We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional but not stuck in the past”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Traditional but not stuck in the past”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here recently, having enjoyed a previous stay 2-3 years ago. The hotel is in a lovely setting, approached over a narrow stone bridge. Very friendly welcome - we stayed in a very comfortable 4 poster bedroom. We ate in the restaurant the first night but the bar the second night as they were very quiet (we could have eaten off the restaurant menu in the bar though). The tables in the restaurant are bigger and more private. There was a wide choice of food on offer. We would particularly recommend the Nidderdale trout, the breast of pheasant, and the Belgian chocolate mousse. Wide selection of well cooked vegetables to accompany main courses. Limited choice for vegetarians though, and my wife says the wrong sort of rice was used in the rice pudding. All the staff were very personable and the service couldn't be faulted. Good breakfasts.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We didn't stay here but popped in after a very long walk near the reservoir nearby. It was a cold day but the warmth of the fire along with the excellent service complimented our day perfectly. The Burberry style carpet,the plush seating and the wide selection of locally sourced foods are sure to satisfy all. The staff were lovely and very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pinkversey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have had lunch here twice in the past month and on both occasions the food has been excellent. On the first occasion it was a lovely sunny day so we ate in the peaceful garden and the second time n the cosy bar. There are so many tempting dishes on the menu its hard to choose but settled for Shetland mussels cooked in white wine and a portion of chips. The mussels were cooked to perfection, soft and juicy and the chips were crisp and so tasty.
Philip who is in charge of the bar is so attentive to customer needs, its a pleasure to watch him work.
This is a very traditional hotel and pub with a slightly older clientele but it is so comfortable and the food is lovely

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped here for lunch whilst on a walking holiday in Nidderdale. The menu was extensive, and everything sounded good! We both had different dishes and thoroughly enjoyed them. There was a roaring fire in the bar which which made it very welcoming, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Sportsman's Arms. The location is perfect, the hotel rooms are lovely, the hospitality is warm and welcoming and the food is just delicious. We stay for one night, but could easily have stayed a week. Great walking area too. Lovely bar with roaring fire. We can't wait to return

Room Tip: The four poster bedroom is lovely and well worth paying that little bit extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mx5fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have been eating here for many years, off and on, as a couple, with friends, family parties and other occasions.
We have never been disappointed with the service or the food in either the bar or the restaurant and reasonable prices too.
To my mind much better value for money than higher rated restaurants

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

it is while since I visited this lovely hotel set in wath in nidderdale up the valley from Pateley Bridge. We went for lunch and ate from the restaurant menu in the comfortable bar. A coal fire was burning gently next to us and we were given a great welcome. Both the restaurant and bar menus are appetising. They were just coming to the end of a lobster festival. I started with a beeatifully smooth mousse de canard served with a delicious chutney salad and toast. I then had a whole lobster thermidor with vegetables. The sauce was magnificent-not too cheesy with a hint of brandy. Draught black sheep bitter in perfect condition and a fairly priced glass of Marlborough sauvignon blanc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
10.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,263 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
286 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#8 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lyndale Guest House
Lyndale Guest House
#2 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Property: The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Address: Wath-in-Nidderdale | Pateley Bridge, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing