We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gladstone's Library”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawarden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gladstone's Library
Ranked #1 of 2 Hawarden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Perhaps you would like to take some time out to read, write or study - or just to sit and think? Gladstone's Library is utterly unique, perhaps the only residential library in the world? Wonderfully historic, it is steeped in a positive, yet quietly gentle, energy.
The rooms are recently refurbished; they are very simple, beautifully clean and also quiet. You may, though, hear the nearby church clock, but it has a glorious, mellow chime which only adds to the special feel of the place. A lovely coal fire may be the perfect place to curl up by with a good book
First-rate home cooking is served using quality produce. Comfort food? Yes, but healthy too, as long as you go easy on the very generous servings! You might like to explore Chester nearby, but the main reason to stay at Gladstone's is, surely, to step back from the hustle and bustle for a while.

Room Tip: There are a just a few rooms which are not en-suite, so make sure you know what's right for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 185 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was mightily impressed by my recent stay at the Gladstone Library where I had not stayed since April 1985. As ever, it was very comfortable, the staff were most pleasant and helpful, the company congenial and the food tasty (although the portion size of the evening meals was rather small!). It was lovely to be able to relax in the Gladstone Room and make use of the fine resources of the Library there. The room was clean and very comfortable. I much look forward to returning there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAMAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have been going to Gladstone's Library for nearly 10 years now, sometimes to weekend courses - it's a centre of liberal Christianity in the best sense of both those words - but also just for a relaxing holiday or short break. There is just nowhere like it. You feel the warm and peaceful atmosphere even before you've walked through the door. The staff are quietly efficient, the food is lovely, there seem to be no rules and regulations yet it functions perfectly. Sometimes I attend the eucharist in the small, modern chapel, but not when I'm in an atheist phase. There is never any pressure to do anything. One of the best things about it is that it is always full of interesting people to talk to, or just sit quietly with in the comfortable residents' lounge. Nobody bothers you if you want to be quiet and alone. Or you can study in the magnificent library. The rooms are all fairly recently refurbished, clean and well-appointed. Without doubt the greatest influence on the place is the warden, Peter Francis, who sets the tone with his quiet efficiency and welcoming presence. There's a frequent and reliable bus service into Chester (less than 30 minutes away), and plenty of good walks nearby. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Townmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This was another business trip, but I prefer to stay here if I can. Supurb welcome. All the four star facilities I need and none of the ones I don't (room service, television). Dinner, bed and breakfast excellent value. Would recommend to anyone of a contemplative nature.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

It has an excellent library. The food is very good. There is free Wifi throughout the building including in my distant attic bedroom (fast enough to stream iPlayer). The Wifi went down yesterday and did not come back until this afternoon which is the only minus. As others have said, for a stay of more than one night you probably need to be interested in the books and in peace and quiet, which I was. There is an optional communion service at 8:00 every morning but you wouldn't know it if you weren't interested in going to it. There are some good country walks around. There is a very good bus service to Chester for trains to further destinations. I laughed at the options to rate swimming pool and fitness centre. It's not that sort of place! I shall come again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Gladstone Library is what it says it is. It is a library steeped in history. It isn't a hotel so there are no tvs in rooms. You can stay for a day or longer. The library is excellent and a good place to study. Most of the bedrooms are now ensuite although I have just stayed in one which isn't. The food is good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely so it is a great place to stay for study, or a retreat, or just to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dibleydibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Gladstone's Library is a residential library - you stay, eat, read, relax all in one place. The library is quite possibly the most beautiful I have ever seen (and I have seen many). In terms of reading, thinking and writing I've never been more productive. The rooms are comfy, the food is excellent - and after dinner, why not retire to the huge Gladstone Room for a whisky in front of the open log fire?

I have been four times now and if I could I would come here once a year. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: From what I can say they are all equally good - good night's sleep guaranteed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnselmH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gladstone's Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gladstone's Library

Address: Church Lane, Hawarden CH5 3DF, Wales (Formerly St Deiniol's Library)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Hawarden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawarden
Hotel Class:4 star — Gladstone's Library 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gladstone's Library is the UK's finest residential library and one of the top small conference destinations in North Wales. Our comfortable accommodation includes 26 newly refurbished rooms (singles, twin and doubles), some with en-suite facilities. All rooms come with phones and ISDN connections and tea/coffee making facilities. Gladstone's Library has recently been awarded a four-star grading by Visit Wales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gladstone's Library Hawarden, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing