We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch for 20 people”
Review of Brandon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brandon House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brandon
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our walking group used Brandon House for lunch pre orderd the same morning. Service was great, really friendly and lunch was promptly served. Our menu was fairly limited but sufficient to meet all tastes. The price was resonable and portions sufficient. We used the function room which was clean and both tables had starched, white table cloths. Congratulations to the hotel team for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank U3A2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 300 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely hotel, lovely friendly couple and staff. Had three nights there on our last visit and they looked after us very well. Have moved to Brandon now and would certainly call in for a coffee and even the occaisional Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I live in Brandon and have had many lunches and dinners at the hotel, so it was an obvious choice for a large family get-together last weekend. I booked seven rooms for 14 guests, all accommodated close together on the first floor, which was helpful. The rooms were spotless, airy and comfortable, with large flat-screen TVs tuned to Freeview; and the free wifi which worked throughout the hotel was a bonus. Most rooms had huge en-suites. There were no phones in the rooms, which is entirely understandable in these days of universal mobiles!

The manager and chef had given me an advance copy of the menu, so I was able to give them advance notice of the courses required. All my guests enjoyed every course, with large servings of smoked haddock and duck breast being especially appreciated. I can also strongly recommend the banana fritters for dessert - utterly memorable! Breakfast was also great - cooked to order and not left languishing as a 'buffet'. Scrambled eggs - terrific!

I cannot speak too highly of the staff - warm welcome and friendly service at all times. I hope the hotel retains the services of Frank, the chef, for the foreseeable future!

Finally, the hotel offers excellent value for all travellers. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: It may be a little noisy at the front of the hotel, but we did not notice it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_C65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Have just stayed one night at the Brandon House Hotel for a family gathering of 14. It is a cosy,comfortable Hotel. I don,t know why it only warrants 3 stars. It is very clean and inviting run by an efficient, friendly Team who do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Our food was excellent, which for a large party is not easy. Fantastic value for money both accommodation and food.

Room Tip: Our double room was huge with a vast bathroom but I did not view any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Brandon house hotel looks impressive when you drive up to the building. The owners have renovated the building but it would appear on a tight budget. Some areas are lovely, like the front lounge where you will find a crackling log fire and comfy stylish seating.The dining room is vast and airy. I found the room very basic, clean but not much money spent on it. The building was very old and quirky which i liked but something was lacking. There was no telephone in the room which i found odd, and the hotel was not staffed between 11pm and 7am.

Unfortunately whe we arrived to our room at approximately 6pm there was very loud music coming from somewhere, we assumed it was the person next door with a music channel on their tv. Slighly annoyed we ignored it and went out for dinner (outside the hotel) and returned later to peace and quiet. However at 7.30am the music struck up again and woke us up, not ideal if like us you came away from home for a relaxing break! When we went down for breakfast we realised the music was actually coming from the kitchen, which was not good! The kitchen was underneath our room.

Room Tip: Asl for a room on the 2nd floor, away from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mel123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights, we found the hotel quite easy, no problems there. The staff were lovely and very helpful as especially as I have vegan dietary requirement, they went out off there way to make sure that the breakfast and evening meals were catered for. however the rooms at the front are very noisy due to heavy traffic the next time I book I will request a room at the back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elfreda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Warm, comfortable room with complimentary tea & coffee. Large bathroom and lovely bed. Breakfast was excellent, very tasty. Friendly service and wi-fi that worked. Result!
Would definitely use as a stopover en route to Norfolk again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as the pub opposite was lively and noisy on the saturday night we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peewam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Thetford Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Thomas Paine Hotel
The Thomas Paine Hotel
#2 of 7 in Thetford
441 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mundford
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lynford Hall
Lynford Hall
#2 of 2 in Mundford
282 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#7 of 7 in Thetford
637 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandon House

Address: High Street, Brandon IP27 0AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brandon
Price Range: $78 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandon House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brandon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandon House Hotel Brandon
Brandon House Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing