We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time,”
Review of The Yorke Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pateley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yorke Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked the Yorke Arms for the final night of our honeymoon, and it did not disappoint. From the beautiful room, complete with underfloor heating. To the most excellent dinner, with divine canapés, excellent wines, and delicious petit fours. Can't recommend it highly enough. Hope to return one day.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for The Yorke Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 437 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

During a recent visit to the Yorkshore Dales we decided to enjoy a special evening for my birthday. We made our way over the moors to the Yorke Arms.
A friendly welcome and tasty pre-dinner nibbles with our wine. Into the dining room...somewhat dreary decor. This is a Michelin star restaurant and having dined in a few others in France and the United States, we really expected more. No table cloth, ordinary glassware and cutlery, rather uninspired china, no flowers on the table. The service was excellent, but it seemed to be too precious and a bit stiff for the atmosphere of the place. The food was delicious, tasty and well prepared, however, the prices are really a bit steep for such a rural and remote restaurant...this was my first $60 main course! The trip home was interesting in the dark and stormy night. I would recommend that if you eat here, you should probably plan to spend the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LimeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My birthday treat. (not cheap but Michelin star - what do you expect?) Warm and welcoming atmosphere. Pre starter and pre pre starter - very nice!! Staff all very pleasant if a little starched. Will come again for special occassion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having eaten here on more than a dozen occasions I can honestly say that the Yorke Arms is the best lunch in Yorkshire and among the finest in England.
The food is seasonal, well thought out and cooked with great finesse.
The welcome is always warm and friendly and yes if you only want to use the loo or have a pint you are in the wrong place. This is a restaurant and a fine one indeed. If you are on your way to a wedding and just want a beer or you arrive after lunch service has finished then get real and stop slagging this wonderful place off. It will be your loss.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dukeLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was hugely surprised to read any negative reviews for The Yorke Arms. We visited for the first time this week. The setting is sublimely natural (rain included). The welcome genuninely warm. The Inn itself is old-fashioned in old country home of a favourite great aunt style. It reminded us a little of Sharrow Bay back in the good old days. But without the dogs and the clutch of ornaments! We were there to celebrate our son's 22nd birthday. He cooks himself and we had our fingers crossed that the food would meet his standards. We knew it would be good. It was more than that. This is food and a place and a chef to celebrate.

It is immediately clear that the chef has bought into a way of life and that's what you buy into when you eat here. She could make stacks more money by working in London (New York - Dubai) or by tricking the place out or by making it more populist but she doesnt. No compromise and good for her.

Yes, the dining room is full of old brown furniture so not to everyone's taste but it's natural. It works. Like the stream outside. The hills. The waiting staff are young and sweet without ego. They are in the room but you're hardly aware of them.

The amuse bouche - a tiny quenelle of goats curd infused with artichoke alongside a dab of fruit puree and a single almond - well, sublime, subtle, brilliantly simple and well judged.

Starters; lightly seared tuna with squid with 3 palate singing quennelles alongside - tomato - fruity - curd to take your taste into space - for 2 of us. A hare and shallot tart for my husand.

Mains. My son's venison plate looked like the garden of eden (non-veggie eden) with the roast kidney, black pudding in pastry, oh so many tiny things on the plate. My husband's brill was a pale delight - first class delicate fish with such background flavours - bursting into a subtle chorus of shades of lemon meringue pie. My veal polpettini and sweetbreads with smoked mash and masterstrokes of vegetable and sauces was SO good. These are dishes which have been so cleverly designed that every forkful works. Taking any single element out would destroy the whole. Which I guess is why this style of eating wouldnt suit everyone. It has to be as the chef invents it. This meal shoots straight to the top of the list as a best lunch out ever.

Puddings: a plate of chocolate (4 baby puds), a plate of perfect cheese, a mousse with bits and a streak of liquorice and just a few chilled salty blackcurrants.

Fantastically strong coffee in the lounge with homemade petit fours and such a reasonable bill for the 3 of us.

This place is the real deal. Yorkshire is lucky to have it. Take it on its own terms and wonder.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cookbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

On our way home from a lovely weekend in the area, passing through the village we spotted the yorke arms , looked lovely so we decided to stop for a drink. We were dressed in our walking gear, as we entered we were asked if we had ordered lunch, i replied that we would just like a drink.The waiter said that would be ok and quickly ushered us outside to the smoking area. it was a covered area with hard metal seats, and it was raining cats and dogs. My husband asked if thers was anywhere to sit inside to which the man behind the bar said that we could sit on a wooden bench near the door, we had only just sat when a couple walked in dressed smartly the barman came rushing from around the bar to greet them. We were then asked if we could move into a side room out of the way of guests. The way we were treated was dreadfull,and not what you would have expected from this day and age. Very snobbish dont go there unless your wearing your tiara!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
12  Thank RachelJobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Seems to be a running theme!
On holiday near by recently and half way through a long bike ride with a two year old in tow, we were in desperate need of refreshment and the usual 'break'. With us being more or less in the middle of nowhere this was the only place to stop.
It wasn't really a matter that we turned up just before the 'extremely busy lunch period' (Good for you, mate!) and it was a 'restaurant and they don't do just drinks' (There was an empty pot of tea on the table near the bar as we arrived!) It was the manner of the snobby man/boy who spoke to us in the most smarmy, condescending tone!
If you want to speak to mere minions like that from your high horse and make people feel like utter prats for daring to try to pay for a drink, then feel free, but please keep on racking up these comments, mate....!

Room Tip: Try a travel lodge!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank boochops83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
11.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
7.9 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,661 reviews
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
811 reviews
19.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorke Arms

Address: The Yorke Arms, Pateley Bridge HG3 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pateley Bridge
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Yorke Arms Hotel Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge
Yorke Arms Hotel
The Yorke Arms Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing