We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, clean, friendly staff, great location, food awful”
Review of Hotel Rivijera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rivijera
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Reviewed May 27, 2011

As a group we visited this hotel, nothing was too much trouble and the staff always had a friendly smile. The rooms were spotless, the location wonderful. The scenery to die for but the food was pretty poor. Very bland and uninspiring choices although the local brown (rye type) bread was good. Once the food selection is sorted it will be wonderful

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkersAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivijera, Manager at Hotel Rivijera, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2011

Dear,

Many thanks for this wonderful review following your recent stay with us.
I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed spending the holiday with us and I have shared your lovely comments with all of our team.

I am delighted to inform you that we will shortly be working on variety of buffet table, I hope this will be in place for your next visit.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Rivijera hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Bojan Sutovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 160 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were put in the Hotel Rivijera on the recommendation of our travel agent who said the other hotel we booked wasn't as nice. This was an ok hotel, near the beach front. None of the balconies face the beach front, and it seemed pretty pointless at times to have a balcony unless you're drying off your clothes or in our neighbours cases having a cigarette.

At this time of year, it was peak holiday season. So the main beach near the hotel was quite crowded (there are several to choose from in this area). The pool area was a good place to get some sun, but you need to get your towels early and claim your chairs before breakfast.

Some of the hotel staff was helpful, if they spoke English. We got there quite late and they provided some food for us, but bear in mind there isn't room service in hotel. The rest of the time, we had issues with people providing us messages from our local travel representative.

Someone else mentioned the noise from the bar from the beach. The music did get pretty loud at night and made it impossible to go to bed early.

The room overall was large, but we had better expectations of the bed and its amenities.
The room had a dining room table, a couch, tv, and a separate area for the bedroom. The bed itself was two twin beds pushed together, which made it uncomfortable. We also expected wi-fi access, but it was only available in the hotel lobby and bar. (The bar did have a PS3 for kids).

The one thing you have to watch for is the stray cats outside the hotel and also on the beach strip. My husband got bitten by fleas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuroimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Some of the points have been mentioned already, so I keep it short:
+ garden
+ location
+ very clean
+ food ok, though getting dull if you stay for more than 1 wk
- a/c insufficient; have to open terrasse door to get cool air at night, BUT
- loud music blaring until 1.30, 1.45am, so better keep door shut
- worst: treatment by manager. Twice they made us get up early in the morning until then to inform us that the rent-car we had reserved was not available. Instead of telling us in time so we could get another car, they only told us in the early morning. When it happened the 2nd day in a row we asked them to pay the cost difference, should the car-rent be more expensive we would rent somewhere else. The receptionist had to phone (we are talking 5 EUR here) the hotel director, who declined. When I asked to talk to him, the MD declined to talk to me as he "wanted to keep on sleeping" (7.30h am) When he later arrived, he told us we were behaving badly (we were neither yelling nor insulting anyone just telling them to find a solution for the problem they had caused) and that it is "your problem, as you want to rent a car, not me". We complained with TUI (the German company we booked with) but that did not change anything. Even later on, the MD (Marko) did not bother to say sorry or anything. Quite strange behaviour for the manager of a 4* hotel towards guests that had booked 2 wks HB.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Started with 4 hour transfer from airport. Rooms very clean, but paid for superior and only got normal. Had to stay for 3 nights before could be moved. Every room with balcony but absolutely no views even though sea was only 50yards away. Huge trees right up to balconies. Small bar just on sea front started loud music about 10pm and carried on until 2am. Not good if you were going on any trips next day. All trips out were very long especially the one to Albania. Pool area very good although you had to reserve seats very early in morning. Food was excellent but similar every day. Soon got bored.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buddy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and agree that the public areas are kept impeccably clean. However, our room's cot was full of dead wasps and flys, and room service failed to make our room 2 times - incredibly, once after repeated mentions to the front desk! Similarly, the pool is great but there really is no working jacuzzi. The staff at the playgournd are wonderful as are the waiters (though we got a couple of wrong dishes due to communication/language issues). The reception staff was mixed, with a couple of warm and friendly employess grouped with cold and incompetent fools. One shocking thing at the hotel - do not expect an early checkout! They go and check your room before you can check out!! This has never happened to me across dozens of Countries and scores of hotels (including 2 star joints!). Anyway, I would have recommended this hotel but the 15 minute delay due to the check out 'issue', coupled by the failure of them to call a cab when I first requested, almost cost us our flight, and so the recommendation. Just to make things funnier, they called the same odious cabbie that I specifically requested they do not call. We had to change taxis at Budva as we were all sick in that cigarette box, and I now wonder if they did it on purpose! The internet connection was pathetic so I am giving them a 'no' for HS internet service!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbblue2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The hotel was the cleanest place we have ever seen - the rooms and the communal areas including the pool and garden were immaculate. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the most of the desk staff spoke good English.The food was good and there was always enough choice to suit everyone. The town was nice - not widely exciting but plenty of cafes. The beach was crowded but the pool was always peaceful and a good place to relax, even though the hotel was full. Lots of very well behaved children playing with their parents (ie no need for a children's club). We hired the hotel car for the day and went to Kotor (lovely). and Cetinje. Breathtaking scenery.
Overall a really relaxing and perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devraA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I booked through Inghams and we stayed for a week in July. Having had read some mixed reviews about the hotel and Montenegro itself we went with lower expectations than usual but I would say overall it was better than expected.

Things to be aware of though:

The hotel overbooks its rooms - we spent our first night in a 3* hotel 10 minutes walk away up a steep hill. We are aware of three other couples and a single man who were also accommodated elsewhere (two couples for two nights). While we were given a complementary excursion of our choice from the hotel by way of compensation it obviously made the start of the holiday stressful.

The reception/manager may not give you a truthful story - we were told the alternative accommodation was 4* which is was not. We were originally told it was one night but the other hotel had been told we would be there for two nights. We were told by the manager that none of the rooms in the hotel Rivijera had sea views but according to one of the other reviews here they do.

The staff are a mixed bunch, some stand out as being friendly and helpful such as Larissa on reception, others are keen to chat and improve their English, others couldn't care less.

Food was plentiful and although not very adventurous it was well prepared and tasty enough. I don't know if the menu is repeated weekly. The hotel was kept in good order, rooms were clean but on two occasions Housekeeping forgot to leave towels. There are no plugs in the sinks and the air conditioning was inadequate in our room.

The hotel and resort are very popular with families (who mostly appeared to be Russian) so if you want a quiet peaceful holiday this is probably not the best place for you. We had the joy of seeing a naked child urinating next to a table in the outside dining area one breakfast which was not pleasant. Seeing the same child naked in the swimming pool put us off using that. Not really the hotel's fault but one of the perils of family hotels.

We didn't use the beach as it looked horrendous with people packed in the space, the area around the swimming pool was great though - there seemed to be enough sunbeds and shades to go around.

Overall, nice hotel, nice surroundings, it just needs better management.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluebarnabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petrovac
0.4 mi away
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danica
Hotel Danica
#5 of 10 in Petrovac
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vile Oliva
Hotel Vile Oliva
#3 of 10 in Petrovac
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#6 of 10 in Petrovac
23 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
6.8 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivijera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivijera

Address: Obala bb, Petrovac, Budva Municipality 85300, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Petrovac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Price Range: $82 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rivijera 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rivijera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing