We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I took my fiancé to The Yorke Arms for her 30th Birthday. We had a fantastic meal, everything was perfect. Excellent service and superb food. The atmosphere was really relaxing, exactly what I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 459 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent tasting menu. Well selected and innovative wine list. Wild Goose room excellent. Nespresso coffee always a good sign. All staff totally on the ball. Ham hock terrine a particular delight. Breakfast black pudding deserves a medal too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebordingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Four of us...all foodies... two of us in the hospitality business all had lunch here this week.

The York Arms sets the bench mark for all others.

The service is impeccable. Friendly, efficient, touches of humour but above all else totally professional to the finger tips....beyond reproach.

The food remains at a stratospherically high level. No hint of pretentiousness...just packed with flavours and excitement. The presentation remains, as ever, superb....beautiful colours, use of garnishes, perfect quantities, apppealing first to the eye before the amazing flavours hit the palate. It is the creativity that never ceases to amaze me. I too love combining exciting flavours but Frances takes it to a new level.

Unlike many places they are not frightened to change the menu at the York Arms and to take risks....so many places get stuck in a rut.

As ever the meal was rounded off with a perfect espresso with perfect petit fours.

Cooking ourselves as we do, and collecting many accolades, as well as eating out widely we feel well placed to appraise a restaurant...this one is unsurpassed...all four of us gave it full 10/10 which from grumpy ex teachers takes some achieving...something I never did for an A level essay!!!!

The lunch is astonishing value at £35 per head..OK the wine bumps the bill up...but you can pitch in where you feel comfortable....with some outstanding wines to natch the food if you want to celebrate.

Just wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed one night for DB&B. Warm welcome on arrival and shown to a lovely room (Room 1) on the ground floor with a large sitting area, comfortable bed and immaculate bathroom.

It was a busy Saturday night but we were well looked after in the lounge with pre-dinner drinks etc. Dinner lived up to our expectations and was very enjoyable, as was breakfast.

Staff were friendly and efficient.

We knew it was going to be expensive and it was, but we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidBedfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We're the kind of sad geeks who score courses, wine and service out of ten and for the first time a starter got 10/10 (the smoked chicken and rabbit with truffle terriney thing). Bloody lovely. The waiter and service was excellent. Everything was delicious.
Two problems- choosing which gorgeous sounding meal to have, and the other guests braying loudly about the virtues of Rupert Murdoch and how much tax they have to pay on various overseas properties (my heart bled).
Yes it's expensive, and yes it was a bit snobby/posh, but definitely worth it for a treat. We didn't stay so cannot comment on the rooms.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LoveRhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lets get this straight at the start. This is a michelin star / fine dining "restaurant with rooms". It is NOT a country pub to pop in after a days hiking in the Yorkshire dales. Is it any surprise that walkers who turn up with muddy boots and their pet dog are not welcomed with open arms?

The restaurant is in the Yorkshire Dales, a few miles outside of Pately Bridge - set between two reservoirs. There are some lovely walks to do in the area, but not a great deal else.

The restaurant is quite traditional in its decor and you can tell the type of regular clientele by the fleet of posh cars always parked outside. Despite the upper class ambiance, the staff made us feel very welcome and were always polite & friendly.

We booked about a month in advance for a Friday night in March and we were given the last room available - coincidentally the most expensive room they have. The rooms are in a contrasting style to the restaurant. Our room was like a miniature / modern penthouse, where the restaurant & lounge are traditional with antique style furniture.

We stopped on a DB&B deal for £380. A lot of money, but for that you get a night in the top room, a three course meal, and a full 'Yorkshire Breakfast' in the morning. It actually turned out to be a five course meal, because you get a selection of canapes with your drinks in the lounge (delicious BTW) and then get amuse-bouche before the starters. Loved that!

Every mouthful was truly a treat. The price means it is somewhere probably best kept for special occasions, but the standard of the food & rooms go a long way to justify the cost.

Room Tip: Limited number of rooms, so book early if you want a choice of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CGnJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not really in Pately Bridge but further up the Dale at Ramsgill for those of us in the know.
A last minute decision to go and stay overnight. Had to have the most expensive room as it was the only one available. But got the DB&B deal so not too bad really for the standard of food. And let's face it that's what you are coming here for - the exquisite food! Lovely setting and bring your hip flask for a snifter as you womble around Nidderdale. Lots of good walking around here so bring decent boots.
We had a room in the courtyard (no 18) with the downstairs sitting area and upstairs bedroom and bathroom. we had hot drinks facilities and nice little bit of homemade flapjack and brownie. Didn't bother with the mini bar its really not worth £12 for a miniature ( you might want to remember that hip flask again.....). You can always stop off in Pately Bridge Nidderdale Fine wines .......
It's nice and cosy in the main house lounge and a delight to sip a good glass of champers whilst you decide on your meal, the canapés are fantastic and I just wanted everything off the menu! The classics of the house one one side and the seasonal ones on the right. I opted for the seafood potage with scallops, the liver and rose veal and the curd tart. The other half had a truffled rabbit and smoked chicken press then honeyed quail and custard tart. Now that description does not do it justice see my not expert photos and you will see why. Portions are just right as you don't want to be over faced! Nice wine list and a good choice by the glass too. Service was a delight and nothing was too much bother.
The room was a tad hot so we slept with the velux open and enjoyed the sound of the stream at the back as we dropped off.
Breakfast the next day was good too. We opted for the full English ( you have to its the only proper thing to do!) a really fab black pudding and sausage and the whole thing not greasy as the full month often can be. Good clean cooking.
A nicely hushed, quiet and relaxed atmosphere which we like. Not a place if you want to party!! I don't think it's a place for young children. Lots of steps mean you need to be steady on your legs too.
A talented chef who deserves the accolades but don't expect the Ritz for the accommodation and you will be fine.


Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SianNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
11.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
12.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel
The Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing