We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Apartment Rental 5*” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Certificate of Excellence
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Apartment Rental 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is the type of resort you might think of as an all inclusive village. It is instead an apartment rental place. All the apartments are very well furnished, stylish and in an amazing position. The place is made for spring to fall and pools are available with the weather conditions in Italy, meaning no need to have them heated. The place offers as extra other services to compare it to a hotel, but as this is not a hotel they are all considered extras, and correctly I shall say. Food is very good if you eat at the restaurant, and I suggest to buy your own food for preparing a nice breakfast in your apartment or go to the near village of Palaia for a typical Italian Breakfast in the Bar (Brioche and Cappuccino).
I think this is a very relaxing stay for a nice week in Tuscany. Well positioned to visit the center of Tuscany and resting at night in a peaceful oasis!

Room Tip: Do not have breakfast included... they are not suited for that... go to the near Bar in Palaia or pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saphira1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    59
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
105
98
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We got married here with 31 guests, because it just felt right, very informal and relaxed. We had a lovely room with a great view and will hopeful go again next year for our anniversary. The wedding breakfast was amazing with enough food left over for the next day to feed everyone again. The staff are lovely and very helpful. We could not fault the wedding food.

Negatives-The breakfast was terrible, I waited 15 minutes for a dry bread roll and a small sweet croissant. 1 person serving everyone. Had breakfast only once, unless they improve this, do not bother. Do a shop before you arrive, you need a car.
The hobs in the apartments are very slow so heat the water in your kettle 20 minutes before you need it, could do with a proper oven to cook in.

Suggestions-
Need bins and toilets by the top pool.
Could do with a little shop for basics like eggs, milk etc.
Sort out the breakfast, offer ham, cheese, fresh fruit and offer self service if not enough staff.
Lunch time-need more staff, again, 1 member to serve everyone.
Be nice to have a BBQ area to cook outside.
A welcome basket with basics, tea, milk, sugar, washing up liquid etc should be included on arrival.
Sort these things or lower the price and you will get 5 stars.
Change towels and bedding without an extra cost if staying for 5+ days.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely but we preferred ground level so we could sit outside our apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMG1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had a studio in the main house in June. The area is so beautiful. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and had upgraded us because of stairs to original apartment (particularly Alessandro who was on duty when we arrived). Room was large and beautiful, huge bed, big bathroom, somewhere to make drinks but no cooking facilities. We enjoyed our 4 day stay immensely. Did not try restaurant or cafe - ate in "Tigli" outside main gate and at pub in Palaia.There are no prices on any food so we felt rather compromised or we may have tried it.
A few niggles, Sky advertised but not provided any more, neither pool is heated, we overlooked back of restaurant kitchen so some noise during evenings from restaurant staff. Would suggest prospective guests check about noise as they do weddings etc. Description of apartments is very limited on both Borgo site and Booking.com., so would suggest E Mail communication as accommodation has so many different layouts. Our studio was good value and the Borgo provided a holiday to be pleasantly remembered.

Room Tip: The accommodation is very varied and different - do not go entirely by Web Site descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Borgo di Colleoli in Palaia is a stylish agroturismo resort in the Tuscan countryside between the rolling hills and fields full of sunflowers. The old buildings of the Borgo like the stables and the barns are rebuilt into villas with apartments with their own kitchens and hotel rooms. It is a bit confusing because there are reviews of the apartments, of the Fattoria and of K2. These are all parts of the Borgo. The hotel building is often referred to as the Palazzo but that is also part of the Borgo. The grounds of the Borgo are traffic free. There are no cars allowed but there are golf cars available for transporting luggage or guests. There is a parking lot, just an open spaceIt in the woods next to the church opposite to the Borgo, but space is limited.

We had a wonderful two week stay in a one bedroom apartment in one of the villas. The apartment was nicely decorated and good enough for two adults. The air conditioning units were hidden in the walls. There is nothing on the outside that disturbs the appearance of the old Tuscan style of the Borgo. There were the regular guest amenities, like shampoo, soap, and coffee and tea for the first days. There is no coffee machine but a small perculator. And there is no dish washer. The television is rather small and not with many international channels. We received two midweek cleanings of our apartment. The staff was very nice and helpful if we needed anything.

There are two swimming pools at the Borgo. One pool is climate controlled which means the water is cool in summertime and warm in colder months. One of the pools is especially for children. The Borgo provided us with four pool towels.

In the main plaza of the Borgo there are two restaurants who are operated independently. We went to both a few times for lunch or dinner. The food was good but a bit expensive. One night we enjoyed a buffet with live music. Just outside the Borgo there is another independent restaurant where we had a very good pizza.

WiFi is only available at he reception office of the Borgo which is a very small room and when the office closes down at night you have to sit outside with the mosquitos to use the internet.

We made lots of day trips in the area. Pisa is very near. But all the other famous Tuscan cities are in easy reach by car: Luca, Florence, San Gimignano, Volterra. We often just drove around the country side to enjoy the views and have some lunch.

When we checked in on Saturday there was a wedding party in the restaurants of the Borgo and in restaurant next door there was a party as well. We didn't have a reservation for any of the restaurants. We could wait in line for the restaurant next door to the Borgo which was only able to serve us pizzas. The next Saturday there was a wedding again! Be advised that when there is a wedding the it is almost impossible to find a parking space or your car might be blocked by a car of the wedding guests. We heard from the restaurants that the weddings are mainly held in Spring and Summer but that's also when the Borgo is filled with tourists.

Room Tip: No tip for a room but be advised that parking space can be limited and that there are no cars allowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margariet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I was here with my wife as part of a wedding party. The food on the first evening was good, but breakfast was awful and not worth paying for if not included. 2 pools, but neither heated, and no AC in the room. The worst thing was the money grabbing attitude of the place. Everything costs extra, this place is the Ryanair of hotels! Cleaning is extra, breakfast extra, even pool towels! We also had a further issue where the hotel tried to charge us e tea for something, this involved a 3 hour argument with management that was extremely unpleasant and distressing. Without it I would have probably not bothered writing the review, but they don't seem to care about customer service, so they need to be taught a lesson in it! Tuscany is a charming and lovely place to stay, just make sure you don't stay here...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The rooms we stayed in were lovely, they upgraded us for our honeymoon which was nice, lovely bed and jacuzzi tub. The TVs were a bit on the old side but not a major. The only downside to the room was its location directly above the restaurant, which was a bit noisy at times, but nothing after midnight so again not a big deal. the area was lovely, about an hours drive from Florence so great for some sightseeing while still getting that country feel. The pool was a bit chilly for swimming, not sure if it was heated but the weather wasnt fantastic so we would have passed anyway. the cafe for breakfast was quite reasonable, the coffee was excellent, the bread passable but convenient. The staff at reception were very helpful in organizing us a massage nearby and replacing our kettle when it broke. The only downside really was the restaurant. rather overpriced and the service left a lot to be desired. we also tried another one nearby (agriturismo colleoli) which had good food, but horrible service, and tried to charge us 4 euro for dry bread that we hadn't ordered or touched (partly because she hadn't bothered to provide us with any oil or butter), so avoid both perhaps and maybe try pizza tigli, we didn't but they have some great reviews.

Room Tip: mention so if it is your honeymoon and you might get lucky, or if you book a suite, request a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for a week at Borgo and had mixed impressions.

Pro
- it's an amazing part of Tuscany, really quite, great nature, amazing sights
- really close to Pisa and Florence, lots to explore
- we had the superior room which was huge and had a full kitchen
- most rooms have a small part of the garden they can claim their terrace
- the rooms have a great climate control

Con
- no cleaning included, you need to pay extra for that (there's a long list of truly ridiculous extras you need to pay for)
- at checkout they tried to charge me for a wine at the restaurant we did not have, it took them about an hour to figure out there's no signed receipt and it was their mistake
- the heating in the pool is not working and it seems there are no plans to fix it
- guests are not allowed to use the golf carts and you can't drive inside the premises, hence you need to ask them to bring in your stuff with the cart (can be challenging at popular check-in or check-out times)
- the internet is not working, hence it's for free at the common areas, but it's sometimes painfully slow
- we had a neighbor for 2 nights with 4 kids, it was really noisy at times
- really bad cell phone coverage - if you need to make business calls, you might actually miss them
- it took reception 15 minutes to figure out how to connect an incoming call directly to the room
- the 9 EUR breakfast at the 'wine bar' is not worth it: you get a coffee, 1 croissant and 1 pastry with some jam - you can drive 5 minutes to Palaia and get a much better deal

Room Tip: Go for the 1 BR and 2 BR options, they are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IMNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palaia
0.1 mi away
Fattoria di Colleoli
Fattoria di Colleoli
#1 of 2 in Palaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
Agriturismo Santo Pietro
#1 of 2 in Capannoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.1 mi away
Agriturismo Colleverde
Agriturismo Colleverde
#1 of 19 in Terricciola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Castellare di Tonda Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
San Ruffino Resort
San Ruffino Resort
#1 of 26 in Casciana Terme Lari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Antica Dimora Leones
Antica Dimora Leones
#3 of 7 in Palaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany

Property: Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany
Address: Via Panoramica 20 | Borgo di Colleoli, 56036 Palaia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Palaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borgo di Colleoli Resort, is an exclusive historical house, today an holiday estate offering more than 50 beautiful apartments located in the heart of Tuscany. This typical Tuscan hamlet with its individually furnished apartments ensconced amidst the famous Tuscan hillsides is close to Florence, Pisa, Siena and Lucca. Two splendid panoramic swimming pools, are exclusively available for the guests of the Borgo di Colleoli Resort. The Borgo di Colleoli apartments are located in a strategical position in Tuscany since all the best tourist destinations are within easy reach: whether you want to visit the cities of Arts, Siena, San Gimignano, Volterra, Pisa and Florence, or just want to play golf in Tuscany or perhaps go to the seaside, the Borgo di Colleoli Resort is just a few km far away from the renowned beaches of Forte dei Marmi, Pietrasanta, Viareggio, Cecina and its enchanted surroundigs Bolgheri and Castagneto Carducci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apartments At Borgo Di Colleoli Hotel Palaia
Borgo Di Colleoli Resort Tuscany Palaia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing