We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th Surprise”
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“30th Surprise”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have been to several michelin star restaurants over my years, from the mundane to the sublime, and as such I will be brief with this review......... top service, homely atmosphere, high high standard food, couldn't be more recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicurean-Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    97
    28
    16
    13
See reviews for
46
293
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We first came here for my 40th birthday and have just returned for my 50th (with three other visits in between times too) and, if anything, it's got better. We picked our room based on past experience and the place itself on the quality of service and the food. Two nights of sublime dining and a chef who is just as comfortable having a quick chat between services as she obviously is in the kitchen. Staff here have always been quietly efficient (and I mean that in a good way) and the seemingly ever-present John leads from the front so that Frances Atkin's food gets the service it deserves. If only we could pick it up and move it to Kent!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I took my fiancé to The Yorke Arms for her 30th Birthday. We had a fantastic meal, everything was perfect. Excellent service and superb food. The atmosphere was really relaxing, exactly what I was hoping for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent tasting menu. Well selected and innovative wine list. Wild Goose room excellent. Nespresso coffee always a good sign. All staff totally on the ball. Ham hock terrine a particular delight. Breakfast black pudding deserves a medal too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebordingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Four of us...all foodies... two of us in the hospitality business all had lunch here this week.

The York Arms sets the bench mark for all others.

The service is impeccable. Friendly, efficient, touches of humour but above all else totally professional to the finger tips....beyond reproach.

The food remains at a stratospherically high level. No hint of pretentiousness...just packed with flavours and excitement. The presentation remains, as ever, superb....beautiful colours, use of garnishes, perfect quantities, apppealing first to the eye before the amazing flavours hit the palate. It is the creativity that never ceases to amaze me. I too love combining exciting flavours but Frances takes it to a new level.

Unlike many places they are not frightened to change the menu at the York Arms and to take risks....so many places get stuck in a rut.

As ever the meal was rounded off with a perfect espresso with perfect petit fours.

Cooking ourselves as we do, and collecting many accolades, as well as eating out widely we feel well placed to appraise a restaurant...this one is unsurpassed...all four of us gave it full 10/10 which from grumpy ex teachers takes some achieving...something I never did for an A level essay!!!!

The lunch is astonishing value at £35 per head..OK the wine bumps the bill up...but you can pitch in where you feel comfortable....with some outstanding wines to natch the food if you want to celebrate.

Just wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed one night for DB&B. Warm welcome on arrival and shown to a lovely room (Room 1) on the ground floor with a large sitting area, comfortable bed and immaculate bathroom.

It was a busy Saturday night but we were well looked after in the lounge with pre-dinner drinks etc. Dinner lived up to our expectations and was very enjoyable, as was breakfast.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

We knew it was going to be expensive and it was, but we had no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBedfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We're the kind of sad geeks who score courses, wine and service out of ten and for the first time a starter got 10/10 (the smoked chicken and rabbit with truffle terriney thing). Bloody lovely. The waiter and service was excellent. Everything was delicious.
Two problems- choosing which gorgeous sounding meal to have, and the other guests braying loudly about the virtues of Rupert Murdoch and how much tax they have to pay on various overseas properties (my heart bled).
Yes it's expensive, and yes it was a bit snobby/posh, but definitely worth it for a treat. We didn't stay so cannot comment on the rooms.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoveRhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
11.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
403 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
591 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Property: The Yorke Arms
Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel
The Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing