We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”
Review of Harefield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harefield Hall
Ranked #3 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We discovered Harefield Hall, by chance, when on holiday in 2012. We were impressed with the wonderful food, atmosphere, stunning building and location that we vowed to return. Which we did in 2013 for a wonderful Holywood new year's eve where the food, decor and party atmosphere did not disappoint. It was only fitting that we then returned for Valentine's in 2014, where we were again met with fantastic food and a warm welcome by the staff and hosts Mike and Elaine. We are already planning a return trip. This really is a gem of a place, which we cannot recommend enough, and has become so special to us that we are now planning to have our wedding here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sparkles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
It's always very heart warming when we here that a customer/s have formed a connection with Harefield Hall, we fell in love with this building over 10 years ago and had the opportunity to begin renovations when we took over four years ago. It is and continues to be a labour of love so thank you so much for your kinds words of support. We look forward to making your big day a very special one.

kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    64
    12
    13
    5
See reviews for
48
156
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

From the moment my husband and I walked into Harefield Hall, we loved it. The rooms were quirky and full of character; there was a welcoming roaring log fire in one leading to a cosy bar area lit with candles and fairy lights. We booked to stay for a Fawlty Towers Murder Mystery Evening which was held in a lovely intimate dining room. The food was delicious and they served home-made chips! Above all, the staff were friendly and helpful. Best things about Harefield? The homely atmosphere, staff and food. We enjoyed it that much we booked for the 'Scarefest' in October. If you're reading this, don't hesitate... go!

Room Tip: If don't intend to go to bed early, stay in a room above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmazingGrace011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Mark, Thanks for the great review, we're so glad you enjoyed the Harefield Hall and the Fawlty Towers evening. It was great fun for us too. We have another themed evening coming up on 17sth May which is a Jazz Evening with an Evening meal and also on the 31st May we have a 1920's Murder Mystery evening including a 3 course dinner. Hope to see you at one of these…or both!! Thanks again hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just returned from Harefield Hall having visited this weekend for the Fawlty Towers Murder Mystery Night.

On arriving, we immediately felt at home and relaxed. The whole feel and atmsophere was lovely. Our rooms were just superb. Lovely size rooms with High Ceilings and very tasteful period style furniture. A big comfortable bed and lovely views.

Down to the bar which had a lovely ambience about it with a genuine period feel and subtle lighting and a well stocked bar with genuine real ales and an excellent selection of pure malts.

The Fawlty Towers murder mystery was just so much fun. The food was nothing short of excellent served by very friendly, efficient and attentive staff. A truly memorable evening.

After a great nights sleep it was down to Breakfast and what a selection. Everything from a Very full English to Eggs Benedict. Again, the food was excellent, all locally produced and fresh.

In Summary I cannot praise Harefield Hall enough. Mike and Elaine are perfect hosts with lovely friendly staff to match. The whole feel of Harefiled Hall is conducive to a an enjoyable stay. We cannot wait to come back !! Thank you so much !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Mark, Thanks for the great review, we're so glad you enjoyed the Harefield Hall and the Fawlty Towers evening. It was great fun for us too. We have another themed evening coming up on 17sth May which is a Jazz Evening with an Evening meal and also on the 31st May we have a 1920's Murder Mystery evening including a 3 course dinner. Hope to see you at one of these…or both!! Thanks again hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend spent at Harefield Hall.
There were nearly 30 of us there for a 50th birthday celebration and we were catered for exceptionally well.
The food and presentation was faultless,piping hot plates with home cooked Yorkshire Fayre prepared by their fine Chef Colin.
The rooms are clean,the towels soft, good pillows,the beds comfortable.We had a gorgeous view of the valley in the morning while enjoying a great cup of Yorkshire tea in bed.What more could you possibly need.........! A full English or eggs Benedict,log fire,good ale and wine.
We feel refreshed despite our late nights due in no small part to the relaxed atmosphere created by Elaine and her team.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 on the first floor.good sized warm bathroom with lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It was a real pleasure to look after such a wonderful group of people. Thanks for your words of appreciation, I have passed your comments onto Colin, Elaine and the rest of the staff here at Harefield Hall. We like to keep the atmosphere here very homely and informal and this is easy to maintain with such relaxed and friendly customers. We enjoyed the guitar player and singing provided by one of your guests and hope to see you again in the future. All the very best from all of us here at Harefield Hall.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 2-night stay here and were delighted with all aspects of the hotel. The welcome from the charming young lady Kat was warm and helpful. It was a little unusual, though no problem, to be asked to pay for the room on arrival – one finds this more often in France.

We had the very spacious and comfortable Honeymoon Suite, which enjoys a beautiful view across the valley. The radiator wasn’t on when we arrived but somebody kindly came up and turned it on while we were out visiting the attractive town centre. The room was very warm such that we then needed to turn the radiator off during the night! The bed was very comfortable and the bedding felt of good quality. WiFi worked well in the room, quite fast and no loss of signal.

The bar area was cosy and it was very nice to sit by the log fire. We could have eaten in the bar but opted to dine both nights in the beautiful restaurant where we were efficiently served by the ever-charming Kat. All the dishes were excellent, piping hot, very tasty, stylishly presented and of good or generous proportions. In fact, to our disappointment, we couldn’t manage desserts on the second night! Prices are not cheap but correct for the quality and quantity provided.

Breakfasts were also excellent, the smoked salmon and scrambled egg being particularly good. Breakfast is served in the conservatory which was somewhat cool on the cold mornings we were there.

The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful and there is a very pleasant, homely atmosphere, enhanced by the cosy warmth and lighting of the bar and restaurant. We find it hard to understand how anyone could complain about such a wonderful establishment and we really hope we will be able to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whistleman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have added extra heating in the conservatory to make sure it is a little warmer at breakfast time, thanks for pointing this out, it is much appreciated. I have passed your compliments on to Kat, who was very pleased with your kind words. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I felt I must write again about this wonderful place, after having read some AWFUL comments on their Facebook page.
I have been lucky enough to be a regular visitor to Harefield Hall during this year, with my husband for some R & R away from the kids. I wonder if the locals that are berating this fab place are doing so as they are not getting their own way, so to speak.
I can not commend Mike,Elaine and the staff highly enough on all levels. Nothing is ever any problem to them, and ALL are made welcome.
I am so looking forward to our next visit in October and then again in December, and I hope for many more years to come.
I have not made my comments on the Facebook page, as I do not wish to get into an online argument about the whys and wherefores of why 'locals' think Harefield Hall is such an awful place!!!
It is most certainly NOT.
Finally a word to Mike as I know you will read this, we look forward to our next visit with Stottie bread in the case.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooncat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and support. Indeed your are correct in your observation about certain individuals who use social media (facebook) as a weapon of revenge because as you say they cannot 'get their own way'. Unfortunateley social media are ideal forums for cowardly people to say 'whatever' they like from a unilateral perspective without any rebuttal. Like you we refuse to get involved with these type of people and be drawn into a pointless an petty social media mud slinging match!! Such people are merely 'cyber bullies' who can cause serious harm to vulnerable minds, with often tragic consequences as has been reported in the media recently. They have also threatened to use Trip Advisor as a forum to continue their bullying. However we simply rise above it, contented with the fact that we have so many regular and indeed new customers who come here to enjoy the peace, tranquility and friendly atmosphere which has been created by not allowing the types of people refered to above access. Thanks again and yes we look forward to some more 'Stotti Breads' and seeing you again soon.

Kindest and most sincere regards Mike and Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Once again, we have just spent a delightful weekend at this wonderful hotel! As a longsword dance team, with families along too, we based ourselves at Harefield Hall, before touring up the Dale! What a beautiful building this is, situated in one of the most stunning ares of the country! Mike and Elaine, the hosts, are constantly striving to upgrade and maintain the exterior appearance of the Hall and the magnificent grounds in which it is set! Although slightly "off the beaten track", it is well worth seeking out, as the short drive from the main road leads to a sharp intake of breath at the first sight of the Hall and it's gardens! And that's merely the outside!!! The interior is filled with lovely pieces of furniture, paintings, warm, attractive mood lighting, log fire, cosy armchairs...and so much more!! Very comfortable restaurant, adjoining a function room with amazing acoustics! Also a conservatory breakfast room, overlooking the garden! We have stayed in several of the bedrooms and have always been very comfortable! Magnificent views from the bedrooms! There are uneven, creaky floorboards in places, as the building is very old and full of character. The whole place has such a homely, warm feel, so welcoming, and this is felt immediately one meets Elaine and Mike, the proprietors! Delightful people whose sole aim is to make each and every guest feel at home, comfortable, and like old friends! The food is excellent, good value, always hot, with delicious, fresh produce! And I'm not a beer drinker, but hubby tells me the beers are excellent also!! The spa area is well set out, warm and pleasant! Not tried the fitness area, but only cos its not my "thing"!! This hotel is just so homely, with staff who clearly take their example from the hosts, and are friendly, pleasant, polite and efficient!! I hate to leave the place!! Can you tell we love it!!! Well worth a visit! Parties, festivals, weddings, walking holidays, relaxing holidays, or simply lunch or dinner! All catered for with equal care and enthusiasm!

Room Tip: Mark Chadwick Suite is lovely...may be a little noisy from the bar, but wouldn't worry anyone wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo l, Manager at Harefield Hall, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we thoroughly enjoyed your company as always. We also enjoyed your music and dancing it certainly creates a lovely atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again next year if not before. Please pass our sincere thanks to the rest of the group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
9.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
788 reviews
23.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,367 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.5 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harefield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harefield Hall

Property: Harefield Hall
Address: Ripon Road | Look Out for Sign on Main Road As Harefield Hall Is Not Visible From the Road, Pateley Bridge HG3 5QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harefield Hall is an over 16's, non-corporate family run guest house. Situated in 24 acres of woodland overlooking the Nidd Valley it is the perfect place to come and relax. Our restaurant offers a wide range of bar meals and A-la-carte meals all very reasonably priced. We off a range of accommodation from Large Double rooms with beautiful views over the Valley to small double rooms, some with views and some 'budget' small doubles without views. Harefield Hall, once rumoured to belong to King Henry XIII has a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and we cater for all occasions. We also have a modern bunkhouse which sleeps up to 14 people, with two rooms, showers and changing rooms. This is very popular for cycling groups and walkers who are looking for the chance to stay in a wonderful setting without the big price tag. We have adequate free parkinng which is covered by cctv. Our friendly staff are waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harefield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harefield Hall Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing