We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family room”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hawarden B&B and Inns
UK
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great family room”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the newly renovated en suite ground floor family room for one night with our two year old. The bedroom was a generous size with two sofas (convertible to beds) centred around the TV and a wood burning stove. The bathroom was finished to a very high specification with double sinks and a lovely rainwater shower. The remainder of the the B&B rooms were booked out to a party so we didn't have access to the sitting room or kitchen and had to enter our room through the bathroom. Since the bathroom was so large this was less of a problem than it sounds! We enjoyed breakfast in our room where we had a small fridge stocked with yoghurts, fruit juice and milk. We were also supplied with bread, cereals and welsh cakes as well as tea/coffee making supplies.

The owner was friendly and helpful and suggested local pubs/restaurants for our evening meal. She also contacted us before our arrival to let us know the room was ready ahead of time. The room rate she charged was very reasonable.

The only drawback was noise from the party who had booked out the other rooms - they woke us up when they returned at night and keep us awake for quite sometime while they used their kitchen and relaxed in the sitting room.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Coach House but it may be worth checking whether a party have booked out the remaining rooms if staying in the family room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Coach House for one night on a recent visit to northern Wales. The rooms were lovely, the beds heavenly, and Clare, the owner, is delightful. Having access to the kitchen rather than having to wait for an appointed breakfast time like many B&Bs meant I could go down and make myself a cup of tea and read in the sitting room while waiting for my friend to wake up. Although I'm usually in Hawarden specifically to do work at Gladstone's Library, it's nice to know there are other options for accommodation in the future!

Room Tip: I had the double room just at the top of the spiral staircase and wasn't bothered at all by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anamcararetreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Coach House for just one night as part of my birthday celebrations. Having read the description of the property we knew it was shared occupancy accommodation, and this did not bother us in the slightest. The house itself is beautiful, with a kitchen fitted with everything you would need and a living room with sky TV, an array or books and (my favourite part) a gorgeous spiral staircase. We stayed in the ensuite bedroom, and although the ensuite was small if was more than adequate, and the room had clearly been fitted to a really high standard. If you needed more room there was a stunning bathroom next door which is shared by the three bedrooms, although again this was no problem for us. The room itself was at the front of the house and did have single glazed windows, I assume that the building is listed and therefore these cannot be changed, nor would you want them to be changed! Although we could hear some traffic from the road, it did not keep us awake or disturb us the following morning. We were given a key to the front door and the bedroom and were free to come and go as we pleased, and the owner was very helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit the following day.

Having stayed in the 'big standard' hotel chains many times over the years, it was really refreshing to stay somewhere that had character and felt like you were in a home, rather than a room that looked like thousands of others with no real personality. We think its a shame some may be put off by the thought of sharing a house with other guests, as we didn't even see other guests apart from a quick hello the morning we were leaving. For the price we paid we were very impressed, and will definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We would love to hire out the whole of The Coach House with friends in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Immaculate presentation. I think there are four letting rooms, but I think only one has an en suite, the rest share a bathroom, albeit a large nice one. The en suite in one room is so tiny and narrow, it made picking up toiletries from the floor (no shelves) difficult without burning oneself on the towel rail, and getting dressed in there an impossibility! O.K. for the one night we were there, but inconvenient if longer. Single glazed windows, and as this property is on a busy road (although Harwarden itself is very quiet) and therefore rather noisy even through the night - where on earth are all the people going! It is not exactly a bed and breakfast as such - there is a sitting room for sharing with all the guests and a spiral staircase (awkward with heels or if carrying anything) to the rooms above. There is a shared kitchen where you prepare your own food - although the charming owner does supply juice/cereal/eggs/milk for you to cook, and then you clear up your own dishes. Bit uncomfortable if all the rooms are booked and everyone comes down to use the kettle/toaster/cooker!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patriciaberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked the whole of the Coach House (self catering) for a girls weekend away and it was perfect.

Beautifully finished and furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly want. The bedrooms are so cosy but stylish at the same time and the bathroom with the roll top bath is just gorgeous.

The owner - Clare - couldn't have been more accommodating. She told us about the great places to go in Hawarden.

The perfect spot to explore Chester, we booked a minibus into town for 8 of us and it was only £24.

Would highly recommend. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare R, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review. So glad you had an enjoyable stay and a catch up with your friends. Hope you visit us again.

Kind regards, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Having booked The Coach House 4 days before I was due to stay on a two day business trip, all was confirmed in writing. At 9.55pm the day before my stay, I had a text saying that they had double booked and that I would have to go elsewhere!!!! Really inconvenient when I had a 5am start the next morning for a full day of travel/meetings. Having to book other accommodation was totally inconvenient.
Why on earth do people do this? It is totally unacceptable and no way to run a business.
Having said all that, The Coach House looks good, just make sure they haven't double booked.
I did stay at Gladstone's Library in the end, £39 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast - fantastic value, basic, but very acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janirog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in this little gorgeous little ''gem'' (words used by previous trippers that i could not resist in reiterating). We stayed in the cottage which is a perfect home from home with the extra luxury of a magnificent roll top bath!! Three lovely bedrooms, living room, kitchen with all mod cons, obviously a great deal of thought has gone into the layout, outstanding. Perfectly clean with some lovely little touches my partner and our three girls fell in love with... we really didn't want to leave. The owner Claire is more than helpful and made us very welcome.. don't worry about a thing, this place is the bees-an-ees as far as we are concerned and there is no doubt we will return. Set in a beautiful village with the Gladstone Library two minutes walk away which is well worth visiting, all five of us were in awe at the history and amazing feeling we got in the stunning building. We ate in two of the pubs in the village The Glynne Arms and The Fox & Grapes, both delicious, all five of us were more than happy. 15 minute drive to Chester Zoo which was a wonderful day. All in all a little treasure of a place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzyloo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawarden
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.3 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall
2.5 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 28 The Highway, Hawarden CH5 3DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Hawarden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawarden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is situated in the heart of the historical village of Hawarden , which is only 7 miles (15 minutes) from Chester City centre. There are three double bedrooms. All are located on the first floor via a spiral staircase. One bedroom has an en-suite shower room whilst the other two share a luxury bathroom with roll top Victorian bath and large power shower. All rooms are furnished to a very high standard and all of them offer colour TV/Freeview, hairdryer. Guests also have use of their own private kitchen area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hawarden, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing