We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small but scrummy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Willow
Ranked #7 of 12 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lockerbie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“small but scrummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

dont be fooled by the size of this place. it extends down the back to a cosy real fire.
The food is homemade and is served by friendly staff.
The prices are reasonable for the standard to food and service.
The desserts are out of this world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    10
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
44
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stumbled upon this place whilst looking for breakfasts in Pateley Bridge. We were the only people in but the breakfast and service were excellent - definitely to be recommended. Note that the full breakfast does include toast even though it doesnt say so on the menu :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradfordLadBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninness, Owner at The Willow, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife & I took a drive out to visit Pateley Bridge and visit the famous Old Sweet Shop. After a walk around the shops we placed our purchases in the car & sought out a place to eat. We found The Willows tucked away, quaintly set back from the main road. On walking in we found the most cosy setting we could have wished for. There were clean dark mahogany round topped tables with comfortable seats complimented by clean white walls. The carpeted floor cushioned the footsteps of the waitresses and allowed conversation to be easily heard across our table. The lighting was just right as afforded by the main bow window & provided a relaxing feeling without the sensation of being in a gold fish bowl. A couple of ladies were already seated when we arrived. They were pleasant enough to greet us and said they'd travelled separately from Settle & Leeds to meet each other. They were extolling the virtues of the coronation chicken sandwich they were just finishing when the proprietor, (having overheard the comments) proudly stated that she prepared everything herself, even the chicken was cooked in house - in the kitchen to make up the sandwich. We ordered two hot drinks, a decaffeinated Cappuccino & filter coffee. The day was very cold and it had been snowing, so we were really pleased when the drinks were brought to the table, with unrefined brown sugar, very hot & in beautiful mugs. We ordered Scampi & Chips which came with a lovely side salad, peas and tarter sauce. The chips were home made & fresh. We were offered additional sauces and the portions were generous and fitting. I finished off with a treacle sponge and custard. It came with a plentiful jug of custard & the sponge was to die for. It was as light as I have ever tasted. The proprietor stated that the sponge had been made in the kitchen that morning. On leaving we looked in on the restaurant area which was equally as cosy and inviting. Even though we had walked in just before closing time we were not rushed at the conclusion of our meal. The service provided was attentive and very good. I returned after leaving to increase my tip as it was fully deserved. To be open 365 days a year to me shows dedication and a pride all too rare. I have never felt compelled to write a review, but after yesterday's visit, I find myself moved to do so. We have found a gem in Yorkshire & I'll be booking to stay there in the near future, for the area as much as the value for money which was exceptional. To all those looking for something special - whether you're on a day out, just want a quiet get away, or even if your from the States or beyond, .... The Willows is a must.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninness, Owner at The Willow, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely comments you have made, they are very much appreciated!
Kind regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went to this restaurant just over a week ago on Saturday lunchtime having booked beforehand. The beer I had with the meal was off (it tasted slightly vinegary) and had to be sent back. The food was luke warm and the service was very slow, even after most of the other clients had left having finished their meals. There were only two staff working, one serving and one cooking, which was not enough. I definitely wouldn't recommend this place to anyone else and will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went twice to the restaurant while on holiday in the area for a week. We were two couples and we found the choice was varied and suited all of our tastes. I had devilled kidneys with cream for starters followed by sea bream which was cooked perfectly on a bed of pak choy and plenty of veg served separately. Good service, friendly and lovely home cooked food, very good value for money especially their special early bird offer - dine before 7.30pm. Restaurant found just down the alleyway off the High Street by one of the Cafes. Recommend you try it out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshire60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the Willow while completing a charity coast to coast cycle ride and I can recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a warm , friendly and comfortable stay during their trip . Margaret and her staff were brilliant for our stay and even though one of our party was injured it was Margaret who sorted out the medical help he needed .We arrived later than scheduled but all the staff made sure we had a delicious hearty meal before we went to bed . I will return for some walking around the lovely Pateley Bridge and surrounding area and make sure I stay at the Willow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Willows while on the cross country cycle route 'the way of the roses'. So we arrived tired and sweaty with fully loaded, previous bikes, in need of a good meal and a decent nights sleep.

In the Willow we received so much more than we anticipated. A secure lock up for our bikes, overlooked by the busy kitchen. A wonderful room which is more like a small suite with separate bedroom, bathroom and sitting room . Lots of nice extra touches.

After a long soak on the bath we popped downstairs to the restaurant for dinner. Freshly made bread rolls gave a hint as to what to expect Highly recommended. With a small bar and a decent choice of wine we were lacking for nothing,

The Willows is located on a quiet street so our sleep that night was deep and uninterrupted.

Breakfast the next morning was the best of our trip, and we had some excellent breakfasts along the way.

The total bill including dinner, drinks, bed and breakfast was incredibly good value for money.

Do yourself a favour and choose the Willows.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloucesterMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
8.4 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
8.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#2 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#8 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harefield Hall
Harefield Hall
#3 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow

Property: The Willow
Address: Park Road, Pateley Bridge HG3 5JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Willow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willow Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing