We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Edge Farm

Edge Farm in the Upper Nidderdale Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Edge Farm in the Upper Nidderdale Valley
Edge Farm Edge Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Edge Farm in the Upper Nidderdale Valley
Edge Farm
Edge Farm
Edge Farm in the snow
Edge Farm
Lounge
The spacious Lounge
The lounge
Dining Room
The Kitchen
View from the kitchen
The Master Bedroom
Bedroom 3
The bullseye bedroom
View through the bullseye window
Attic Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
Edge Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
friendsfr...
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Edge Farm for 3 nights, as three families with children aged between 13 and 16.

Firstly, I need to mention how accommodating Michael is. We rang to ask if we could arrive at the cottage around 11am (check in is not until 4pm) just to unload our food as we were travelling quite a distance and wanted to spend the day in Harrogate without our "supplies" getting warm in the car. Michael said this was no problem at all and in fact rang me a couple of days after my enquire to tell me that the cottage had already been cleaned so we could have the cottage completely from 11am.

The cottage is perfect. It is quite remote so make sure you have everything you need.

The cottage size is large, the bedrooms are all a really good size with dressing tables, hairdryers provided, plenty of storage space. Two are en-suite and there is a third bathroom on the landing. The loft space bedroom is brilliant with four single beds. Our three 16 year old boys stayed up there, plugged in their xbox and hibernated for the weekend! One of the en-suite bathrooms has a jacuzzi bath and this went down very well with the girls who found their very own spa bath very luxurious.

The kitchen is well equipped and with underfloor heating, was a pleasure to stand and cook and socialise in there.

The lounge area is my favourite room by far, with its huge log fire and fireplace and breathtaking views. My favourite place was sat in the windowsill of one of the windows with a mug of coffee, staring at the views (especially as it snowed whilst we were there so the views were very pretty).

The cottage is quite high up and a car is essential to visit most places The viaduct is a beautiful walk, as is the local pub, although this is around a 3 mile walk!

We have stayed at this cottage a few times and look forward to returning again, maybe in the summer next time.

It is the prefect retreat if you're looking for a hideaway for a few days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Didnt dislike anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next visit. Mick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisteph...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a large family with young children and were blown away how stunning this property and its setting is.
Impeccably clean with rolling views that are some of the best in Yorkshire. Lots of well thought out space and rooms for large groups.
Struggle to find any negatives! Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce C
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Quite the best accommodation and location that we have experienced.”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were a party aged between 8 to 80 in years, and each one of us had a very special time at Edge Farm. It is spacious, well provided and very comfortable, with a position on the slope of the fell that rivals any that I have experienced. The views in every direction are superb - as is the bird life and the sounds from the farms in the dale below. We were lucky weatherwise, but there are plenty of indoor distractions provided for all age groups too. The local pub is an experience in its own right, and the food there is superb. Everyone wants to come back to Edge Farm (including those from Seattle and Norway) next year, so we hope to visit you again in 2016!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Quality, spaciousness and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertada...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great property for a large group”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

High quality property. Plenty big enough for our party of three families: 6 adults, and 5 children. Quality furnishings throughout, with good sized bedrooms and comfy beds.

Good space outside for the children to run around in, and with an amazing view.

Close enough to Pately Bridge and to reach the surrounding attractions (Brimham Rocks and Fountains Abbey were a hit).

Highly recommended. I hope to return in the future!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigjohn...
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Wow where to start. We came here and where simply amazed beautiful house brilliant views amazing outdoor area. We have all had a brilliant time. The kitchen is perfect for cooking in and the living room area with the log fire is perfect for having a lovely gathering we all felt very comfortable and happy at edge farm. We have said this is now going to be a yearly thing and can't wait to get home and book Again for next year! Thankyou edge farm for a great weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCC721
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a beautiful spot!”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Wonderful weekend at Edge Farm in March. It is great for a large group with a sociable lounge and cosy corner sofa. We loved the huge wood burner and supply of logs! The bedrooms were lovely with large comfortable beds. A well equipped kitchen and large dining table made it ideal for group meals. The location of the place was a real treat. Gorgeous views right over the hills. Its a bit of a climbing drive to get there but so worth it for the beautiful and secluded spot. The outside terrace and garden made it easy to enjoy where you are, and I would love to come back in the summer. There are lots of walks, villages and things to do near by and supermarket deliveries come straight to the house too. Thanks for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the woodburner, the corner sofa, the underfloor heating.
Liked least: The bumpy windy track in the dar
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A white Christmas for a group of Aussies!”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were two families travelling together and Edge Farm provided us with a great home away from home over Christmas. The house was very well appointed, especially the kitchen which made cooking the Christmas turkey easier! Lots of great walks and local pubs to visit in the area. Mick was the ultimate host, coming to our rescue early in the morning on the day of our departure when we were nearly snowed in!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing