We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little gem!”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hawarden B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect little gem!”
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at in The Coach House at the beginning of December for Christmas shopping at Cheshire Oaks and to visit friends nearby. I found The Coach House on the net and we really weren't looking for anything other than a bed for the night.
Having travelled over from Leeds we were delayed shopping and arrived nearly 2 hrs later than the check-in time we have specified. There was no problem at all. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and we were throughly showed round the extensive accommodation. We were lucky that we had exclusive use of the communal areas. Essentially there are 3 rooms in the annex with a spiral staircase into the lounge with a separate large kitchen.
Everything is very tastefully & beautifully decorated thoughout. it is also immaculately clean with a well stocked kitchen for a self prepared breakfast. It was very quiet, very comfortable and we almost wished we could have stayed in the cosy lounge on the large leather sofas with Sky TV and cups of tea rather than go out!
I genuninely had no complaints at all. We will definitely be staying here again when we are in the area and we have already recomended The Coach House to our friends we were visiting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

If your sat reading these reviews wondering weather or not to book it , don't waste any more time, just do it. Wonderful accommodation, wonderful hosts, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesandkayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here for one night. Lovely accommodation in the heart of the village. Our room was very tastefully furnished but a bit cramped due to the attic celings. One item missing from the room - a mirror. The owner is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mocarrollBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

All I want to say is wow! My husband and I have just come back from The Coach House after staying there for a week and we are already missing our 'home'! We were in the area for my husband's work training so while he was working I spent my days relaxing in the house and exploring the nearby area. The Coach House is attached to Claire & John's family home and has 3 double bedrooms, one with an ensuite, a large bathroom with a double shower and a massive claw footed bath tub, a very relaxing lounge with a library and tv with a full sky package and a fully equipped kitchen. It also has an outside dining area and free internet access. Claire provides food in the fridge and cupboards for a continental breakfast and you just help yourself when you're hungry. Breakfast foods/drinks provided are White & Brown Bread, Croissants, Butter & Jam, Yoghurts, Fresh Fruit, Fruit Juice, Milk, Tea, Coffee, Sugar and Biscuits :-) Lovely!! We spent the first couple of nights in the largest room with the ensuite and the last 3 nights in the smallest double room...we had booked the smallest room but as Claire didn't have anyone staying in the biggest room until our 3rd night she kindly let us stay in there. Both rooms were very comfortable and we decided that rather than using the shower in the ensuite we would use the bath as it was so relaxing and big enough for 2! Overall the house is relaxing, very clean, light and airy and the decor is traditional with a modern twist.
The village of Hawarden where the house is has a variety of amenities including a Brasserie, 2 Pubs, a Cafe, an Antique Homeware shop, a Chocolate and Ice Cream shop, a Grocery shop with a Post Office attached and down the road is a Farm Shop with lots of goodies. Hawarden also has a historical library with a cafe and a large country walk with ruins of the old Hawarden Castle. The village is also very close to an outlet centre with a Tesco superstore and shops like Next, BHS, WH Smith, Topshop, Thomas Cook, Asda Homeware and ideal for exploring places like Chester, Liverpool, Llandauno. Would love to come back here with my family and hire out the whole of the Coach House for a week.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmugMarrieds20_04_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The coach house is lovely.Stayed in many B & B's an hotels and this is up there with the best.It has been recently renovated so all the rooms are modern and tastefully decorated.Guests also have use of a small lounge and kitchen, and although we were only there for one night it would be an excellent place to stay for longer to expore north wales.Also its very reasonably priced for what you get.All in loved it and will definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie_ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

The Coach House is quite simply superb. I was on a business trip and was recommended it by the pub a few doors away (Fox & Grapes, good food by the way). Now I have stayed in a lot of hotels, b&b's, flats etc. on my many away trips both in the UK and Europe and this is honestly unbeatable.

The price was extremely cheap for what we we got (2 of us on the trip)
and the welcome and hospitality were second to none.

The Coach House is just set off the main road but it is quiet, I am a light sleeper and had a full nights kip. The accommodation is an annexe to the main house where the family live and is self contained. You have your own front door, kitchen, living room (2 sofas, SKY and plenty of books) and 3 double bedrooms which are up a spiral staircase
from the living room. The beds are extremely comfortable (well I can only vouch for mine and my business partner was of the same opinion of
his). 2 share a bathroom and 1 is ensuite. The bathroom is very well equipped with a huge shower and large claw footed bath. Most families will not have a bathroom this size and luxurious in their own homes.

I have to say that the accommodation has been converted to a very high
standard and they have not scrimped on quality.

The kitchen was even stocked with bread, orange juice, milk, hob nob biscuits, tea and coffee! (and it's got a dishwasher)

Oh and I managed to muck the Sky tv up so while they fixed it they gave up their own living room and tv for us!

So what was the price? £25 per night or £30 for the ensuite!!!!!

Incredible value. It's worth more and they have just started so if it is a tenner extra in the future it is still well worth every penny.

I do not know if they do breakfast as we were leaving at 6am but the kitchen that you have (cutlery, pans etc. included) is equipped enough
to knock up your own which is what we did.

If I am ever in the area within a 20 mile radius I will definitely be staying there again. Why spend £50-60 to be in a soulless Travelodge or Holiday Inn?

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgraviaFineArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawarden
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.5 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
459 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
3.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 28 The Highway, Hawarden CH5 3DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Hawarden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is situated in the heart of the historical village of Hawarden , which is only 7 miles (15 minutes) from Chester City centre. There are three double bedrooms. All are located on the first floor via a spiral staircase. One bedroom has an en-suite shower room whilst the other two share a luxury bathroom with roll top Victorian bath and large power shower. All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and all of them offer colour TV/Freeview, hairdryer. Guests also have use of their own private kitchen area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hawarden, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing