We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for our Choir tour”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawarden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gladstone's Library
Ranked #1 of 2 Hawarden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great base for our Choir tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The East of England Singers took over all the accommodation for our Bank Holiday choir tour. We all commented on the calming pleasant atmosphere and were made to feel very welcome. The food was good. My en-suite room was very comfortable and quiet. It would be a great place to do some study/reflection. The chapel is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dozival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
31
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Gladstone's Library. It felt so peaceful and relaxing,. I cannot think of a better place just to chill, but of course it is also excellent for studying, writing etc. It's easy.to get a bus into Chester, and the village is pleasant to walk around, with 3 pubs if you can't live without some draught beer (wine and some spirits are available in the Library in an honesty bar).

Room Tip: Rooms above the kitchen get a bit of noise from the fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Gladstone's library is the only residential prime ministerial library in the UK. Apart from an excellent collection of theological and other works, based on Gladstone's own collection, it offers a place for quiet reflection and stimulating conversations. The venue is within easy reach of Chester, the North Wales coast, and market towns such as Wrexham and Mold.
This was my third visit. Rooms have been upgraded. Catering is good as ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Back again. This was my second visit, coming during the heavy March snow. I enjoyed my stay just as much as last year even though I was only able to stay for the one night. The staff were brilliant when I had to change my booking due to the snow and I even retained the advantage of their marketing wheeze – a free bottle of red wine for this booking period!

This time I was in one of the newly renovated ensuite rooms - but I still opted to use the corridor shower room as my bathroom only had an unfixed shower attachment in the bath! The rooms are comfortable and homely. There are no TV’s but there are Roberts DAB radios and fast, free Wi-Fi.

I stay here really for the opportunity to use the beautiful galleried Gladstones library – open every evening until 10pm. However, it was slightly disappointing this time to find that half of the upper floor was bereft of books due to a major reorganisation of the stock, something I found quite disorientating. In the morning, I attended the 8am communion service (using the Church of Wales liturgy); beautifully done and always thought-provoking.

This is a one-off venue (the only Prime Ministerial library in the UK) and well worth a visit. The pricing is realistic, the food good and the library unique. I do hope that it will remain open for many more years to come.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have been to Gladstone's many a time, and the fact that I keep going back tells its own story. For rest and relaxation, it's great.
Plus points: the superb mock-Tudor library, which is always toasty warm.
the excellent cooking
the comfortable living room
wifi available throughout.
Downsides: there are a few. One is that the library shuts at 10pm, annoying for those of who like to write late into the evening.
some of the bedrooms are also pokey and quite cold. They vary hugely in size and quality, so make sure you ask where you are being placed, and badger for an upgrade to one of the larger, warmer rooms on the first floor if it's possible.
The area round the library is also really dreary. Yes, you can walk in the park of the nearby Hawarden estate, but the village itself is desolate, wrecked by the virtual motorway that ploughs through it.
Finally, the price of the rooms has gone up markedly in the last year, so what was once a bargain is now just fairly good value.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor are much smaller and colder than those on the first floor. ask where your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GladstonesLibrary, Manager at Gladstone's Library, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We realise that some people are night owls so do allow residents to take books to their rooms or to the Gladstone Room if they want to work on into the night.
Our bedrooms do vary in size and shape – due, in large part, to the age of the building. This is generally considered an attractive feature and something to be expected in a Grade 1 listed heritage property. Similarly, the age of the building means that heating it will always be a challenge but we do our best to make sure that the temperature is kept at an appropriate level for the time of year and have portable heaters for anyone who feels that their room is not warm enough.
The road through Hawarden is a ‘B’ road and, most of the time, traffic is fairly light. Hawarden is only a small village but does offer a choice of places to eat and drink, some local shops and many countryside walks.
Gladstone’s Library is, sadly, not immune to the effects of inflation and current economic trends so we, like all other organisations, have to put our prices up each year but we do try to keep our rates as low as possible and offer discounts to clergy and students as well as scholarships and bursaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit, together with a group of colleagues, on a writing retreat to get away from the emails, admin etc etc and focus on our research. This is the most wonderful place to do just that. The atmosphere is calm and peaceful, the building beautiful with useful spaces for silent study or discussions, the food down to earth but excellent, and the staff incredibly helpful and friendly. I will definitely come back. The one thing they could think about improving for anyone coming to study is the speed of the wifi - it was so slow I just had to give up, it is the one thing that would put me off if I needed good access to Internet materials for my writing. This is why I only award 3 for service. But otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am just enjoying my sixth visit to Gladstone's library, February visits have become a ritual in order to re-charge my batteries at the start of the year. For me it is primarily a reading retreat.

On my first visit I glutted on a pile of the wonderful books on offer - the key topics being history/religion/Victoriana, but plenty of other books are on offer. Nowadays I tend to bring books from home that I particularly want to read, or to give more attention too in the quiet of the library, and then allow a little serendipitous reading of the books available to me here.

In its previous guise of St Deiniols, it was known as a place where theological folk gather to commune, write, and study, but it is also a place for anyone to enjoy the facilities, think, write; and my experience as a secular visitor is that no-one is out to convert me to their views. I have, however, often dined with fascinating folk. As someone fascinated by the Arabic culture, it also has a room dedicated the the Islamic faith.

The library has now also hosted a number of writers workshops and has regular writers-in-residence.

You can be as solitary or as companionable as you wish.

There is a pleasant eatery and the little high street nearby offers most of the basic requirements.

Room Tip: There are rooms for all pockets from en suite to those that are not, but facilities will never be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline-J-Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawarden
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
2.6 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
4.2 mi away
Soughton Hall Hotel
Soughton Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Northop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gladstone's Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone's Library

Property: Gladstone's Library
Address: Church Lane, Hawarden CH5 3DF, Wales (Formerly St Deiniol's Library)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Hawarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawarden
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone's Library 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gladstone's Library is the UK's finest residential library and one of the top small conference destinations in North Wales. Our comfortable accommodation includes 26 newly refurbished rooms (singles, twin and doubles), some with en-suite facilities. All rooms come with phones and ISDN connections and tea/coffee making facilities. Gladstone's Library has recently been awarded a four-star grading by Visit Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gladstone's Library Hawarden, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing