaving via taxi she came and followed us out of the hotel to whinge and complain about us to the taxi driver which I found extremely rude after we had given her a large sum of money. Don't bother with this hotel or town, stay close to Mykonos town.

Room Tip: If you feel that you still want to stay here get the rooms on the lower level as they have bigger ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rowesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA G, Manager at Amazing View Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guests it has been a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel.Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and a similar for the hotel in Santorini.
Please kindly note that we have never stated in our website or in any on-line booking system or brochure that our hotel is in Mykonos Town and that it has a swimming pool.
Amazing View Hotel is a brand-new hotel near the Town of Mykonos (approximately 4km) and 500m from the beautiful sandy beach of Saint Stefanos.
The hotel is built on an impressive natural cliff-side on top of a hill. .Google map can help you to position the hotel and will point out that it is 4km from the center and not 8km which you mentioned.
The guests who book our hotel are told, in advance, about the location and the facilities in order to manage expectations.
The decision to rent a car or scooter is completely independent from the hotel reservation and up to each individual guest.
On our website under the accommodation section we mention that "It's perfect for those seeking for accommodation away from busy town center and happy to motorbike/car drive around the island."
The hotel is a hotel apartment and we do not serve breakfast, except if we have a per-arranged request from the guest.
We had a request from you on your first day for continental breakfast.
We are happy to serve continental breakfast in the room for a small additional charge of 15 Euros for two people and not per person as you stated.
Our hotel is in business for the 6th summer and the season here in Mykonos is only three months longs so it is impossible for it to be in the condition you are describing.
I can only apologies if the decoration makes you feel unhappy.
The minimalistic style of the hotel fits with the metal beds. We have chosen French type beds for your comfort.
Regarding the small balcony we can also only apologize, specific conditions for the buildings in Mykonos exist. This architecture made it famous around the world.
Equally it was your decision to make a reservation for this type of suite and not for the Deluxe or for the Grand suite which have a bigger terrace and a bathtub and not only a shower in the bathroom.
Of course the settlement of the accommodation can be either during check in or at times of your check out. The receipts from previous guests will state the same.
We do not provide complimentary transfers at times of your departure, so we suggest a taxi which costs 20 Euros to the airport.
I am not going to make any comments regarding the mention of my character or for the cleaning of the hotel. Clearly the reviews of the other quests show the contrary.

A BIG SMILE FROM AMAZING VIEW HOTEL .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    18
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July. The view over the new port towards Mykonos Town is really spectacular, with the most incredible sunsets. The room is very spacious (Grand Deluxe room) with a HUGE balcony and 2 deck-chairs, but be careful to book this room specifically if you want it, as the upstairs rooms have tiny Juliette balconies. All the rooms have kitchens with the basics e.g. mugs, plates, cutlery, and there is a small bar fridge in the room. The bed is unfortunately quite old, and this detracted from the trip for us given that we were here for nearly a week. The bathroom is a reasonable size with a shower-in-the-tub! There is free wifi, which is always great. The establishment is spotlessy clean. There are also 2 mini-markets nearby (open until 2am) where you can buy fresh bread (delicious), milk, and a few vegetables, and sunscreen. There is also a lovely restaurant nearby ("The Limnios").
This hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, so for anyone who is even slightly unfit I would not recomment it unless you hire a car (bring your drivers license), but again be warned tht driving in Mykonos is not for the faint-hearted. The hotel is located about 4km from Mykonos Town (which can be seen from the balcony) and while it is a lovely walk to the town (we did it every day) it is very tough for the last 1km (If you are walking back to the hotel). There is a bus service that runs hourly from about 9am until 2am and costs about Euro1, 60, and it is generally reliable, except on one occassion it didn't pitch. Maria the owner was always available, friendly, and helpful. She picked us up from the port (remember to find out which port your ferry arrives at -most arrive at the New Port). We had to take a taxi though back to the airport upon departure -the airport is about 10 minutes from the Hotel, but cost 20 Euros. All in all, we loved Mykonos, and I will be back, but I will stay closer into Mykonos Town next time. It would also be lovely if there was a pool at this hotel, which there isnt. About 500metres lower down on the hill though there is an upmarket hostel with a beautiful pool available to all. Some of the establishments in Mykonos charge exorbitant prices, but this hotel was one of the most reasonable that we could find. Thank you Maria

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have huge over-sized balconies, while the one's upstairs have tiny Juliette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Amazing View in June. We were greeted at the airport by Maria with one of her beaming smiles. on arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room which was a superior sea view room (112). Very clean,light,spacious ,with a large comfortable bed and wonderfully decorated and of course a view to die for. There was a large bathroom and a kitchen with everything you would need to make a meal. We chose breakfast in our room, which was delicious. We sat looking out to sea and Mykonos Town in the distance watching the numerous ferries and huge cruise liners that came in to dock. My husband had a birthday during our stay, Maria went away and came back with a heart shaped basket with a bottle of wine some lovely star fish and a red rose from her garden. She sang happy birthday which made it very special he loved it the beach is a ten minute down hill walk past local taverna and supermarket. Stop and enjoy views!

Overall, would we go back. Of course we would.

Sylvia & Simon Hope

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week in june.
We must say without any doubt that it was really an excellent choice.
Starting with the owner, very kind and always available for any need or needs we had.
The room was very nice and clean, decorated in a particular way and also very suggestive.
There was also a small kitchen if you wanted to enjoy in cooking a little.
The view from the balcony was spectacular!
Every night going to bed we left the doors that gave onto the balcony open, and we could hear the waves breaking on the rocks.
There was breakfast served in our room every morning, at the time that we decided. Not a simple breakfast, but a rich one, very elaborate and good!
Highly recommend this hotel, as well as the relation between quality and price.
You won't regret at all this choice and you'll be excited and satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzu87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA G, Owner at Amazing View Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We realy appreciate that you share your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
We are feel so happy that you had so memorable vacations and we have do the best for that.
We hope to see you soon.
Take care!!!
A big smile from our team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Amazing View hotel for 3 nights we found it an excellent location nice a quiet with a nice view of the beech but there is a bus to Mykonos town if you want to go there or we hired a car for 2 days which was €30 a day - I would highly recommend doing this as it gives you so much freedom. The owner was extremely helpful and the Breakfast was the best and most amazing breakfast we have every had in a hotel anywhere in the world and the home make honey was out of this world!!!!! The room was very clean and beautifully decorated and had a bath which was excellent. For us it was the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: The junior suite was perfect x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikkiSmout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Amazing view is really standing for its name, having one of the most lovely views you could get in Mykonos. It is located on the hill of Aghios Stefanos which is just five minutes by car from the city of Mykonos. The room is huge and the price is excellent for the services you get. The only problem is that the road which drives you to the hotel from the main road is in a very bad condition and too steep making the last 200meters to the hotel challenging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIA G, Manager at Amazing View Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We really appreciate your interest and time in writing your comments about our hotel.Thank you so much and we are feel so happy that you had a wonderful time.Our hotel has amazing view but not amazing road ,unfortunatly in life you can not have everything . We have repair the problem for the last 200m for your convenience so you don't have to worry for your next vacation.
A big smile from our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Lombardia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Perfect place, great view, fantastic Ms Maria (the Owner). Not so easy to reach, but when you arrive at home, you cannot feel better than there!! ;)
We found also a great price for the period (9th-14th of August).
The mini appartment is big, confortable, bright, clean...and from the balcony we could enjoy a great view over the Hora and the Port with the Cruise Ships.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paolop832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Stefanos
0.6 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#2 of 6 in Tourlos
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alkistis Hotel
Alkistis Hotel
#5 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#22 of 82 in Mykonos Town
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rhenia Hotel
Rhenia Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tourlos
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Marco Luxury Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazing View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing View Hotel

Property: Amazing View Hotel
Address: Agios Stefanos Beach, Agios Stefanos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agios Stefanos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Stefanos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Stefanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazing View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing View Hotel is a brand-new Hotel near the Town (Chora) of Mykonos(4hm) and 500m from the beautiful sandy beach of Saint Stefanos.Is built into an impressive natural cliff-side on a hill top .Romance is taken a step further with a breathtaking view of the Aegean sea.The hotel is integral well-designed in white and light blue. Lots of exquisite details will surprise you, and make you feel like living in a painting. Services are warm and considerable. From the big balcony, you see the beautiful sea, new port, Mykonos town & Delos . Especially at night, sitting under silver moonlight, looking at the night view of the town, will chase all your exhaustion away.Amazing view hotel is ideal for an irresistible romantic honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Amazing View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazing View Hotel Mykonos/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing