We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Danica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Danica
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

we stayed one night - and the young lady at the desk was awesome! answered all our questions - just new at her job the room is very clean, breakfast was great, room is very nice we had a car - free parking was great - free wifi with no problems
would stay again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank opth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, isle of man
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Very attentive staff and lovely food even if it is a bit iron curtain still. Location is perfect and quiet and not far to walk for buses shops and town. Take the excursion buses for great days out and a whole lot of culture and history.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank manxseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

I stayed alone in a single room, where I had everything I needed: several big wardrobes and other boxes, cable TV, conditioning, small fridge, hair-dryer in the bathroom, a lot of mirrors, balcony. May be, the only problem was that in that room balcony faced the hill and there was not an appropriate place to dry clothes and beach towel.
Staff worked in an excellent way, as for me. Always ready to help, hospitable, friendly and English (and some more languages) speaking.
Hotel is located in 3 minutes walk to the nearest restaurant and 5 minutes walk to supermarket.
My relatives with kids stayed in apartment. It was huge, double rooms, large balcony with the sea sight. They claimed only on stairs (4th floor). But all the country is situated on mountains.
Good breakfasts, but with not so big choice of courses every day: omelets, eggs, sausages, meat and cheese assortment, muesli, cornflakes and national porridge + orange juice, coffee and tea.

In a whole it was pleasure to stay in Danica. Thanks, guys.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Katerina_Sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

The Danica Hotel is in a perfect location in Petrovac. Just a short distance to the seaside walk where you'll find plenty of restaurants, bars and cafes. The beach is there as well, although it is very small and they have packed chairs and umbrellas on it like sardines.

The room was spacious and very well maintained. Good quality furnishing with the exception of the bed. I had requested a king, but got the typical European-push-together-2-small beds. Not ideal, but not tragic either...at least it was comfortable. AC worked well and had a lovely balcony that looks out over a stunning pine forest. (No sea view) Housekeeping was expertly done and fresh linens every day.

Parking and internet were adequate. We stayed on the first floor, so we could access the wireless, but from what I understood, the access point is really only intended for the lobby area. TV had a good channel selection and our apartment/room had stove and fridge.

The only serious complaint is the breakfast set up. Everyone is assigned a table, so it was not enjoyable for us to sit with 2 complete strangers every morning. The food was a bit rationed, but was quite good. Lots of choices on the menu and if you wanted more than the meager portion provided, it was no problem. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant as there are a number of places available in town that had much better atmosphere sitting along the sea side.

A walking path that leads to a "secret beach" starts at the foot of the hill the Danica sits on. We took the hike and not at all worth it! Be sure to take a torch or some form of lighting to navigate the tunnels that lead to the beach. This beach is incredibly rocky and the surf was very rough. Not at all good for young children. The views on this path are incredible though, and you will not want to miss sunset overlooking the stunning bluffs. Lots of people using this path for a hike and running...well worth the effort for that!

Overall, Petrovac is a quaint little town. The main beach there was disappointing and I would not recommend staying here if you are aiming for a relaxing day in the sun. Plenty of good places to eat and drink and the Danica is certainly the best choice for the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at this lovely hotel at the start of May. It had a great location - a short stroll led you to the seafront with cafes and restaurants, surrounded in the background with a mountain of trees. I cant praise the staff enough, really friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotless with rooms cleaned daily and new towels left. They upgraded us when we arrived to an apartment since we were the first guests with our tour company - this was really spacious. If you are looking for great views from your room, im afraid they are missing with this one, but that didnt put a dampner on our hol, im only adding this in case it may matter to someone. Im not sure what othe amenities the hotel had as we were on the seafront all the time - it was so relaxing and peaceful. The one negative about this hotel is the food. We booked to stay half board and the food was pretty poor, our saving grace was the food making facilities in the apartment. We arent fussy eaters but even by our standards we found the food very boring and communist style breakfasts - very stingy. But that was the only drawback - it really is a great hotel and petrovac is really lovely. i would definately stay here again but maybe on a self catering option instead

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Being traveling in the region (Croatia and Montenegro) for quite some time, I may say that this is so far the best place I’ve being! Place itself has been recently “downgraded” from 4 to 3-star hotel and I must say that this is the best 3-star hotel I’ve ever visited! It’s immaculately clean with best staff on the face of the earth 
The building itself placed in the “right corner” of the Petrovac city and is sheltered from the sun after 5pm, leaving building some time to “cool-off” from the afternoon heat. This means that even on +30 degrees a nice sleep is guaranteed (didn’t need a/c at all!).
Patio is cozy with small pool. Rooms are clean but some work on a lighting set-up would not hurt.
Regarding a food – If you go through the Adriatic costal region, after some time one thing grabs your attention and that is – food tends to be prepared the same way in almost every restaurant (maybe it’s just me being “picky” on a topic?!). Dinner in Danica was an event for itself and enthusiasm of the chef could not pass unnoticed. A young fella was performing miracles! The same is applicable for a Milos, waiter who succeeded to drag a smile from the most washed-out faces yet still being able to manage to bring a food on the table in no-time! And for Milica, Dejo, Pedja and all the rest of folks engaged in this business – this place would not be the same without you! There are definitely places that one may stay cheaper but if you intend to stay in this lovely little city and relax in a nice environment, don’t pass on this hotel.

Ps. I was a bit concern about a parking space (reading some previous reviews). The fact is that parking place can accommodate about 10 cars at a time, but keys have to be left at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank satrip_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Stayed for 2 weeks at Hotel Danica booked independently on a B & B basis. Hotel on slight incline from delightful town of Petrovac with a further 20 odd steps up to hotel reception. No lift at hotel so can be trying if your room is on 3rd or 4th floor. Hotel reception staff wonderful - 2 girls who spoke perfect English and who were exceptionally helpful and pleasant. Reception area small with non descript and uncomfortable bar area next to it. Dining room lacking in warmth and atmosphere-lighting poor and felt more like a canteen. Made up though with excellent value breakfasts-choice of cereals as well as eggs,bacon,omelettes,etc. and excellent value 4 course dinners for 7 euros per head. Rooms adequate in size with comfortable bed. Satellite TV, mini bar and balcony overlooking sea (room 304) with en suite bathroom that had good shower with constant hot water, toilet and basin. Small outdoor swimming pool (hotel will provide towels). No food available at hotel at lunchtime. Lovely quiet location with good (if steepish) walks close by.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petrovac hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castellastva
Hotel Castellastva
#1 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
#3 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivijera
Hotel Rivijera
#5 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vile Oliva
Hotel Vile Oliva
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel W Grand
Hotel W Grand
#7 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Renome
Hotel Renome
#8 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danica

Property: Hotel Danica
Address: Ul. Nika Andusa bb, Petrovac, Budva Municipality 853000, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Petrovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Danica 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danica Hotel is a comfortable resort hotel located in the very centre of the Montenegrin coast, in the small town Petrovac. Surrounded by a pine forest, palms, cypress trees and greenness, it leans on a hill, being only 150 meters away from the nearest beach, in the park that belongs to UNESCO’s World Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Danica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danica Hotel Petrovac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing