We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B - very comfortable and friendly”
Review of Roslyn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roslyn House
Ranked #1 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B - very comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the family room in this lovely B&B and it was very comfortable and spacous. The chocolates and sweets in the room were a massive hit with our children. Liz could not have done more for us. She was a great host and made us feel very welcome.
The full english breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of choice of cereals, fresh fruit, jams, cereal bars etc. You certainly wont be left hungry after you've experienced a Roslyn breakfast.
The location of the B&B is also excellent, close to the 'quaint' shops and ideal for walks, even if its just a short walk along the beautiful River Ned.
I would definately recommend this B&B. You wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Great to hear from and thank for the kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    26
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
188
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights whilst attending a Longsword weekend in and around Pateley Bridge. We arranged a late arrival and nothing was too much trouble from the moment we stepped through the front door. We had a beautiful room with king-size bed and lovely en-suite bathroom. There were extras like water, sweets and chocolate in our room as well as a selection of good quality toiletries. The breakfast menu was very good and catered for non-meat eaters as well as the traditional breakfast. The service was excellent and the owners and staff were professional as well as being friendly and caring.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Roslyn House and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Tastefully decorated, clean and friendly atmosphere in which to enjoy your trip to the Dales. The Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaG798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a very comfortable twin room at our second stop along the Way of the Roses cycle route. We felt happy that our bikes were safe and secure overnight. There were a couple of little extra touches in the room that make it even better, such as sweets, chocolate and bottles of water (in addition to the tea, coffee and biscuits) The hostess is really friendly and chatty and the breakfast is excellent. Well worth a visit and excellent value for money. Pateley Bridge itself is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetJ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind recommendation, much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed here as a central location while walking the nidderdale way in three days.
I had a single room, good quality extra,s in the room, water, biscuits, chocolate and sweets, just what you need after a long days walk
The breakfast had an excellent choice for those of us who don' t always want the usual fry up.
Plenty of places to eat within walking distances and also the advantage of a pick up from the owners to collect your car etc.

Room Tip: I was on the to floor s very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was the 2nd time we had stayed here and it has changed hands since our previous visit 7 years ago and is even better than before. Rooms and public areas clean and well decorated, beds comfortable and bathrooms shining. Breakfasts freshly cooked to order with a choice of cereals and fresh fruits to start (eg strawberries). Very good toiletries in the bathroom, de-caff as well as regular coffee in bedroom with biscuits fresh and crisp and NOT custard creams, and even 2 small bars of Cadburys milk chocolate. Have stayed in far bigger, far more expensive places at far worse value. Keep up the good work - you deserve to be very successful.

Room Tip: No lift and 2 flights of stairs if you are on the top floor so those with mobility problems should a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Great to see you again, thanks for the excellent review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed one night at Roslyn House last week and we wish that we had had time to stay longer. It is a gem of a place. Our stay was a gift from our daughter who thought that her dad might like to visit as he has fond childhood memories of the area. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely little en-suite shower room. We were on the top floor (room 6) which did mean quite a few stirs but not too taxing! The staff are brilliant - really friendly and very efficient and the breakfasts are really amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoslynHouse, Owner at Roslyn House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Lovely to meet you and that you enjoyed your short break with us at Roslyn. Glad the little gift work so well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay in order to complete the whole Nidderdale Way (53 miles) offered as a four day walking package by Roslyn House. Excellent, very comfortable, spacious accommodation (Room 1) with delicious breakfasts provided each morning to fuel our daily ventures. The advantage of having a luxury Mercedes estate car to pick up or take out each day is a bonus making a problem free, achievable and enjoyable experience. The Nidderdale Way is a scenic and varied walk in beautiful North Yorkshire, one of the best distance walks we have undertaken. A nice touch was our Certificate of Completion waiting for us in the room on day four. So a big thank you to Lawrence, Liz and staff for your friendly service and assistance allowing us to complete our adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPnEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoslynHouse, Manager at Roslyn House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Great to meet you all and many thanks for the fantastic review, Liz and I are pleased you enjoyed the Nidderdale walk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
0.1 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#2 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#8 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslyn House

Property: Roslyn House
Address: 9 King Street, Pateley Bridge HG3 5AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roslyn House is a comfortable guest house located in the centre of Pateley Bridge, just off the main street and only two hundred yards from the river Nidd. It has a pleasant lounge, an attractive dining room and six well appointed en-suite bedrooms. Free Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roslyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roslyn House Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing