We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Michelin starred Restaurant not a pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's a Michelin starred Restaurant not a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Following our visit in May (see review15th May) went back with friends in November 2012. Just as sublime as ever. I took the trouble to make sure both superior suites were available and we stayed two nights with a trip to Bowes Museum over the Dales in magnificent November (sic!) sunshine).

Like another reviewer, I am exasperated by the very negative reviews of passing walkers who want a coffee or a pint and use of the loo. It is a brilliant Michelin starred Restaurant with rooms and not a pub or even a Hotel. When we go there for a treat, the last thing I want is to be mixing it with muddy boots and wet waterproofs even though I am an enthusiastic hill walker myself.

I admit it does look enticing, so if you want a superb dinner, book on line and put your best togs on and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    93
    24
    15
    13
See reviews for
43
276
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We came here the day after our wedding for a special 'mini-honeymoon' meal and the drive towards the Yorke Arms from Pateley Bridge is stunning! We stayed in the Longside suite with a massive four poster bed. The room was large with a separate sitting area and big Georgian windows lighting it up... It really is a beautiful room. But of course the main reason to be here is the food, and having built it up so much in mind over the weeks before, I half expected to be disappointed... I wasn't. Each of the individual components that made up each dish were great on their own... But if you combined them with one another, you got an explosion of flavour! I guess this is what makes good food into great food! By far the best meal I've ever eaten!

I've seen a number of comments about the furniture being old and how it doesn't fit in with an establishment of this quality, but it absolutely does and in fact enhances it.

The service is a little stiff, and maybe could do with being a little more relaxed, but at no point did we feel like they were snooty or hurrying us along.

One negative we had was the price of drinks, we had a gin and tonic, and a disaronno and cranberry juice... £20... I'm perfectly happy to pay more for food of this quality, but I don't think any magic was weaved on the drinks to warrant such a price, after all, Disaronno is the same here as it is from the supermarket.

Overall, we had a fantastic night's stay at the Yorke Arms, and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y30man5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We decided on a last minute getaway - originally intending just to come for lunch we decided to push the boat out and go for dinner followed by an overnight stay. The meal is probably one of the best i have ever had. From the canapes to the desert the food was absolutely delicious - but also interesting with combinations that I hadnit expected. I enjoyed my veal kidneys with the red deer so much they kindly arranged for me to have some again with my breakfast - comlete bliss

We originally booked an "executive" room which turned out to be out the back through an uncovered courtyard and up a flight of steps. I think they might have mentioned this before we booked. We asked to be moved back into the hotel proper and we given the cheaper "large" room - which was very comfortable indeed.

I have seldom enjoyed a stay more

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My mother and I had a wonderful lunch at this michelin starred restaurant yesterday. The hotel is in a wonderful setting at the head of nidderdale and it was a magnificent drive over the moors and up the dale from Pateley Bridge along the side of the reservoir. There was a warm welcome with fires in the lounge and dining rooms. A first class pint of black sheep bitter to start with with complimentary parmesan tarts and light crisps.
Lunch commenced with an amuse bouche of goats curd with beetroot jelly. A lovely selection of homemade breads. To start with I had smoked cod loin, cured wild salmon, watercress mousse and a blend of crab meat and brown shrimps. My mother had a press of duck with bramble jelly. both dishes were delicious and beatifully presented.
For the main course my mother chose roast dexter beef from a farm in the village. It was beautifully tender with a rich taste and accompanied with large yorkshire pudding and vegetables. I had slow cooked mutton with girolles pommes puree and lentils. It was also delicious although I would have liked a little more of the mutton
Finally my mother had hot grand marnier souffle with chocolate sauce and raspberry sorbet whilst I had lemon curd tart with ginger ice cream.
The staff were friendly and the service impeccable. There is a fine wine list although we just had glasses of a lovely bourgogne.
All in all a wonderful occasion and one we shall repeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I took my husband to the Yorke Arms for his 40th. It is in a really lovely hamlet and in a good walking area. We had a lovely lunch and wished we had booked in the rooms overnight as we didn't want to leave. We had a gin and tonic in the lounge before dinner and coffee and handmade petit fours by the fire afterwards which included a handiced happy birthday scroll.

Would definitely go again but would stop overnight!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fi7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I would give the restaurant 5 ******.

The food and service could not be faulted and the ambience was warm and mellow with real fires and subdued light.

Met the chef proprietor who is charming. It all works - the room was pretty good but not a match to the food with a small bathroom.
Beautiful location - worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here on 24th October as part of my 40th birthday treat. From the moment we arrived after a misty walk along the valley, we were treated impeccably. The entrance and bar areas were spotless and our Superior Room should have read Superior Rooms as it was 2-tiered and beautiful.
The Black Sheep was as good as anywhere and our hour in the Resident's Lounge reading, perusing the menu and nibbling on canapes was as relaxed as we'd felt for a longtime.
The Dining Room was wonderful, elegant yet perfectly suited to that part of the world. Staff were prompt and knowledgable but kept their distance appropriately. All 6 dishes my wife and I ordered were faultless,particularly the Mousse dessert which has to be tried to believe.
Breakfast was plentiful and my wife, who kindly paid the bill, summed it up when stating that the experience was great value for money.
P.S the flap jack awaiting us in our room was worth the money alone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
11.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
12.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Property: The Yorke Arms
Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel
The Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing