We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just the best”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 and can not recommend it highly enough. The staff and management are brilliant and always have time for you. The food is excellent, local produce and freshly cooked. If you are in beautiful Nidderdale do not go past it . Bar food is great too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMJ90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    38
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spent three days in this excellent hotel during February. The food was wonderful and quality of service amazing! This is a traditional hotel with great additional features. The friendliness of our welcome was exceptional, beer great and our large family party (all over 50!) really enjoyed the experience. Lots to do in the area, walking, activities within driving distance. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stapleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Recently visited the Sportsmans with my partner - had the King Prawn Goan Style Curry - portions are never massive but ample after having a delicious starter! Must be the best place to eat around Pateley Bridge! Pricey - but well worth it considering the quality and service that is always presented! Will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a beautiful part of Gods Own County this place is in. After a meandering, slow drive on country roads, this fabulous place is tucked away off the main road from Pateley Bridge - and what a treasure it is.Be sure not to miss it by driving past on towards the depths of Nidderdale.

After negotiating a tight, steep pack-horse type bridge we drove into the car park and found that even late morning on a weekday, it appeared quite busy with cars already parked up. We dived into the bar area where a roaring fire warmed us up after a chilling hour or so outdoors.

We had not booked a table yet staff were very helpful and recommended a table best suited to the needs of our party and were attentive yet unobtrusive in dealing with us. After perusing the chalk boards which had a comprehensive choice of starters and mains we selected lunch. All plates were handed back to the kitchen as clean as a whistle, evidencing how much we had all enjoyed our food. The food had arrived quickly and was served efficiently by the waitress. No room for deserts and we did not feel under pressure to move on after leisurely sipping our drinks.

All-in-all, a lovely stop off in a beautiful part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Sportsmans Arms in Wath is a charming and exceptionally friendly hotel in an idylic location. Add to that a kitchen serving the highest standard of beautifully prepared and delicious fresh local dishes and for me a near pefect mix has been achieved.
If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the world for a few days and particularly for those who enjoy simply realxing in a pristine and peaceful countryside setting, this is the place to be !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW-VHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here recently, having enjoyed a previous stay 2-3 years ago. The hotel is in a lovely setting, approached over a narrow stone bridge. Very friendly welcome - we stayed in a very comfortable 4 poster bedroom. We ate in the restaurant the first night but the bar the second night as they were very quiet (we could have eaten off the restaurant menu in the bar though). The tables in the restaurant are bigger and more private. There was a wide choice of food on offer. We would particularly recommend the Nidderdale trout, the breast of pheasant, and the Belgian chocolate mousse. Wide selection of well cooked vegetables to accompany main courses. Limited choice for vegetarians though, and my wife says the wrong sort of rice was used in the rice pudding. All the staff were very personable and the service couldn't be faulted. Good breakfasts.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We didn't stay here but popped in after a very long walk near the reservoir nearby. It was a cold day but the warmth of the fire along with the excellent service complimented our day perfectly. The Burberry style carpet,the plush seating and the wide selection of locally sourced foods are sure to satisfy all. The staff were lovely and very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pinkversey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
8.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,256 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
117 reviews
8.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Property: The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Address: Wath-in-Nidderdale | Pateley Bridge, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing