We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful colonial hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed as part of a tour of Cuba ,friendly staff who are use to coach parties ,checkin was very efficient and we were quickly shown to our rooms .Well located for the local sites of interest .Rooms are very large and spotless.Lovely courtyard to be able to sit and read or relax.The front terrace was also good for people watching !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary38677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent for short stays. The colonial city is very peculiar. From this location you can easily reach other important, touristic places to the central region of Cuba (e.g. Trinidad, Cayo Santa María, Cayo Guillermo, Cienfuegos...). The service is very good and it's almost personalised. The rooms are bigger than average, with comfortable, colonial style furniture. Spacious bathrooms, like beach & sun hotels. So, you can travel to near beaches and take an amasing bath after that. The windows don't block the noise around but the place is usually quiet. This hotel is excellent for short stays, specially if you need to travel to other places in the centre of Cuba...

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are better because of the city view. You can enjoy the church view and the city centre...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobeC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely colonial hotel in a rather indifferent town. We were told our room (number 14) was one of the best rooms in the hotel 'with a view of the city'. In fact we had a tiny tiny window which had a view of a roof, but some of the rooms looked like they had no windows at all. It was clean and spacious, and I can well believe it is one of the better places to stay in the town. The outdoor terrace and the courtyard were very pretty and we had a nice meal the night we arrived. Service was poor though. Check in was frosty, and everyone tried to overcharge us for everything in the hope we wouldn't notice, which was a shame.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mudpuppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nice spacious room and balcony with views over the square.Food not great but ok no buffet in the morning just measured portions albeit fresh eggs etc. One issue having a front room on Saturday night the club opposite and the square were very noisy until circa 4 a.m. Sunday was fairly quiet.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

don't be put off because this is a hostal-it is simply the hotel rating system. This hotel is full of character, A colonial style building with an inner court yard and a restaurant area on a covered terrace overlooking a small square. The rooms are large with minibar and TV, with a good sized bathroom. The food here was excellent and the bars prices were good. There is no lift but porters will carry your bags upstairs if you wish. This hotel is situated in a quiet street-our room overlloked the street and we heard no noise at all. If you are spending the night in Sancti Spiritus this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our rooms were around a central courtyard as in most older Cuban buildings. Rooms were perhaps on the small side but acceptable with a neat shower room en-suite.

Breakfast was served to you and was fine. We are now venturing out of the main tourist hotel areas and this was quite acceptable. Reasonable travelling accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This lovely colonial hotel is right on the square near the market. The interior of the hotel is beautiful with old furniture, courtyards and plants. We had a very nice evening meal here in the open courtyard at the front of the hotel overlooking the square.

Room Tip: we had a room with no window - just a wooden section you could open up which looked over the inner c...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sancti Spiritus
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#5 of 70 in Salamanca
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#16 of 70 in Salamanca
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Sara
Hosteria Sara
#12 of 70 in Salamanca
226 reviews
4548.2 mi away
Carrusel Rancho Hatuey
Carrusel Rancho Hatuey
#1 of 3 in Sancti Spiritus
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo

Address: Honorato del Castillo No 12 esq a Maximo Gomez, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Sancti Spiritus
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sancti Spiritus
Price Range: $77 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Hotel Sancti Spiritus
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Cuba/Sancti Spiritus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing