We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sancti Spiritus is a wonderful Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sancti Spiritus is a wonderful Town”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

one of my favorite resting places in cuba. Town is full of wonderful experiences . Markets in the morning, lunch along the river, little sleep, tours, wonderful steak on top floor of resturant house along the walking plaza, dancing under the stars. eh Cuba

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dondonox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    82
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
110
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

On arrival we were informed the hotel had no record of our booking but the helpful receptionist made a number of calls which resulted in a room being found for us. Our room overlooked the square and unfortunately there was a high level of street noise from the German tour group dining on the hotel terrace, a drunken Cuban singing his heart out at 2 am, and someone trying repeatedly and unsuccessfully to start his car at 6 am. Breakfast was adequate but not up to the standard we had found elsewhere. All that aside, it is a charming little hotel, centrally located close to the pedestrian area and street market, and just a short walk from the famous bridge which is a national monument. It was fine for one night but would not have wanted to stay longer, partly because Sancti Spiritus is very small and there is not a great deal to do to pass the time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel located close to a street market and a nice pedestrian only street. A nice historic cobblestone area is close to the hotel. All the staff were very helpful. It goes by a museum, a historic bridge and the Yayabo river

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are the most interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max8219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandwrog
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrived quite early and were offered a selection of two rooms, and a choice of another room if we could wait until 2.30pm. We decided to wait and got a lovely large room (no 5) with very high ceilings and good air con. unit. Unlike some reviewers' reports, there was plenty of hot water in our bathroom. Although it was overlooking the square (with Saint Valentine's day celebrations in full swing) we slept really well here.
The reception staff were excellent and very helpful at all times, and our stay as a result in Sancti Spiritus town was a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwernafalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A very lovely and charming hotel. Uncomparable to other state-run hotels in Cuba. Staff is friendly and helpful. Bar and snacks are very good. Try to get a room that looks to the square or street, as inner rooms to the courtyard have no windows and no daylight. We were warned that our rooms with balcony might be noisy, because it looked out to the neighbouring Casa de la Trova on a Saturday night. However, the music played only until 12.30 and we actually had a premier place to listen to the bands, with drinks from a very well-stuffed minibar. On the opposite side of the street is a good restaurant, Casa de Mesón, where you should try Ropa Vieja (beef stew).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicantraveller5178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were participating in a people to people exchange group to Cuba. This was our first night in Cuba. We arrived to the hotel in the early evening, after touring a bit of Cienfuegos. We had dinner at the hotel that night, and the meal was good, but honestly not memorable. We went for a walk into town after dinner and enjoyed the lovely cobblestone streets, and were amused by all the young people dressed up to enjoy this Friday night about the town square. While I liked the hotel, its quaint courtyard spaces and seating areas, the room we were given was in an awful location. The twin beds hard, no windows in the room except the bathroom window into the interior courtyard alcove, and all the noise from the bar and lounge below could be heard in our room. I tried stuffing tissues in my ears to ease the sound a little and we ran the room air-conditioner blower fan to see if that would help drown it out. It did not. Finally the music let up, but the beds were just too hard for me to be comfortable. The morning hot shower would have been welcome, if there had been any water pressure and hot water. At least the breakfast was good and we were served a basic omelet and delicious coffee.

Room Tip: Make sure you AVOID the rooms over the bar and lounge if you want to sleep. They are dark, windowles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great part of the town, across from the cathedral and Casa de Musica. My room was facing the interior courtyard so I had no privacy but it was a great room. The hotel has great rooms and places to sit and lounge around. If you have traveled to Cuba, you will appreciate the water pressure in the hotel and bath tubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonso d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sancti Spiritus
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 70 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 70 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
4597.6 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo

Property: Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo
Address: Honorato del Castillo No 12 esq a Maximo Gomez, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Sancti Spiritus
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sancti Spiritus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Hotel Sancti Spiritus
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Cuba/Sancti Spiritus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing