We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, poor service”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely colonial hotel in a rather indifferent town. We were told our room (number 14) was one of the best rooms in the hotel 'with a view of the city'. In fact we had a tiny tiny window which had a view of a roof, but some of the rooms looked like they had no windows at all. It was clean and spacious, and I can well believe it is one of the better places to stay in the town. The outdoor terrace and the courtyard were very pretty and we had a nice meal the night we arrived. Service was poor though. Check in was frosty, and everyone tried to overcharge us for everything in the hope we wouldn't notice, which was a shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudpuppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    84
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
111
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Nice spacious room and balcony with views over the square.Food not great but ok no buffet in the morning just measured portions albeit fresh eggs etc. One issue having a front room on Saturday night the club opposite and the square were very noisy until circa 4 a.m. Sunday was fairly quiet.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

don't be put off because this is a hostal-it is simply the hotel rating system. This hotel is full of character, A colonial style building with an inner court yard and a restaurant area on a covered terrace overlooking a small square. The rooms are large with minibar and TV, with a good sized bathroom. The food here was excellent and the bars prices were good. There is no lift but porters will carry your bags upstairs if you wish. This hotel is situated in a quiet street-our room overlloked the street and we heard no noise at all. If you are spending the night in Sancti Spiritus this is the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Our rooms were around a central courtyard as in most older Cuban buildings. Rooms were perhaps on the small side but acceptable with a neat shower room en-suite.

Breakfast was served to you and was fine. We are now venturing out of the main tourist hotel areas and this was quite acceptable. Reasonable travelling accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles_and_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
289 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This lovely colonial hotel is right on the square near the market. The interior of the hotel is beautiful with old furniture, courtyards and plants. We had a very nice evening meal here in the open courtyard at the front of the hotel overlooking the square.

Room Tip: we had a room with no window - just a wooden section you could open up which looked over the inner c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I had stayed here before a while back, We decided to stay once again. One thing I like about this place is the consistency, Same staff, Rooms and common areas are well kept if not better than before. The service is great! Staff really go beyond for you. The restaurant on the main floor is charming and offers decent meals and decent prices. All I can say if this hotel was in Havana it would be 4 times the price.

Will we go back , Definitely!!

Thank You Hostal Del Rijo! Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplycuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is just lovely. It is small and welcoming and full of colonial charm. The rooms are comfortable, the service is good and it is located right in the town. It has no pool and no lift but it cannot be beaten for atmosphere. The courtyard bar is just perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltononThamesGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sancti Spiritus
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#2 of 70 in Salamanca
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
995 reviews
4548.2 mi away
Carrusel Rancho Hatuey
Carrusel Rancho Hatuey
#1 of 3 in Sancti Spiritus
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.1 mi away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#15 of 70 in Salamanca
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo

Property: Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo
Address: Honorato del Castillo No 12 esq a Maximo Gomez, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Sancti Spiritus
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Sancti Spiritus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Hotel Sancti Spiritus
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Cuba/Sancti Spiritus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing