We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent a must if your in the area for lunch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent a must if your in the area for lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

After a beautiful walk in the surrounding area of the soortmans we turned up for lunch in the bar. With a roaring fire, fantastic food and great service it was a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. The second time I have been but I will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulipCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    5
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mid england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

dropped in for lunch with my wife when we were in the area. Wet and cold day but the Sportsman had a warm and friendly atmosphere and great food much of it locally sourced. No hesitation in recommending it .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank soprano4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good food, excellent staff. However our bedroom was in the annex and it felt as though we were in a converted garage. It also smelt rather damp. Overall the restaurant is good but our room and the residents lounge were disappointing. Both very old fashioned and tired. All needs brightening up. Great peaceful location

Room Tip: Check rooms in main building. Do not use the barn/annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jp K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, and we had a meal this time in the Private Dining Room for a friends birthday dinner.

The food was absolutely fantastic and everyone in our party commented on how good their meal was. I had scallops, and lobster followed by sticky toffee pudding, which was divine. However the delicious food, this was also backed up by first class service, which really makes a difference. It was a busy night in the restaurant, but you would not have know it, and the service could not be faulted in anyway.

The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean - very traditional, but is in keeping with the countryside setting.

And although we were still stuffed from dinner the night before, we managed a full English breakfast in the morning which was again, excellent.

A great night, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clocktower71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just come back from our second wedding celebration at The Sportsmans Arms. Such a gorgeous spot, delicious food and excellent service. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella19NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is outside the village and set in the countryside. We had a room which overlooked nothing but scenery and the local rabbit warren.It was very comfortable, even for the cheapest room. The restaurant is in the good food guide and so it should be. The list of specials is a menu in itself and then the a la carte lies in the background. The staff were all friendly and helpful. the food was all served in the bar as they were not expecting many in, with it being early mid week. Breakfast is served between 9 and ten, which we found a bit late, but the chef was quite happy to come in a bit earlier for us, and it was just us on the first night. It is certainly a hotel that I would return to, and that is good as you may see from my experiences elsewhere. we could easily have spent a bit longer here.

Room Tip: As for a top floor room in the annex. There are the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Festie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
211 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent a rainy bank holiday weekend in the area which put a literal dampener on the experience but the location was awesome even in the drizzle.

We had a really big room which was very comfy with complimentary Molton Brown toiletries which came home with us. Our room had windows front and back and we loved watching the rabbits in the meadow behind. We didn't eat there in the evening but it looked nice. Breakfast is only served 9-9.30 even on a Sunday which seemed a bit restrictive to us but it was a super breakfast!

My only gripe was that it was a little expensive for what is a pub with rooms (£120 per night B and B)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
8.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
13.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sportsman's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

Property: The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
Address: Wath-in-Nidderdale | Pateley Bridge, Pateley Bridge HG3 5PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing