We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Borgo last year and immediately fell in love with this beautiful resort. Our vacation plan for this summer was an easy choice. The history, buildings and surroundings are astounding. It's a perfect getaway and a good alternative to a standard hotel in a city centre.

The resort consists of several apartments, all or many are owned by private persons. The size, prizes and style of the apartments therefore differs. As this is an apartment resort, you get the feeling that you're on vacation in your own apartment, which adds to the peace feeling.

There are cleaning and laundry services provided by the resort, but if you don't mind doing it yourself, there are washing machines available.

There is a restaurant on the resort which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks/beverages. Nearby there also is a pizza restaurant. As we are used to Norwegian breakfasts, we made our own in the apartment, which in my opinion was a big advantage.

The resort has two pools, one smaller with a childrens pool and a bigger one with several sun beds. Both pools have a strict policy, which prohibits shouting and game playing which can disturb others, diving, inflatable toys. Unfortunately not everyone respects this, especially families with children. This year three families who traveled together made a huge disturbance to several other guests, and they seemed not to care at all. We spoke to other couples who had stayed at Borgo many times, and it seemed that noisy families are increasing. I hope that the management can prioritize couples with few or without children in the future. I also hope that guests reading this can prevent these disturbances to happen in the future.

If you're looking for a peaceful vacation, beautiful sceneries, great food and architecture, Borgo i Colleoli is the best place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank trollviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    59
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
105
98
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Beautiful Tuscan farm stay in picturesque hills clean, rustic apartments are well appointed and are located in the old farm outbuilding with the option of luxury rooms in the main house. Pools, food, wine all great

Room Tip: Apartments are roomy with views, kitchen is ok if you use the restaurant instead. Main house may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Gorgeous location great as a stay inbetween busy city visits. The drive up to the resort is a little scary if you are afraid of heights.
Nearby to beaches, Pisa, Lucca and Florence.
Great for couples or families.
Site seeing hope on the FI-PI-LI.
Park at the Scandinicci commuter train to get to venice.

Room Tip: We had an effiency apartement with a fantastic view of the tuscan hills from our bedrooms and kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 308Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great place to stay with or without children. ( we are a family of 4) The pool area is perfect, and the garden is nice. A place to relax completly... The restaurant is quite good, but the breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Borgo is a very special place. Having visited for the last 8 years, I really look forward to starting my year in such a peaceful/tranquil place. If you want a lively/family oriented place with loads to do for the kids & a jumping night life - this ISN'T for you. But if you want peace, quite and tranquillity then it is. It has 2 beautifully kept pools and tranquil gardens. A small enotecca on site and a nice Pizzeria at the end of the lane where locals go to eat. I hope 18-30's & large noisy groups pass it by as I want it to retain it's gentle, quiet calm. Great for couples and those work frazzled people who just want to laze by the pool, eat & sleep. Wonderful. Please don't change.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleypyramid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la fortuna, cr
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

excellent and quiet Resort for low Budget travellers. clean and friendly. especially the Food in their Restaurant was a Revelation. pls do your breakfast yourself (fully equipped kitchen is provided) as the one offered is pretty poor but cheap as well.

Room Tip: we were in a 1-bedroom appt upstairs und we'd suggest other travellers to ask for a 2-, or even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timm j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We travelled here for a short break during the recent bank holiday weekend. As reported by other reviewers it really is a beautiful setting and very peaceful.

It rained quite heavily during our time in Colleoli which prohibited us from travelling too far as we had arrived by train via Pisa Airport. We walked to the nearest town, Palaia, which was a nice walk (although risky as we had to walk along the road). The town is quaint and pretty and there is a great spot offering panoramic views of the area. We had planned to return in the evening to a restaurant we liked the look of but unfortunatly there is no taxi service from the resort and walking back along the road in the dark was unappealing. We ate at the restaurant just outside the grounds which was casual, comfortable and good value. There is another restaurant within walking distance but this was closed for a wedding.

I would recommend visitors to this location hire a car to be able to take full advantage of the surrounding areas - if we return we definitely will hire a car!

The service and staff at the resort were always friendly and helpful. It was a lovely break away from the rat race!

Room Tip: Hire a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaia
0.1 mi away
Fattoria di Colleoli
Fattoria di Colleoli
#1 of 2 in Palaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
#1 of 2 in Capannoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.1 mi away
Agriturismo Colleverde
Agriturismo Colleverde
#1 of 19 in Terricciola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
San Ruffino Resort
San Ruffino Resort
#1 of 26 in Casciana Terme Lari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antica Dimora Leones
Antica Dimora Leones
#3 of 7 in Palaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Property: Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
Address: Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Palaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borgo di Colleoli Resort, is an exclusive historical house, today an holiday estate offering more than 50 beautiful apartments located in the heart of Tuscany. This typical Tuscan hamlet with its individually furnished apartments ensconced amidst the famous Tuscan hillsides is close to Florence, Pisa, Siena and Lucca. Two splendid panoramic swimming pools, are exclusively available for the guests of the Borgo di Colleoli Resort. The Borgo di Colleoli apartments are located in a strategical position in Tuscany since all the best tourist destinations are within easy reach: whether you want to visit the cities of Arts, Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa and Florence, or just want to play golf in Tuscany or perhaps go to the seaside, the Borgo di Colleoli Resort is just a few km far away from the renowned beaches of Forte dei Marmi, Pietrasanta, Viareggio, Cecina and its enchanted surroundigs Bolgheri and Castagneto Carducci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apartments At Borgo Di Colleoli Hotel Palaia
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany Palaia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing