We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit on undertaking the Coast to Coast. We were Wet and cold on arrival but the welcome was warm and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lyndale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Pateley Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“First visit on undertaking the Coast to Coast. We were Wet and cold on arrival but the welcome was warm and friendly.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

First class accommodation to cater for a group of 7 cyclists undertaking the coast to coast from Morecambe to Bridlington. rooms were fresh and very clean with lots of touches that blokes font really see!!!! Breakfast was amazing and our hosts couldn't do enough for us with extra toast and copious amounts of tea! Excellent service stretched to drying our wet cycling gear ready for the next day.
Thanks so much
Regards
Mark

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_maudsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaleGH, Owner at Lyndale Guest House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your ride without getting too wet and hope you will stay with us again sometime. Kind regards, Steve and Lynne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
83
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

All the other reviews have said it before, but this really is a brilliant place. The welcome from Steve when we arrived, the location etc. However, a few things set Lyndale above the rest. The breakfast was probably the best we have ever experienced, and, like a lot of blokes, I like to think I'm an expert on cooked breakfasts! The shower in our room (5) was so, so good, don't know if it's new or not but it looked it. But the one thing that made Lyndale stand out was the cleanliness of our room. Not a dust spec, nothing. I don't how they do it, but it felt like we was the first people to stay in this room. I don't have the superlatives to do it justice but it was spotless.

My wife noticed some other touches that go above and beyond. The towels were luxury ones, something beginning with 'c' I think she said, bottled spring water, plenty of Yorkshire tea and quality biscuits. We didn't use the kitchen or borrow the array of DVD's but this place ticks all boxes. What really sums this place up though is the attitude of Steve and Lynne. A group of cyclists arrived wet and presumably tired after a hard days riding, even though the whole house is as spotless as our bedroom, any communal radiator was brought into use to dry their gear. Brilliant and I'm sure the lads appreciated that touch. So, while Lyndale may appear perfect it is still relaxed and livable and I/we didn't feel on edge about making a mess.

Any drawbacks? Some people have mentioned in previous reviews about the lack of parking, and whilst I got one of the two places, within shouting distance there was/is plenty of onstreet parking so can't ever see it being an issue. Personally, I do prefer the owner to live 'on site' to resolve any issues but can't see any issue arising in this fantastic place. Thanks.

Room Tip: Would recommend Room 5, though not the biggest room, it suited us perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaleGH, Owner at Lyndale Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thankyou so much for your kind review, it really makes us proud. We are only sorry we didn't have much time to spend with you as we were busy with cyclists and other guests. We hope you will stay again one day for a little longer. Kind regards, Steve and Lynne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Slightly delayed review, but I wanted to say that the accommodation and service Steve and Lynn offer is outstanding! I travel a lot for work and would like to clone you around the UK so that I have a clean room, lots of little touches such as fresh bottled water, fresh milk, toiletries,comfy bed, lovely breakfast etc etc wherever I go! We were originally going to stay in York, but I objected to being told that I had to book for 2 nights, so we moved out to Pateley Bridge and it was a top decision - thank you both very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celiag680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaleGH, Owner at Lyndale Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thankyou very much for your kind review, we too, are glad you stayed in Pateley Bridge rather than in York! Kind Regards, Steve and Lynne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely stay @ Lyndale. Harefest only 5 minute walk along the river Nidd. Very comfortable & welcoming Guest House. Loved the Shower Gel!!!!! Would recommend this to anyone who plans visiting this area. Thanks

Room Tip: Not sure but we were in Room2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaleGH, Owner at Lyndale Guest House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again next year. Hope the suns now shining in Scotland as it is here! All the snows gone. Kind regards, Steve and Lynne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A friend of mine from the U.S. had come over to visit England and I think North Yorkshire is one of the most prettiest areas in the country so I wanted him to see it. A B&B in Pately Bridge recommended Lyndale Guest House as they were fully booked and I'm grateful for the recommendation. We had two rooms (my daughter and I were downstairs) and my friend (upstairs). We were welcomed warmly from our host and left to explore. The pub, very close by, was cozy and we had an enjoyable evening there. What I remember most is the excellent night's sleep I had. The bed and pillows were a dream and I would go back just for another good night's sleep!! Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Definitely recommend this B&B. (We stayed here after it first opened in August 2008 but Trip Advisor will only allow us to pick a month in the last year).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaleGH, Owner at Lyndale Guest House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, it is nice you remembered us after all this time. Hope you can visit again soon. As you say North Yorkshire is a lovely place and we are very fortunate to live here and have the pleasure of it. Best wishes from Steve and Lynne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great location for a visit to Pately Bridge. Fabulous hosts. The room we were in needed block out blinds for street lighting and it was a bit noisy as it was on the side of the street - but the room itself was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaleGH, Owner at Lyndale Guest House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope you will stay with us again in future.
Kind regards
Steve and Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Arrival.

We arrived for our two night bed and breakfast stay on the 30th December, there were 4 adults in two rooms, our friends had room 1, we had room 2, we were greeted by Steve who was very warm and friendly, he showed us around the house facilities and then to our room, Steve was also very helpful in giving us information on local places of interest and places to eat.

The room.

Our room was extremely clean and well decorated with a very comfortable bed with a sofa, flat screen T.V with built in DVD, digital signal can be erratic depending on the atmospherics, but it didn’t bother us given that we spent most of our time out and about, tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water are all in the room to enjoy.

The room was spacious and well lit, central heating, even a desk heater should you prefer instant heat, there was a selection of books for your reading pleasure too, also, plenty of space for storing your clothes, and a hair dryer.

The Bathroom was spotless and modern with a lovely refreshing shower, shower gels, soaps, even wet wipes were provided, and obviously clean towels.

Our friend’s room was also very well appointed and they said they had no complaints what so ever.

Breakfast.

The food was Top Quality!!!, full English if you wished, or continental, also, yogurts, preserves, cereals were all on tap, only local produce is used and fresh, the breakfast was one of the best we have ever sampled, even our travels across the world including the states didn’t compare to the quality and service provided, even a TV was present to watch while enjoying your start to the day, Tea, Coffee, juices all available, thank you to Lynn and Steve for great food and service at breakfast.

Other facilities.

A large selection of DVD's in the dining room available to take up to your room to watch at your leisure.

The kitchen facilities are available to use anytime so you can if you wish bring take away back at any time, you can even eat in the dining room, if you need milk, or other basic needs to compliment your food they are available too, you can use any of the kitchen facilities. You can also use the refrigerator to store you wines or spirits too.

Other info on property.

Local to ALL the pubs, restaurants, takeaways and local shops, also, grocery stores too. There is a small area for parking at the side of the guest house, this can accommodate two small to medium cars or one large SUV or 4x4, on street parking is plentiful and free. The property is very well kept and is clearly looked after, everything is spick and span, in the dining room there were lots of local area information books and leaflets available.

Other Guests.

No problems here, we came and went as we pleased and we never heard any noise or commotion what so ever, also, what guests we did come across breakfast were very hospitable.

Local area.

Pateley Bridge is a lovely place, even though it was cold and rainy, we had plenty to see and do, the main street is lovely with lots of old shops and pubs, also, plenty of walks to take in the country without having to take you vehicle, or, if you like theirs even more to do a short drive away.

Places to eat.

A visit to Olies, a local Italian restaurant, just a five minute walk over the bridge from the guest house is a must, the food was great and the prices were reasonable and the staff were lovely.

The Crown Inn, just a 3 minute walk from the guest house in the main street was a great place to enjoy and welcoming lunch, and of course a pint after a long walk, the food was great and the staff very polite, also, the prices were reasonable. There were plenty of tea rooms around also.

All in all, our stay was top notch, we have booked again for Easter, we can’t wait to go back to Lyndale House were we look forward to another warm welcome from Steve and Lynn, we can only say, Thank You!!! And keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Any room at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazbo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndaleGH, Owner at Lyndale Guest House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
What a review!! WOW!! Thank you so much, we will be printing this one off for our notice board. Our main aim is to ensure our guests feel relaxed and comfortable so that they will stay with us again, it clearly worked with you guys! We look forward to seeing you at Easter.
Kind regards.
Steve and Lynne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pateley Bridge
11.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
8.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
786 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harefield Hall
Harefield Hall
#3 of 11 in Pateley Bridge
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndale Guest House

Property: Lyndale Guest House
Address: Lyndale King Street, Pateley Bridge HG3 5AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pateley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pateley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyndale Guest House is a characteristic victorian property set in Pateley Bridge in the heart of Nidderdale, classified as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. We are renowned for providing a warm welcome, with comfy beds and a hearty deliciously Yorkshire breakfast where most of what is on the menu is produced in Yorkshire. We are ideally situated for all that Pateley Bridge has to offer, including a number of varied eating places which are all to be recommended. A good variety of shops and amenities make Pateley Bridge an ideal place to come for a relaxing break or an action packed family holiday. Whichever way you turn out of our front door takes you into breathtaking countryside with a huge number of walks and cycling routes. Or take the car and visit nearby places of interest including Fountains Abbey, Brimham Rocks, Ripon Cathedral, Ripley Castle, How Stein Gorge, Stump Cross Caverns, Coldstones Cut, a fantastic park for children and adults and a showfield that hosts a number of events throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Lyndale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndale Guest House Pateley Bridge, Yorkshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing