We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate Hotel, The Best in Sancti Spiritus City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last year for 1 night, I had not known reviews were up about this property. The property is excellent, very intimate and centrally situated. I stayed in a Suite facing el parque. Rooms were refurbished to an excellent state, washroom was large and even had a bath tub. King size bed was confortable! The restaurant in the main lobby was great and prices were quite reasonable. This is the #1 property Sancti Spirtus has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplycuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 195 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

After the modern Parque Central hotel in Havana this was a real shift to more authentic Cuba= and very nice too. We were here for 2 nights ( after Santa Clara and a base for Trinidad) in rm 3, on the first floor, overlooking the square- a large, elegant and stylish room with a huge bed and old furnishings, high ceiling, large windows-with a modern bathroom, safe, iron, ironing board and hair drier.
It was a noisy ( but bringing in life) in the suare outside during the day and until 10pmish but after that fine.
The bar and courtyard spaces are lovely.
Breakfasts were fine. We had one evening meal which was very dull, even by Cuban standards. One day we had a good lunch at the restauarant across the square= Mason de Plaza.
There is also a Casa de Trova, for local music, on the square.
Try to go into the church on the square to see the amazing icons/statues.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLCgladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Perhaps the cleanest and well run hotel of its class in Cuba. Very well and sympathetically refurbished, good service and great location in the town. Sancti Spiritus is sleepy and small, but a good place to stop off and this hotel (nb it is anything BUT a "hostal" as the name suggests) is certainly recommended for at least one night.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve1982uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

On an organised tour of Cuba we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The house was built in 1818 and belonged to a doctor, who gave free medical treatment to the local population. He also ran a small herbal pharmacie, still going strong today, just across the square. His philanthropic care was frowned upon and he was shot. It is true that some of the rooms have no windows and also that there is no lift and that the stairs are very steep. We were fortunate and had a room on the 1st floo,r with a window overlooking a side street. Assistance with the cases was offered both on arrival and on departure. Breakfast was described as being between 7a.m & 10 a.m, but some of our party, arriving at 7:15 a.m found no one there.If you have an early start you might want to tell the staff this the night before. The food was adequate by Cuban standards, much the same as everywhere else. Sancti Spiritus has little to offer the tourist, but it is only an hour or so from both Trinidad and Santa Clara, both of which are included on most tours, so if driving yourself around Cuba a reasonable place to be based for a night or two. We did experience one noisy late evening, some form of music festival in the bar opposite and a trumpet player rehersing under our window until quite late. Good view of the town and mountains from the roof terrace and the courtyard with tiles and fountain, were delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel is well located and has been beautifully restored. The room had no windows but had doors with openings on to the the internal courtyard. The staff were excellent especially the barman Ricardo. There is a roof terrace with good views of the town. The hotel should utilise this more...perhaps a roof top bar?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Del Rijo is a small hotel in a traditional spanish style mansion house. It is built around a courtyard with plants and fountain. The hotel's small restaurant is set in this courtyard. To get access to the bedrooms you have to climb a winding staircase, there is no lift. There are only 3 bedrooms with windows, all which look over the square, but these rooms can be noisy due to the church bells. The remainder of the rooms are internal and have no windows. They are however roomy, dark, cool and peaceful all with antique furniture, but the bathrooms are very modern and clean due to the recent refurbishment. Without exception everyone on our tour fell in love with this hotel. It has a really lovely relaxed feel about it. The bar is outside on a terrace overlooking a lovely village square. Breakfast is served at your table and includes juice, fresh fruit and eggs cooked as you like.
Dinner is available in the hotel and the meal we ate there was good, but the choice is limited. The only other place to stay in Sancti Spiritus us Hotel Plaza, run by the same group, but not as pleasant. You can also eat here in the evenings.
There are very few places to eat in Sancti Spiritus. We ate dinner at the restaurant opposite the hotel, I think it was called Meson de la Plaza, 10 cucs buys you the set meal (which is just about all they do) which is a small salad, soup, meat and rice, a small icecream and a coffee. The Mojito's here are really good and really strong. You have been warned. We had a really lovely lunch at restaurant Quinta Santa Elena which is set on the river bank by the Yayabo bridge. Wind your way down the cobbled backstreets to this hotel or walk on to the bridge and take the sideroad from there. As with all restaurants in Sancti Spiritus, they do not always open when there is no custom, but they will always open if they know you want to eat there. So check first, and let them know you are coming.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jongleurgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on night one of the classical cuba tour (thomas cook)

LOCATION
The town square is close by as beautifully painted pastel coloured buildings which surround this colonial style hotel. It is very close to restaurants, bank and market.

STAFF
Very friendly staff greeted us,we asked for the use of a safe which was $2CUC per night, as we had arrived straight from the airport we only had UK currency with us and the man who met us at the hotel said it was fine to pay for the safe on departure in the morning (monday) when the banks opened. He also allowed us to set up a tab in the bar which could be paid the next day also.

ACCOMODATION
Please see photographs attached to this review. The hotel has just installed a new plumbing system so please be patient when using the shower as it takes a minute to warm up. The rooms have high ceilings and are beautifully decorated. The beds are massive!! We were in room 12 on the 2nd floor which has a very steep staircase. The porter kindly hauled our 40KGs of luggage singlehandedly downstairs the next morning (dont forget to tip him - the average daily wage is $1CUC so think carefully how much you would be willing to haul someone elses luggage down two flights of stairs for and then tip accordingly!!!)
Although our room was fab, one thing to note is to take care with the little step down from the bedroom area and then up to the bathroom area as it doesnt half hurt when you fall over it!!

FOOD
For evening meal we ate at the nearby Plaza hotel - the food was great with a nice choice of chicken, pork or fish with salads and creme caramel (mmm!!)
For breakfast in the lovely courtyard of the hotel, there were fried eggs, toast, ham and tomatoes... lovely start to the day!!!

LOCAL INFO
The bank is 2 mins walk away. There is a security guard on the door who will show you where to wait. Make sure you have your passport with you to exchange your pounds/euros/dollars. They wont do debit card transactions or credit card transactions in this bank as there is no ATM. This bank opens at 8.30am.

There is a lovely colourful market in Sancti Spiritus but unfortunately only cuban pesos can be used at it not CUC. Its nice to wander through and do a bit of window shopping though.

CLASSICAL CUBA TOUR
If you are staying at this hotel as part of the Thomas Cook Classical Cuba tour you are in for a treat. Our fantastic tour guide Danys took us on a unique tour of Sancti Spiritus - we visited a cuban market where locals can use their ration books to get their daily loaf of bread, portion of meat, beans, rice etc. it gives you a real insight into the daily routine of many cubans (obviously bearing in mind that all tour guides work for the government department of culture so are limited in how open they can be about "real" cuba).

This tour will also leave you infuriated when you hear fellow britons, canadians and americans complaining about the food standards when you can see what an average cuban person has to survive on. Sancti Spiritus is interesting as it has "local heros" which are depicted in statues - you can actuallly see these modern day charactors wandering around the town and talk to them if you are lucky!! (farmers, painters etc)

On the tour after staying at the plaza hotel you will visit a pottery factory in Trinidad. The prices are great and you even get a free coffee. There are a lot of people outside asking for soap for their children or children asking for sweets - its up to you what you do. Some people said no and the people didnt request anything further, there was no bartering but if you do leave them a little something be it a few cents, pesos or some chocolate they are very grateful. Trinidad is great, we went back to the little cocktail bar (part of trip) in our free time as it was so nice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sancti Spiritus hotels
4548.2 mi away
Carrusel Rancho Hatuey
Carrusel Rancho Hatuey
#1 of 3 in Sancti Spiritus
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel E Don Florencio
Hotel E Don Florencio
#4 of 16 in Sancti Spiritus
39 reviews
4548.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#13 of 16 in Sancti Spiritus
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo

Address: Honorato del Castillo No 12 esq a Maximo Gomez, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Sancti Spiritus
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Sancti Spiritus
Price Range: $78 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cubanacan Hostal del Rijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Hotel Sancti Spiritus
Cubanacan Hostal Del Rijo Cuba/Sancti Spiritus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing