We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

it is while since I visited this lovely hotel set in wath in nidderdale up the valley from Pateley Bridge. We went for lunch and ate from the restaurant menu in the comfortable bar. A coal fire was burning gently next to us and we were given a great welcome. Both the restaurant and bar menus are appetising. They were just coming to the end of a lobster festival. I started with a beeatifully smooth mousse de canard served with a delicious chutney salad and toast. I then had a whole lobster thermidor with vegetables. The sauce was magnificent-not too cheesy with a hint of brandy. Draught black sheep bitter in perfect condition and a fairly priced glass of Marlborough sauvignon blanc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    34
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Max, Trevor and David, AKA, "the fat duckers" travelled from Huddersfield on a glorious day last Thursday, taking care to avoid The Yorkshire Show traffic. We sat in the delightful garden to decide our lunch choices with a couple of pints of Taylor's golden best, it was in great condition.
So in for lunch! Starters, scallops grilled with gruyere and a hint of garlic butter and plenty of splendid bread!! DIVINE, Max had Serrano ham dressed with rocket and parmesan shavings, as good as he had ever tasted, complemented with a fine, well price Chablis.
Trevor and Max had two of the finest trout ever to grace a plate, cooked to perfection, I was green with envy on seeing their fish, I had ordered pork fillet, it did not disappoint, superb cooking! and the roasted vegetables were perfection.
The summer pudding is a tour de force! With a JUG of cream!!! Full marks. Equally fine rarebit.
The young gent behind the bar, splendid fellow, and the waitress was equally good.
British hoteliers take note! This place sets the bar at a new height.
Thank you Sportsman for a perfect day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidwoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for my father's birthday with other members of my family. The hotel is presented in a picture postcard setting amongst trees and next to a river in a tiny village which looked beautiful on our arrival on a late summers afternoon. The rooms we stayed in in the attached barn were modern, clean and well equipped with tea and coffee facilities and bottled water. The views from the room were across fields and down to the river. Service in the restaurant where we had booked dinner was excellent without being fussy. The dinning room was spacious with a warm atmosphere and the food from the a la carte menu was delicious. After the meal we enjoyed coffee and more drinks in the residents lounge. Breakfast the next morning matched the quality of the evening meal, there was plenty of choice from light options to a full breakfast cooked to order.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauldawson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Called in here in preference to other places in Pateley Bridge, on a bright summers day yesterday. I sought a coffee and my better half a cold drink. While pubs sometimes say that "the machine isn't working" or "we've switched off the machine", hotels usually have no problem with coffee. I went into the bar and asked for a cold drink, which was brought, and then a coffee. "A coffee. What do you think this is, a hotel?" they didn't say. But they did say, "we don't serve coffee unless you are having a meal". The bar person seemed surprised when I said in this case I would just pay for my better half's drink, since it had been poured. "But you can have a cold drink". I said no thanks, and the bar person said that "we have refused several other people". Right. Won't be going there then.

The bar was next door to the dining room, neither were crowded, and I cannot see that if a coffee could be brought to the dining room, one could not be brought to the bar next door.

The staff were polite, but clearly had their instructions. Instructions which will mean that anyone seeking a simple hot beverage should call elsewhere. The Yorke Arms, up the road, looked very nice but I ended up getting a very cheap coffee at the little café at Scar House reservoir.

Bizarre review? Bizarre place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Sportsman's Arms is in a most scenic setting within the Yorkshire Dales. It sits in a leafy hollow by a small stream. The rooms are beautifully presented, ours had a splendid view across the dale, and the beds wonderfully comfortable. The beer, Black Sheep of course, was really well kept and the wine list extensive. The menu was varied with locally sourced produce. One of our party was a vegetarian and was well catered for. The dining room is atmospheric and nice and fairly traditional. Breakfast was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu_denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHERTSEY SURREY KT16 8LA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Some years ago we saw a newspaper article describing The Sportsmans Arms as "venerated" and I cannot think of a more appropriate description.
Under the same proprietorship for a staggering thirty-five years (most unusual for The Dales) the standard has never slipped and Sunday Lunch yesterday was perfect.The comfortable restaurant was full and the service was excellent as was the food-tender roast beef and a good choice of options.
We have visited the Sportsmans literally hundreds of times over that thirty-five year period and have never once been disappointed.The owner Ray Carter remains very much "hands on"The staff are all very friendly and competent and the setting is idyllic-this place is a good as the Michelin starred restaurants in the area and,frankly,better value for money.
Don't ever retire Ray!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HUNTERCHERTSEYSURREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed here in very snowy weather which had kept some people away so it was a bit quiet, but that just meant we could have the fire to ourselves! The food here is lovely, black sheep ale is the best and service was excellent. The location is perfect, a beautiful part of Yorkshire.
The room was quite traditional and the four poster bed was a long way off the ground so if you're small you might need a stool to get on the bed!

Room Tip: don't choose the 4 poster bed if you would find it difficult to take a running jump to get on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovecorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
10.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
14.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Property: The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Address: Wath-in-Nidderdale | Pateley Bridge, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing