We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agios Stefanos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paolas Town Apartments & Studios
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Review written retrospectively as only recently become a Trip Advisor member.
We stayed 2 years ago, and i hope for customers due to holiday there in the future, nothings changed.
Paolas studios stand in an elevated position with stunning views down over Mykonos town. We were given the apartment on the first floor overlooking the pool with an enormous terrace. The apartment itself was typically Greek basic, but scrupulously clean, comfortable beds, and again, fantastic views from the terrace doors and windows. Location-wise, its not perfect, there are no supermarkets or shops nearby other than a Starbucks across the road, and its a good 20 minute walk downhill into Mykonos town-so you can imagine the slog back up in July heat, however, its location means its very,very quiet at night, and when we did need to sleep at odd hours due to body clock malfunction from too much Mykonos clubbing til 8 in the morning, we had no problem.
The pool area is beautiful, comfortable loungers, and Paola herself would often pop out to offer chilled melon. When we were there, there were no other facilities ie internet access as far as i know, but we certainly didnt need any.
For a very comfortable, clean, peaceful friendly place to say, i give it 9/10, its just the hill which is a slight burden-but then if you were lower, you wouldnt get the views.
Mykonos is fabulous, exactly like the photos depict, although in July it was heaving and a lot of rubbish blowing around in the streets. Loved the clubs-especially Pierros and the harbour club after 4 am.
One downside, it was VERY expensive when we were there, and i hear now its exorbitant.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 96 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

I'm visiting Mykonos every single summer since 1994. I've been there even for celebrating Easter, either with my friends or my family. These rooms in overall are TERRIBLE!! We had booked 3 double rooms, which were extremely dirty and uncomfotable. The fridge wasn't working properly, the aircondition was in front of our bed, (so that you were unable to use it while taking a nap or sleeping), the wc was dirty, the shower was inconvinient, the hotel staff was not friendly at all, and the hotel's location was really bad.. The only good thing was the view, that most hotels in Mykonos can equally offer, without having you ruin your holiday... We tried to move to another hotel but all rooms were booked. It's amazing how a single hotel can destroy your holiday in such a beautiful island such as Mykonos. Don't do it to yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank GeorgeTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Me and my wife stayed at the Paolas the first two weeks in July 2008, It was our first time in Mykonos having sampled many Greek Islands over the years. We were looking forward to the experience of what was described as a cosmopolitan heaven.
What we actually found was an overpriced and sometimes seedy part of Greece best left to the young and gay. We have absolutely nothing against the the gay fraternity but the resort didn`t cater for heterosexual 40 somethings.
Our main gripe was the prices of everything in Mykonos Town which is three times more expensive than any other Greek Island we have visited. Mykonos Town is OK but the port leaves a lot to be desired and the shops and restaurants were a complete rip off.
The Appartment itself was situated on a main busy road leading directly to the port so every type of traffic was thundering past all day every day. It was very very noisy and very difficult to cross the road day or night.

The owners of the appartments couldnt be more helpful, they were lovely people and kept a lovely building pretty and clean.
However, the appartments are for the young who want to go out at midnight and come back at six in the morning. They are not for the middle aged. We witnessed at least three couples and groups of mates falling out and screaming at each other into the early hours in the morning. Not what we call a relaxing cosmopolitan heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Hi there, back a week from my stay at Paolas Town apts. Overall I am really happy with my choice! The apts are really clean, cleaned daily. There's only a few rooms so the pool was never too busy and getting a sun lounger was no problem. The owners are very nice.

There is no pool bar or restaurant in the building, but there's a Starbuck with loads of outside seating literally across the road. There's an ATM there across the road and another just down the hill.

We had a nice bathroom, newly refurbished, bath etc.. But some rooms had a 'wet room' as such. Just an open shower. Don't think they'd a hairdryer either. We had a small counter with a kettle, 2 hot rings, sink, a fridge and cuterly. There's no microwave, but I've no interest in all that stuff becuase we ate out every night anyways.

We got chatting to everyone in the apt complex because of the small size and layout. It was a great holiday and we made great friends. Some rooms are up one level and they've sea views, we were on the ground floor so we didn't have a view but it was v private and quiet, away from the noise of traffic outside. But don't worry it's not motorway traffic by any means!! :)

Everyone said 'the hill is step!' - Well it sure is! It's fine walking down, no real footpaths but it only takes 10mins. The first place you hit is the bus station area so that's handy if you want to go to the various beaches. Also on the hill there are loads of places to rent cars/scooters/quads. We rented a quad for the day towards the end to see the island and go to the beach. We paid €25 but you can get cheaper daily rates and get a better deal if you rent it for a few days.

There's a shop up the road from the apts. About 5 min walk - again no real footpath but it's fine. The shop has cheap alcohol which came in handy! We bought fruit etc and stuff for during the day. Didn’t venture too far from the poolside by day! There is a nice restaurant up from the shop, on the opposite side of the road. Can't remember the name, but pasta is about €11 etc.. so it's fine for a cheap bite to eat.

The place is well located, we used to get a taxi back to the apts after clubbing, only €3 to €4, if there was a queue for the taxis we'd walk up the hill. For that reason alone the quads are great - dangerous but handy!

The town itself is fab! It's a series of small lanes and streets, no cars etc allowed. Nice shops, there were some great sales too because it was end of season. Diesel shop, etc.... As for food the ol Chicken Gyros was a saver after a night of clubbing! Jimmy's was great!! As for restaurants, we weren’t blown away, bar one place. Heard Eve’s is great – passed it the last night and it looked lovely.

We got loads of tips to go to Nicko's Tarverna, but we went to a place by the same name and it was definitely the wrong one. We went to the one where the infamous pelican stands. Food was poor and my order was wrong. We found the correct one eventually!! Jonanna's Nicko's Taverna (not correct spelling), left at the cross roads before the bus station!(5mins walk from there, or 10secs on a quad) Fab!! It’s a good sign when the locals eat there as well!

Overall, you could spend a fortune on accomm and be on a beach on closer to the town, but TBH for the price we paid and quality of the place we'd defo go back!! Really happy that we stayed there.

As for the overall cost of living, it's not as cheap as other Greek destinations. But I live in Dublin so I am used to high prices! For a vodka and coke you're talking about €6+, but they don't measure the spirits, they free pour. So you get a double at least. So in my mind that's good value!! Food varies, but it was not as expensive as I thought at all. Main courses vary from €9 to €20. We drank before we went out so that was handy. Like anywhere you spend what you want - eating, drinking, shopping....

Love Mykonos - we went in Sept which is end of season, so supposedly it wasn't as busy. We'd some crazy nights, out til 7am and some quiet nights too! They say it's crowded in July/Aug so we're happy we went in Sept. Super Paradise was still rocking the evening we went there, pple dancing at 5pm on tables etc! Oh and there was a power cut one night on the entire island for about 3 hrs. Meant to happen now and again on the island that time of year. We sat outside the apt in the patio area and drank with other pple under candle light! :)

There was some drama in Mykonos when we where there because we went with XL and they went bust on our second day. And the owners of the apts were nice to us. We made it home ok!! ;)

Some people we spoke to who were staying in the apts, haven been coming for years - great sign.

Everyone there was with island hopping, or couples. No kids, and it's really a family type accomm.

It's the best of both worlds, and the fact the accomm is nice a relaxing it makes for the perfect holiday! Will go back and stay at Paolas Town apts again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RebelCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed at Paolas Town as part of a holiday booked with Kosmar. Our accommodation comprised a self-catering studio - one room (plus bathroom) with twin beds, small kitchen area (with electric kettle, a first for Greece for us and very welcome) and adequate storage. The room was large enough, nicely decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was the best we've ever had in Greece; polished marble in abundance, lovely fittings, no random electrical wires and a shower curtain that fitted correctly. Heaven. There was also a small terrace area to the front that faced the pool.
The pool itself is quite small, more of a cooling-off pool than a one you can really swim in, and the area surrounding it is fairly small too. If everyone decided to use the pool area at once it would be seriously overcrowded, but that never happened while we were there.
The entire complex is well run and well maintained by the owning family who are genuinely friendly and welcoming. Safety deposit boxes are in reception, so you do keep having to bother the owners every time you want something, which did get a bit irksome for me, if not for them.
All in all a first rate place, amongst the best I've stayed at in Greece, but with one major bugbear - the walk to town and back. Paolas Town is a long steep uphill walk from town, no problem for the fit and active, a major problem for the elderly, the infirm, or those with children. This difficulty is magnified 10 fold by the fact that the walk is up a busy main road that for the most part has no pavement. The road outside the apartments is horrendously busy at peak times and crossing it can be a real hardship, especially if you're slow or unsure.
The property can't help where is is located, and the owners acknowledge that the traffic is a problem, but its location should be born in mind by anyone thinking of staying there. Even for the young and active, the walk back could still be dangerous given the traffic situation.
For the record we found an even steeper, precipitous almost, route into and back from town that at least had the benefits of a stunning view on the walk in, and no traffic. This is by walking up past Starbucks for about 100 yards and turning left (its the first left that doesn't just lead into a property). This comes out close to the Belvedere hotel, about 50 or 60 yards along from where the other route comes out. This route, while safer, is a total no-go for the old, infirm or unfit whose only other option is a taxi.
On balance I would probably stay there again, being fit and active and loving the property in itself. I'd be careful who I recommended it to though and cast shame on Kosmar that they don't make mention of this in their brochure.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SymiSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I stayed in Paolas town for 1 week, really well located outside the town where the roundabout is.
Has a swimmingpool and the apartment was big enough for 2 of us, with kitchenette and big bathroom.
Outside we had a terrace with a table and 2 chairs!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FP91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Stefanos hotels
2.4 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#3 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
338 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
2.3 mi away
Grace Mykonos Hotel
Grace Mykonos Hotel
#2 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mykonian Mare Luxury Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Mina Beach Hotel
Mina Beach Hotel
#8 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
74 reviews
2.3 mi away
Flaskos Studios
Flaskos Studios
#1 of 6 in Agios Stefanos
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paolas Town Apartments & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paolas Town Apartments & Studios

Address: Paolas Beach, Agios Stefanos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Agios Stefanos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Agios Stefanos
Price Range: $77 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Paolas Town Drafaki Apartments And Studios
Paolas Town Drafaki Apartments & Studios Hotel Mykonos
Paolas Town Apartments & Studios Mykonos/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing