We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Hotel Palas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palas
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with the Saga group, Very spacious room with king sized bed, plus a settee, fridge,safe, flatscreen TV and balcony overlooking the sea also an extremely large walk in shower. Everywhere in the hotel was absolutely spotless. Unable to find any fault What a fantastic holiday

Room Tip: There is building work going on nearby but you hardly noticed it and they cleaned up around them whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Eggie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    80
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
53
64
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Palas in Petrovac from April 10th for a week. The hotel is situated in a beautiful cove with fantastic views over the bay. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the cleaners to the hotel manager, most of whom have reasonable English. It was an all inclusive stay. When we arrived, it was past lunch time, so we were given a plated lunch sent to our rooms. The food during the stay was buffet style. The restaurant was set out very well with every manner of food you could desire. The presentation and service was superb. The food was superb with two to three choices of fish AND meat both at lunch and dinner times. Breakfast had all the usual continental and English items and everything was replenished quickly. Red and white wine on tap during lunch and dinner in the restaurant as well as the soft drinks, teas (all flavours) and coffee. Even with all that the Chef (a lady) came to ask each day if everything was ok and could she do any more for us. The bar was open from 9am to 11 pm daily. Very comfortable lounge area indoors and of course the patio area was glorious. Our room was a sea view room and was a lovely spacious room with a modern double shower en-suite. Plenty drawer and hanging space and the balcony was quite spacious with table and chairs. We over looked the patio area directly below which then led on to the gardens and beyond to the promenade and the beach. The promenade took you into the fishing village which is very pretty. The backdrop to all of this is mountains. There is an outdoor swimming pool (not heated) and an indoor pool (heated). There are other gym facilities also. Although it was early season and there were cleaning and redevelopment works going on, it didn't impede on our enjoyment. There is a local bus which takes you to Budva and surrounding areas. Budva is a large city which also has an "OLD" walled city - well work a visit. The scenery while travelling the coastline is spectacular and there are of course monasteries and churches galore to visit. We flew to Dubrovnik in Croatia and it took 2½ hours to get to the hotel through two border crossings. Our delay was not bad, but the courier told us in peak times it can take 3 hours just to negotiate the borders.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Breezy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower farm road
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Palas Hotel for 2 weeks at the beginning of October on all inclusive.The rooms were spotless and spacious with a furnished balcony.We had a large walk in shower in the bathroom and a settee and new flatscreen tv.We had excellent food which included local dishes,and the chef was always asking if there was any dishes we would like.The drinks at the bar and restaurant were premium brands. There were two swimming pools and a health studio.
The small town of Petrovac has a pretty fishing harbour with smart cafes and a promenade about 1/2 mile long

Room Tip: sea view,we slept with the large window open listening to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hovis2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Palas for one week from 20 October not realising it was the end of the season. At most there were about 30 people, mostly English, when we arrived and when we left there were just 9! However, this didn’t detract from what was a very enjoyable stay.
Our room, although a bit on the small side, was well furnished and included a kettle, fridge, flat-screen television and safe. The bathroom was spacious with hairdryer and a very efficient walk-in shower. The balcony with two chairs and table overlooked the gardens and sea and was a real sun trap. Everything was spotlessly clean.
Outside the hotel is a level promenade which leads to some shops and cafes.
Because there were so few people staying, we ate in the restaurant which had been set up on the ground floor, the main and much larger restaurant being on the lower ground floor overlooking the immaculate gardens. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and the best bacon I have ever had. Lunch and dinner were similar with soup (vegetable), a choice of hot and cold food and dessert. The meals were very meat based so if you are vegetarian, you might struggle to find something which didn’t contain meat; it was often included in the soup and some of the salads. Veal was on the menu every day and there were a couple of fish dishes as well. Some of the dishes were traditional and needed some explanation!
The wine in the dining room was acceptable, certainly better than we have had in other hotels. However, if you wanted coffee you had to have that in the bar as the tea/coffee machine only operated at breakfast.
The only entertainment while we were there was a lady playing guitar and singing twice a week – perhaps there is more when the hotel is full.
We were on an all-inclusive basis so can’t comment on drink prices.
We didn’t use the pool or spa but I can recommend the beauty salon. I had a lovely pedicure and several ladies had their hair done at very reasonable prices.
I believe there is a computer for guests to use but we opted for the Wifi in our rooms which was 10 euros for a week and worked very well.
Because it was the end of the season, there was a lot of building work going on next to the hotel and along the promenade but it wasn’t too noisy. However, most of the shops and cafes, including the hotel shop, closed during the week we were there so it’s probably best to avoid late October. But we had beautiful weather!
There isn’t much to do in Petrovac apart from enjoying the beach and nearby bays but you can get a bus to nearby Budva for 2 euros each way. Taxis were 10 euros each way.
A perfect place and lovely hotel if you want a quiet break. Just avoid the end of the season!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea got the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A&CSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Palas, Petrovac for one week at the beginning of October. The bay of Petrovac is very pretty. However, there are hotels being built around Montenegro and from 1st October when the tourist season is over the building work starts. There is one such large construction right next door to the hotel. The cranes spoil the picturesque view, and if you are not an early riser, you will have the disturbance of the building work starting at 8am and continuing all day.
The hotel is large and very clean. The room I was given was on the fourth floor and had a lovely sea view, which was perfect as besides the lovely view, when there is sun you get it on the balcony from late morning. There are two chairs and a table on the balcony and a plant. There is also an area for hanging out washing on which is very useful, especially as, when we did have sun, everything dried very quickly.
The room is large with a comfortable bed. There is also a large solid sofa in the room. There is plenty of storage space. There is a safe in the room which is free to use. There is also a fridge and we also had a kettle in the room. Montenegro is not a place that has good tea so if you like your tea with a bit of flavour, you should bring your own. The bathroom was lovely, clean and bright and the shower very effective. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. Towels are changed daily. The cleaners are very efficient. Several times by the time I had returned from breakfast my room had already been cleaned. All staff are very pleasant.
We were all inclusive. There were a lot of French people staying at the hotel and I don’t know what had happened in the past but for meals they had decided to segregate us from the French so we had a small dining room provided and food brought up to that room. The food was nice but because it was not under the usual covers that you would have in a dining room, flies would land on the food in the containers. There was also less choice than in the main dining room. There are a lot of fish dishes and they do their traditional stew type meals which are very tasty but can be salty. There was red and white wine in a container and water. Sometimes the water was cool but often warm. The room itself was OK but in the evenings they would put the air conditioning on high (maybe to distract the flies) and so it was chilly in the room.
There is wifi available at the hotel at a reasonable charge. It is 2 Euros for one day, 5 Euros for 3 days and 10 Euros for 7 days. The code gives access to one device only.
The indoor and outdoor swimming pools are nice and clean. The outdoor one is not heated and the indoor one only partially heated. There is no shallow end in the indoor pool. I didn’t go in the outdoor pool as it was too cold. You can borrow pool towels by leaving a Ten euro deposit which is returned when you return the towel. There are deck chairs and sun beds around the pool. There is also a spa area and salt room for an extra charge. We did not use these facilities so cannot comment on them.
There is a table tennis table, a crazy golf area and nice seating areas around the hotel. There is also a small hotel shop which is very reasonable.
The Beach is clean. It is across the promenade. It does not belong to the hotel so if you want a sun bed it is seven Euros for the day. The sea is lovely and clean but it gets deep very quickly. Also it is very pebbly so swim shoes are very useful.
There is a post office only minutes from the hotel. You have to buy stamps from the post office as they do not sell them in shops. There is also a large supermarket approx 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There are not a lot of shops around this area. There are a few souvenir shops along the promenade and some restaurants. We were at the tail end of the season so shops were closing down for the season.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MaxiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fakenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

April 23rd myself and my husband arrived at the hotel unfortunately as soon as we arrived my husband had a stroke. The hotel staff were wonderful and were extremely caring and a doctor arrived straight away. Unfortunately my husband spent the rest of our holiday in hospital. Every day the staff asked me how he was, after I had visited him and were extremely kind.
Also the room had a lovely sea few, the whole hotel was extremely clean, and the food was very good . Petrovac is a very nice small coastal resort. The hotel has a beautiful position. We booked with Saga.and the rep was extremely good too . I just wish my husband had been there to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Sea view 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Hotel Palais is situated right on the sea front. Unfortunately there is a new hotel being built next door and there is a souvenir shop being built which will block some of the sea view from the hotel. The building work causes some noise which is disturbing for relaxation. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are very friendly. My room was very large and had a balcony with airer and a tableand two chairs There was plenty of storagei in my room and there was an alarm clock and scales in the room. The food was excellent which a good variety at all meals. The girls clearing the tables were very enthusiastic and friendly but tended to clear the tables before people had finished what they were eating. The swimming pool was a good size and a lovely temperature. There were plenty of deck chairs and tables near the pool and surrounding area. However, from my point of view the area was spoilt by people smoking. I appreciate that smokers are on holiday as well but I found it unpleasant. There is a souvenir shop in the hotel grounds which has a good selection of items. The hotel is a few yards from the beach which is very narrow and, in my opinion, gets too crowded. The sea is very clean and warm. The representative was excellent and extremely helpful. I would recommend the hotel for people with young families but if you want peace and quiet I do not think the Hotel Palis is suitable for thoese looking for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: I had a room with a partial sea view and it was overlooking a children's play area which tended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petrovac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castellastva
Hotel Castellastva
#1 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
Monte Casa Spa & Wellness
#2 of 10 in Petrovac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivijera
Hotel Rivijera
#5 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vile Oliva
Hotel Vile Oliva
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#5 of 9 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Danica
Hotel Danica
#6 of 10 in Petrovac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palas

Property: Hotel Palas
Address: Budva bb, Petrovac, Budva Municipality 85300, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Petrovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Petrovac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing