We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in a Perfect Setting”
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights in August 2007. Fantastic hotel - absolutely beautiful location. The staff are very friendly indeed, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are elegant & large and in a very nice condition. The food is lovely & the dining room is very tastefully done out. I simply cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The beautiful village of Pateley Bridge is only 3 minutes away, with Harrogate, Ripon or York within easy travelling distance.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We have just returned from 5 nights in this lovely old inn, located in beautiful countryside opposite the river Nidd, a perfect setting. We stayed in a comfortable room in the annexe - just across the courtyard from the main building - which had a good bed, a spacious bathroom with Molton Brown products and wonderful views across the fields.
The service is excellent here under the competent and attentive guidance of Billy (Billal?), the manager, who caters for your every need and runs a tight ship. Staff are well trained, courteous and capable and if anything does go wrong it is corrected immediately. Dinners are served either in the formal restaurant or in the bar and the cooking is excellent. Portions are huge and there's a wide choice of fish as well as game and meat on the menu so we were able to find something different to enjoy every evening. Breakfasts are served from 9 to 9.30 which is far too late for us since we want to be out enjoying the countryside as soon as we can, but they were happy to serve us at 8.30. Interestingly they have not adopted the buffet arrangement at breakfast, which many hotels now do. Instead everything is selected from a menu and brought to your table, which is a much pleasanter way to start the day.
The hotel owner is knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. We have no car, and he kindly offered to drive us to the start of walks if we needed a lift. Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys Yorkshire scenery and hearty dinners!

  • Liked — Food and location
  • Disliked — Rather poor reception
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KeenWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed at the Sportsman's Arms the last week of May, '06. It was a lovely small hotel in a picture perfect English Dales setting. Bluebells, rhododendrums, and all types of wild flowers were along the walking paths, which were right outside the door. It's a great place for walkers, and a nice base to visit Fountains Abbey and the North Yorkshire Dales National Park. The restaurant was good, but we loved the pub, which is famous for its "real ale." It was always full, with the most friendly people. If you are looking for a place off the beaten path - you have to be into the outdoors to vist here - but that also has pretty rooms, comfortable beds, friendly people, good food, and a nice wine list, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Fantastic food.
The rooms were exellent and good value.

The staff were all friendly and Ray Carter the owner made us feel so much at home we didi not want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2005

We had fallen in love with the Yorkshire Dales through the pen of James Herriot who had written the wonderful series of books ( later made into a well-loved mini-series) All Creatures Great and Small, which was set in the windswept dales of Yorkshire, begining in the 1930's. So it was no wonder that it was this area we set our sights upon when finally able to spend a vacation in England.
Luckily for us, a friend had already suggested we try a stay at the Sportsman's Arms in Wath-in-Nidderdale, which is a tinly little village about 1 mile north of Pateley Bridge.
A beautiful 17th Century building, the Sportsman's Arms peeks through the green foliage as you make your way over a curious pack horse bridge. We were immediately welcomed in by the staff, and soon found ourselves comfortably seated in a picturesque firelit lounge, which immediately felt like home. We were later welcomed by the owner himself, Ray Carter, who couldn't have been friendlier and more welcoming.
Our rooms were beautiful, with period furnishings, but the all important central heating, television, tea and coffe maker, and en-suite bathroom.
The food was wonderful, all, we learned from local butchers and grocers. And we were in the perfect location for sightseeing - Brimhan Rocks, Fountains Abbey, Bolton Abbey, and picturesque little villages like Grassington, were all only a few miles away.
Our stay there truly made our vacation, and we are hoping to return again soon.

Helpful?
24 Thank Sindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
10.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
9.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#8 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Property: The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Address: Wath-in-Nidderdale | Pateley Bridge, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing