We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique Guest House experience on the edge of the skerries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vaderoarnas Vardshus
Ranked #1 of 3 Fjallbacka B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Though this Värdshus (Guest House) is open all year round, its seriously busy season is very short - just July - when Sweden takes its holidays. Everyone's back at work or school after the first weekend in August, worried that the days are getting shorter. At this latitude through August the sun doesn't set until about 9pm but its going down does get noticeably earlier day by day and - after 21st September - the nights are longer than the days. So August on the Swedish coast is quiet and quite a few facilities, some tours, events, shops, restaurants and even hotels are already closed.
The attraction of this archipelago of skerries - over 300 islands(95% uninhabited) off the Bohuslän coast of West Sweden is raw, natural beauty.
The Värdshus is on one of the largest outer islands and grew out of what were buildings used by the pilots who in days long past did their business with ships seeking passage through these dangerous islands and reefs. Not much need for such chaps in this age of GPS, sat-navs and on-board charts.
The main customers on Storö Väderöarna Island are boat-folk (of the sail or motor yacht kind) - up to 300 yachts can be moored round here on a good summer's day. Largely Swedish of course but as many Norwegians because the weather and the prices are so much better here than up North.
I mention this because the features of the Värdshus have obviously evolved to cater for this boaty market. So the hotel side of things, though tastefully "boutique" are basic. 6 mixed size bedrooms upstairs making use of two small showers and two small toilets downstairs. So, take some slippers and a dressing gown and hang on tight to the rails down the steep and creaky stairs on your way for a pee in the middle of the night.
On the other hand there are compensations. There are two log-fired hot-tubs overlooking the jetties in front of house (though these only get stoked at the height of the season or when you book your own soaking). There are separate and mixed saunas overlooking the sea and of course a bathing area so you can take a chilly sea plunge after your bastu boiling. If you ask nicely someone might lend you a rod to fish from shore. Or there's a fishing boat which can be hired to take you to fish mackerel or pick up crayfish which they'll boil for you on the jetty (again mostly a "main-season" or a specially booked feature).
And, absolutely gratis, there's a wonderful well-marked walk round the island which will take you an hour or so over the rugged rock'n'heather landscape. Stunning sea and skerry views. You can also climb steep (enclosed) stairs to the top of the pilot's lookout from which they used to keep a sharp eye open for passing trade - a real WOW of a view!
The restaurant offers a sensibly short but excellent menu. For lunch, as part of our overnight package I had the biggest prawn (open) sandwich you're ever likely to see. For dinner I had the exquisitely spiced mussel soup followed by a massive halibut steak with a sauce of smoked salmon, bacon and aquavit (?!). I had only one criticism - chef decorates and embellishes with the stems of snap peas - obviously his passion - not mine I'm afraid - far too bitter and not at all my kind of flavour. The breakfast buffet was extensive and excellent - from a range of yogurts and cereals to scrambled eggs and tasty bacon, from fresh fruits and home-made marmalade to sausages, hams and cheeses. Good strong Swedish coffee ad lib but as ever you'll be disappointed (if you're English) by the choice of infusions. No "builder's" tea here (good tip if you're English and in Sweden or Europe or the USA - take your ownPG pyramids).
Though mobile phone connections (but not 3G) are good, they do NOT provide wi-fi (Nowadays why on earth not?)
Unless you're cruising by on your yacht, this isn't the sort of place you'll just drop into. If you're touring by car you'll probably not even discover the island unless you've done good online research or bump into the information office in the tiny old fishing (now yachty) port of Fjällbacka. You'll then take a half-hour trip on a high speed motor boat to get here - and that can be quite an adventure in itself - the young Dutch kids in front of us thought they were on a funfair white-knuckle ride and threw their hands in the air and squealed every time we took off from the top of a wave.
Total cost for an overnight weekday package in August including a good lunch, two course dinner, breakfast buffet, sauna, accommodation and fast return motor-boat was nearly £200GBP (plus alcoholic beverages). So, not cheap - but quite an experience!

Room Tip: Try to get the front right hand double room - it's just bigger with (even) better views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanMcAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Vaderoarnas Vardshus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

This small Inn is located on one of the most fabulous islands on the west coats of Sweden and unless you have your own boat you have to take the 20-minute high speed private ferry from Fjällbacka to get there.
There are only walking paths on the island so bring some good walking shoes and and warm jacket, even in the summer. Also be prepared to cover up for any possible middle of the night treks to the communal bathroom, which is located by the main entrance to the hotel, as you might encounter non-hotel visitors using the hotel bathrooms.

The rooms in the main building are small but tidy with a spectacular ocean view. The two beds in each room are all single and pushed together, with some rooms offering a third built-in bunk bed where you can draw a curtain for privacy. There are additional rooms in an annex building close by. Those rooms are even smaller and only have a tiny window for ventilation and we couldn't leave the door open because an unpleasant bathroom odor wafting from the main building.

Due to the isolation of the island, and lack of fresh water, the bathroom situation is not ideal and there was a distinct unpleasant odor lingering by the main entrance. The Inn offers two communal toilets, in separate small rooms, and two communal showers with private doors and each door has a lock.
I chose not to shower and cringed when I had to go to the bathroom as the bathrooms were completely disgusting the entire 24 hours we were there. The pretty white doors were sticky and almost black with hand-prints around the handles on both sides, floor wet and covered with toilet paper scraps and wastebasket overflowing.

The small staff is efficient and mostly friendly, but clearly overworked. I tried to purchase a bottle of water from restaurant bar but was advised by the woman behind the counter that she was too busy and that I should go to the harbor cafe to make my purchase. A bit annoying since I had just come from the cafe where there was a line out the door with families buying ice cream, which is why I went to the restaurant bar in the first place.

Seafood is the main feature on the restaurant dinner menu and the kitchen produced an absolutely superb meal. Breakfast is equally memorable with egg cooked various ways, fresh bread, cheeses, cereals, bacon, toast, fruit delicious coffee and a selection of marmalade. Kudos to the kitchen.

The place is sold out most nights during the summer so making reservations a month or two in advance is suggested, especially if you are a large group. It is also necessary to book the high speed ferry to and from Fjällbacka in advance through the Inn.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms right above the main entrance as the front door creeks and slams through the ni...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New_York_Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here for work and will simply have to go back. The location is stunning about five miles or so from the mainland you get here by boat, which is a fun ride on its own! The accommodation is clean tidy and basic, but comfortable. I had a really sound sleep. Worth exploring the island to see the old pilots accommodation and light houses. If you can spend at least two nights to get the best from your stay. The staff are very good at making you feel comfortable and service is attentive and very professional. The waterside bar and hot tub have some stunning views over the bay and islands beyond. Finally the food is superb, fresh fish and local produce exquisitly prepared worth staying two nights for alone! Breakfast was also very good with a big selection! You must go there!

Room Tip: Worth getting a front facing room for a better view. Bear in mind facilities are shared also.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brainsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Imagine staying overnight at a small inn situated on a small island with open views right in the middle of the sea. Thats exactly what you can do here. They only have a few rooms so book well ahead. The trip out here takes some 20 minutes with a boat from Fjällbacka. The Inn organizes the trip. The island used to be a home for ship pilots and there is a nice lookout where you can learn more about the history. The view from the lookout is spectacular and amazing. There is also a tiny museum on the island with a few rooms, a good idea for a rainy day.The staff of the Inn is very friendly and you will be met when the boat arrives and they tell you the history of the place and give practical advice. Our room was on top of the restaurant. It had an amazing sea view towards the harbour. It was pretty small but well kept and clean. Toilet and shower is shared downstairs. The have a new sauna right by the sea free for the guests to use. There is no TV instead you can do nice walks around the islands. They have paths that are well marked. Restaurant was good and so was the breakfast. Excellent scrambled eggs. A trip out here is a bit expensive but definitely worth the money and the effort, cause you get an extraordinary experience staying here on a tiny island in the middle of the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Väderöarna is quite unique in the middle of the Skagerack.
Good cuisine, friendly staff.
However, don't expect luxurios rooms or surroundings.
If planning a conference, call them to get all the details.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikBehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Be att få rum i annexet om ni vill ha egen dusch/toalett (till samma pris)
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MystiskeLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Inger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fjallbacka
0.0 mi away
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
Stora Hotellet Bryggan
#1 of 1 in Fjallbacka
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vann Spa Hotell & Konferens
0.0 mi away
TanumStrand
TanumStrand
#1 of 1 in Grebbestad
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Strandflickornas Havshotell
0.0 mi away
Fjallbacka Pensionat och Vandrarhem
0.0 mi away
Villa Evalotta
Villa Evalotta
#1 of 7 in Fjallbacka
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaderoarnas Vardshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaderoarnas Vardshus

Address: Fjallbacka Fyren AB | Falkevägen, Fjallbacka 450 71, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Fjallbacka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fjallbacka
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vaderoarnas Vardshus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing