We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, otherwise average”
Review of Hotel Danica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Danica
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The clear advantage of this hotel is that it is only a short walk from the beachfront where there are many restaurants and shops. Other than that, it is a bit difficult to rate because Montenegro is only now becoming a tourist destination for the West (lots of Russians here). We drove, and parking was an issue as there is room for maybe 5 cars. Also it was a tricky place to get to with a few one-way streets and lots of double-parked cars everywhere. The room we had was smallish and dated but clean. There was a pool, we did not see anyone using it but it appeared to be fine and it as cleaned daily. The included breakfast was limited. Staff was friendly and helpful and all spoke good English. It was not expensive and was fine for us for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

I would have liked to have given this hotel full marks. It was very clean with big rooms, air conditioning, good food, good location and helpful service at the front desk. Unfortunately the breakfast was chaotic. The lone waitress couldn't cope and plates were left everywhere with the remains of food attracting wasps. Invariably something was forgotten or took ages to arrive. Dinner was much better because of fewer guests, and the quality was good. But there was only ever one waitress all week for both meals and they badly need more waiting staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here after a recommendation from my parents who had also stayed here as part of a package tour. It was a great holiday made special by the staff and us landing lucky with a great crowd of fellow guests. The hotel itself is great value and well kept and clean and with a great hearty breakfast. The real draw here is the staff who were friendly, professional and very hospitable, we left with a great impression of Montenegro and plan to travel back here with our familes. Thanks to everyone there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyBirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

It is a simple hotel but very clean and comfortable enough. The rooms are reasonably large and all rooms have one or two balconies. The staff is exceptionally professional and efficient. For instance, I asked at the front desk to clean the shower curtain that had mold spots, and they immediately replaced the curtain by a new one.
The location is very convenient: 5 minutes walk distance from the beach and the pedestrian promenade at the beach front where there are a lot of restaurants serving fish and international food for all tastes, as well as shops.
The hotel has free parking reserved for the hotel guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Booked Danica with balcony and got what we ordered. Nice long room, with two balconies, one however faced a wall so didn't use that one, but good outlook from the front balcony. Clean, towels changed daily, beds comfortable. Food very good. Good location as just out of the town and near a lovely walk into the mountains. Very peaceful location with very friendly yet professional staff on 24 hr attendance. Definitey would recommend as not a 'plastic' style hotel but a hotel which has its own character. Has a gym, sauna, small pool, small library - very nice.

Room Tip: Book and pay for a balcony and stipulate one with a view i.e. 1st floor does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cahillsHighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

In terms of value for money this hotel is great. We stayed here for two nights at the start of a 12 night holiday and paid just 40E per night including breakfast. The hotel's in a good location, just a short stroll from the beach, and it has a small pool and sun terrace to relax by. The exterior is very pretty with lots of colourful flower arrangements, the staff are very helpful, and there's free wifi in the hotel too.

The rooms are fairly spacious, clean and well maintained - our only gripes were that the bathroom was a bit small, and the shower head didn't fit the attachment properly so it was difficult to shower. The rooms don't have air conditioning which wasn't too bad as we just kept the balcony door open, but it might be a bigger problem in the height of summer.

The biggest let down was breakfast as it wasn't great - I ordered a soft boiled egg which, when it arrived, looked as if it had been submerged in hot water for about 10 seconds and then served, it was so raw! The tea and coffee, which was rather grey and weak, left a lot to be desired too. However, as long as you don't expect gourmet cuisine then there's quite a bit of choice on the menu.

If we came back to Petrovac again, we'd probably stay somewhere different just to see what else is about, but the Danica was absolutely fine for a couple of nights accommodation at a very reasonable rate.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sequin-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

we stayed one night - and the young lady at the desk was awesome! answered all our questions - just new at her job the room is very clean, breakfast was great, room is very nice we had a car - free parking was great - free wifi with no problems
would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank opth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petrovac
0.1 mi away
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel W Grand
Hotel W Grand
#7 of 10 in Petrovac
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riva
Hotel Riva
#6 of 10 in Petrovac
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivijera
Hotel Rivijera
#9 of 10 in Petrovac
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palas
Hotel Palas
#1 of 10 in Petrovac
243 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danica

Address: Ul. Nika Andusa bb, Petrovac, Budva Municipality 85300, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Petrovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Price Range: $56 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danica 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danica Hotel is a comfortable resort hotel located in the very centre of the Montenegrin coast, in the small town Petrovac. Surrounded by a pine forest, palms, cypress trees and greenness, it leans on a hill, being only 150 meters away from the nearest beach, in the park that belongs to UNESCO’s World Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Danica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danica Hotel Petrovac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing