We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”
Review of Mama's Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mama's Pension
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've been to Mykonos with my best friend. We struggle a lot in Athens, but then we took the boot to Mykonos. Christina was standing there with a board 'MAMA'S PENSION' and she drove us to the hotel. It was like heaven. (no I'm not exaggerating!) You have a view on the sea. The beach is like your private beach, not that much people. A mini market by the beach. And the best part, the whole family of Christina is living around Mama's Pension: there is a restaurant, bike's for hiring, and the best part: a swimming pool WITH lounge bar which is free for the people of Mama's Pension. There is a bus to Mykonos center. But be sure you take the last one back (we missed that one and had to walk) For the really party people, go to the south of Mykonos. With Mama's Pension, you find rest and a lot of sun! yeah, we had the best time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromBELGIUM_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were a group of eight and had 4 great rooms at Mama's for three nights. They all had balconies with amazing views of the ocean below and were really clean, bright, and comfortable. And the showers were huge! with curtains! Christina is wonderful - so warm and welcoming and picked us up and dropped us off at the port. She also helped arrange car rentals for us to explore the island. She was very helpful with whatever we needed. The location is great - there's a wonderful beach just down about 100 steps (ask for a beach towel!), a pool next door guests can use, and a great restaurant a few doors down Christina recommended. We also took full advantage of the free wifi. Its about a 15-20 minute walk to town, but flat! or a 5-7 euro taxi. It was a great experience and we would love to come back!

Room Tip: ask for a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meghan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Mama's Pension and Christina made our stay and we have a history of staying with her since1996, from a recommendation through a friend. This time we brought our family with us from the states. This was their first time in Mykonos and they enjoyed being at Christina's for her warm welcome, hospitality and comfortable and clean rooms with a view of the sea and a great beach to relax. A very good restaurant next door (her uncle's Taverna had great food, fresh fish and stuffed wine leaves that were incredible). This is great value and an excellent location. We won't consider staying anywhere else as long as she will have us. Without a doubt stay at Mama's Pension!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights in April at the Mykonos apartments of Mama's pension (they also have beach side apartments).

Everything was great as the appartment was clean, had hot water, a fully furnished and functional kitchen, three beds and good lighting. Wifi is fast and works great in the appartment and rooftop terrasse. The TV is old and blurry, but who goes to Mykonos to watch Tv anyways?

The rooftop terrasse is simply amazing as the view on the sea is great and you couldn't find a better view for the gorgeous sunsets. I would add a couple chairs as there are only two right now tho.

I paid 25 euros per night (still low season in April) which seems to be a standard in Mykonos at this time. As the appartment has 3 beds, it can be quite cheap per person if you're travelling more than one.

Finally, the owner Christina is very friendly and helpfull. She picks you up at the ferry or airport and drives around the city telling you good info before we arrive at the appartments. She even offered to drive me back to the ferry when I left.

Overall great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mama's Pension is located near the New Port, close to Ag Stefanos beach. Christina, the owner, has been fantastic throughout the duration of our stay. She picked us up from the airport & dropped us of at the pier at no extra cost. The room we stayed in (number 2) had a view of the sea. The room had an ensuite, a small fridge, table & TV. It was cleaned daily.
There were no shower curtains so the water tends to go everywhere when you take a shower. The towels are thin & worn out & not changed throughout our 3 days there. Outside our room we had a clothes line which was fantastic as its quite windy in Mykonos & the clothes dry quickly.
The only downside was that it was at least a 15 min drive to Mykonos Town. Its at least 30 mins of walking & not really an ideal option as there is no sidewalks & the road is quite windy along the coastline. There is a bus that goes from Stefanos beach to Mykonos town, it cost 1,40 euro p/p one way. Or you can hire a scooter for 15 euro p/day, a 4WD AV for 20 euro p/day or a car for 50 euro p/day. The mode of transport really needs to be considered, especially if you are looking to see the other beaches as they are a bit of a drive from Mykonos town.
Overall we had a pleasant stay, it was good value for money & Stefanos beach was a short walk down the hill for swimming & catching the bus. Christina was great in assisting us in whatever we needed and made you feel part of the family. It was a rewarding experience, one we will always remember.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay with Maria Kouka (the rooms more or less linked with Mama’s Pension) which we booked a day in advance by phone, was that pleasing that we changed it form the original plan (2 nights) to 4. Maria and her family, who basically run half of Hagio Stephanos, are incredibly friendly people who simply want you to have a pleasant stay. Clean rooms which are cleaned daily, ditto bathrooms, A.C., a little anti-mosquito-machine (although not necessary) and a fridge are at your disposal. Because of the way the house is constructed, Maria made sure we had a ‘balcony option’ in whatever room we stayed in (some rooms have private balconies, we had to change rooms once due to our last minute decision, and Maria kept on apologising for the ‘inconvenience’. No apologies needed of course…). Prices were very nice as we got there second half of September: mid-season on Mykonos equals normal price/3 or 4!

The location (Hagio Stephanos) is great as well, with 3 restaurants (the furthest one of which is run by a family member of Maria and was splendid when it came to dishes, price and service) a mini-market for appero or late night balcony drinks, a breakfast place (Artemis hotel), a nice beach with seats and some alcoves and a bus connection to Mykonos town ‘till midnight (€ 1,6 p.p.).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansMemling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed with my 2 girlfriends in July 2012 and from the moment we were greeted by Christina at the Port we knew we had chosen the perfect place to stay in Mykonos!!

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the views from the balcony were amazing! Christina did everything for us, from washing our clothes to giving us lots of tips about the island. She even gave our friend (who was unhappy with her previous accommodation) a discounted rate for a few nights as she was by herself in a room.

The fact that we could use the pool next door was such an added bonus, especially because walking back from the bus can be very tiring and a cool swim in the pool afterwards always fixed this.

If I ever go back to Mykonos this will be my choice again, and I will be letting my friends know if they ever go over there too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammyJF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Stefanos hotels
0.3 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artemis Hotel
Artemis Hotel
#4 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grace Mykonos Hotel
Grace Mykonos Hotel
#2 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mykonian Mare Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mina Beach Hotel
Mina Beach Hotel
#8 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Pension

Address: 401 St. Stefanos Beach, Agios Stefanos 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Stefanos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Mama's Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama`s Pension Hotel Mykonos
Mama's Pension Mykonos/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing