We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice touch of creativity”

Le Fangourin Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $43
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Fangourin lies in a delightful setting, tucked away in the midst of the Beau Plan Estate, with magnificent views from its veranda across lush, tropical countryside leading in the distance to Pieter Both Mountain. The cuisine is refined and incorporates island flavours in dishes such as smoked marlin tartar with a grilled aubergine chutney and a delicate watercress emulsion, silver Sea-bream, and rock lobster salad. There are also some delicious house-made desserts featuring the famous special sugars, including Crème brûlée with fresh vanilla, Dark chocolate fondant with a hint of molasses, banana caramelized with Golden bakery sugar and a Coconut and fangourin sorbet.
Tuscany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice touch of creativity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

After visiting " L'Aventure du sucre" my husband and I had lunch at Le Fangourin last year and we returned this year, In both occasions we ate very well in the beautiful park: the dishes were very well presented , they had a touch of creativity we enjoyed, in particular in the desserts ( mine was papaya cooked in sugar accompanied with passion fruit and orange confit served with a pinapple sorbet lightly perfumed with fresh chili ), and the prices were reasonable, it's a pity that the portions, as it always happens in an elegant restaurant, are not bigger!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaTuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    80
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Quite simply THE Restaurant of Mauritius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lunch at Le Fangourin restaurant was finally an unforgettable moment. Nice menu which offers a wide variety of local dishes right from the starters to the desserts. Wonderful settings amidst its surrounding gardens, friendly and very efficient waiters, we really felt pampered during the meal. When the plates came to our table, we were impressed by the food presentation, the quality and taste of the dishes. When you add the mouth-watering food with the wonderful service, you will surely want to go back and enjoy this experience once again.Le Fangourin is a must when you go to Mauritius, THE restaurant on the island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“At your own risk!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

OK, let’s start with the positives. Beautiful setting, nicely decorated and stylishly laid out.
Arrived (having booked) at 1pm good welcome, had a table on the terrace under a large umbrella. Beer and water turned up promptly. Decent wine list.

Very limited menu, 3 starters,. 3 mains and 3 desserts. We chose the prawns to start, I went for the Creole Sausages in a spicy tomato sauce. My companion went for the Grouper. 5 minutes later the waiter turned up to tell up they have no prawns (I later noticed a group of Vietnamese had per-ordered and got the prawns). Now I have working in kitchens in my youth. It is not rocketry for a chef to keep the staff informed of availability and at 5 minutes out of Port Louis, go get some prawns!

So I passed on a starter, my companion went for the Carpaccio of Tuna. The waiter the re-laid for the main course. A few minutes later I noticed I have a fish knife and fork. Bringing this to the attention of the waiter a nervous look began on his face. He had told the kitchen 2 Grouper. Instead of starting again, the Chef opted for the lukewarm Creole Sausage and rubber Grouper option, in a foolish attempt to correct things. Both dishes were returned to the kitchen (something I have not done for years). The sausage returned 5 minutes later somewhat warmed up but hardly hot. The second Grouper was slightly less murdered. All in all, I think the fish died in vain.

We left, 10 minutes later my companion was desperately in need of a toilet. I lasted an hour before I succumbed. Now I thought the ‘Chef gets their own back on legitimate complaints’ school had done its day. Maybe not?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Argonauticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“OK for Mauritius, Good for most places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Good salads and basic fare, great views. Value ok.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gda_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Michelin Star Quality Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not open for dinner except for private functions. However, I highly recommend it for lunch. The food was absolutely top-notch, reminiscent of Michelin one-star restaurants in Europe. The setting is lovely, in an outdoor area covered by a canopy overlooking a green garden. It is located adjacent to L'Aventure du Sucre museum and therefore can be easily combined with a visit of this very interesting museum, which chronicles the history of the island and of the sugar cane plantations.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartaH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Fangourin Restaurant also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Balaclava, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Le Fangourin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing